We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
119
194
101
37
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
194
101
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location inside the city walls stayed here for two nights tea coffee four star rating third floor old city medieval town nice pool area breakfast buffet beautiful city comfortable hotel walking holiday panoramic view san gimignano convent receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 465 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We stayed 2 days at the Hotel San Lino. Our room was a triple with door leading out to a small shared court yard with tables and chairs which provided a nice space to sit and sip a glass of wine and read in the evening. The hotel has a nice medium sized pool (uniform depth so probably not suitable for small children unless they can swim) which worked out well because it got reasonably warm later on in the day.

The bathroom was clean but a large person might find the shower tight (seems to be the normal size in Italy).

Breakfast was nothing fancy; cold cuts, bread, boiled eggs, coffee, juice. The staff was friendly and help.

I believe this hotel is the only one within the old city walls with a parking garage. We found this very convenient because we were driving through the tuscany and wanted to be within the old city walls but also needed to park our car. This was one of the main draws for us.

In summary, Hotel San Lino, provides clean comfortable rooms, in pleasant convenient setting with out too many frills. Gave this hotel a very good rating because it met or exceeded my expectations/needs at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Convenient parking within city walls, located in quieter area. 5 minutes walk to center. Court side level 1rooms have patio access.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephan376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2016

We were given a room on the third floor and there was a smell in the room, we also had problems with wifi connectivity. I asked if we could change rooms and the staff were very obliging. We were given a room on the second floor and the wifi worked fine here.

The hotel is still within the city walls and the location is ideal for exploring this beautiful town. We caught public transport to Volterra and the hotel is around 500 metres from the bus stop in Piazza Martiri della Libertà. The rooms are a little tired looking but were clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic, there was so much to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. While the location was good for exploring the town of Volterra and the surrounding area of Tuscany, the room was not really acceptable. The bathroom smelled (a musty, moldy smell) that made if difficult to stay in the room. There was a towel thrown over part of the air conditioning unit up near the ceiling - I was too afraid to ask what the towel was hiding. The room was sparse and needed updating badly. The hotel itself was fine and had a nice garden with an outdoor pool. The rooms, however, need to be overhauled.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAM1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

Pleasant welcoming staff, speaking four languages or more. Parking within 50 meters , covered and monitored, 15€ per day. Almost across street is a local winery that fills up ur bottles for minimal! 4-6€ per bottle. Decent nice table wine.
Breakfast at San Lino was basic and ample

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016

We stayed in Hotel San Lino in Volterra, Italy last September for three days. It is really a wonderful place, a beautifully remodeled convent just within the old walls.We recommend it without reservation. Volterra is a fascinating Etruscan city. But, that is not why I am writing this review. About a month ago I got a ticket from the city police of Volterra for a traffic violation. As you may know, these situations are very difficult to resolve due to distance, language and a lack of detail as to what the violation was. From what I could tell the problem was that we were driving in parts of the city where you needed specific authorization. In most cities of this kind you can't drive in the downtown at all. However, the hotel was within the walls and so we had to drive to and from it. They have very convenient parking so we did not touch our car from the moment we checked in to the time we left. As we understood the hotel is able to authorize us to drive in the city to come and go but something happened so that the police were unaware of or chose to ignore this authorization. I contacted the Hotel and they quickly and gladly reached out to the police and the violation was removed!(90 euros!). Needless to say, this was very welcome and beyond what I had hoped for. So, bravo Hotel San Lino. We hope to return soon.
Ed and Maggie

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ed_Maggie363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews