We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
119
196
103
37
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
196
103
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the hotel staff inside the city walls stayed here for two nights four star rating third floor small fee medieval town old city breakfast buffet comfortable hotel walking holiday nice pool swimming pool panoramic view glass of wine convent
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 469 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2017

We stayed here in a room for five. The room was average and the room needed another AC unit, it never got as cool as we wanted it. Breakfast was great, and the hotel overall was beautiful. The pool was refreshing there is a huge patio where many gathered for a pre dinner drink and cheese. The location was unbeatable, you could easily walk anywhere in this beautiful city. The parking garage was convenient. They have a terrace you can enjoy a glass of wine and look over the beautiful valley below. The rooms need updating, but for the price Hotel San Lino is well worth it. There is also a handy Laundromat two minute walk from the hotel. Volterra is a beautiful city and a great home base to explore.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Randy939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2017

Most things need updating, the air con is noisy and barely copes. The bathroom was a little tight and the shower hose leaked. But for the price it was good value and clean. Best aspect was location within the wall and a short walk to all Volterra has to offer. After a day on the feet the pool and loungers around it were a great place to relax before going out for the evening. Breakfast adequate rather than inspiring. Wifi can be very slow in the room

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69albertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2017

We stayed here for two nights while on a tour of Tuscany. Our room smelled of sewage and was not comfortable. I feel that they could improve and update these rooms. There was good water pressure but the shower was small and old. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the pool area (which did not look like the photograph). The pillows were hard and uncomfortable. The breakfast mediocre and the wait staff unfriendly. I would not recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emptynester3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2017

2 nights here - breakfast was OK - staff seemed a little surly and not overly helpful. Rooms are OK, clean and comfortable. Location is good, inside the wall and quite close to the central piazza. Walls are thin though, heard our neighbors alarm go off - fortunately at the same time as ours!!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile

San Lino was just right for arriving by car. The staff was attentive and the room lovely. We ate at the restaurant and we were pleased with the quality and service. Internet was a bit unreliable. We will return.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BackPacker638292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews