We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel!”
Review of Villa Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Rosa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We Stayed at this hotel for 5 days and it simply wasn't long enough!! From our arrival to departure we received quality service from all the staff in the hotel. The receptionists greeted us morning, noon and night. The restaurant staff were both friendly and efficient and the restaurant manager gave no hesitation in recommending something different each evening so that we received the best experience from their award winning chef. All of his / our menu choices were absolutely gorgeous.(Spaghetti Bolognaise, beef and herbs, Sea Bass are definite reommendations) I too, required a Gluten free diet and at no point was any request for a Gluten free option greeted with anything other than a positive response. Even the breakfast waiters, after the first morning, brought a supply of gluten free bread to our table every morning without any prompt. And ice cold Prosecco to wash it down...Fabulous!! The location of the hotel was perfect for us...opposite the lake and a short walk from the main areas (5 mins) It is on a main road but the shutters were very efficient at keeping the noise disruption to a minimum. Desanzano itself is beautiful place to stroll around and sit and people watch and, for me, was much prettier than Garda which i have visited previously for the same period of time. Make a point of visiting the Castello (although watch out for opening hours!) and there's some beautiful views from up high and a lovely little area with more shops etc to explore if you want to feel like you're away from the rest of the tourists a little.
I have read the reviews for this hotel and feel like some peoples experiences are so vastly different from my stay. Perhaps they have acted on feedback received and to me that is such a positive in itself. I can fault nothing during my stay and came away feeling like I'd stayed in a 5 star hotel and received 5 star service. The staff all responded well to our attempts at basic greetings or phrases in Italian and even helped us to correct our mistakes and we enjoyed being able to practice with them. They were all able to understand / communicate with guests from many languages.
Top Notch....especially if you're thinking of trying Italy and are a Coeliac!! And YES I will be returning!!
Bravo to all at the Villa Rosa Hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was not facing the lake but could be seen by simply turning to the right. The balcony of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

We loved this hotel. It is very luxurious and modern and feels more than its 4 stars. The pool area was very nice, we spent a lot of time there. All other areas were equally as gorgeous. We were 100% relaxed. The food is really good, we recommend the sliced beef with herbs. We had a 10% discount for the restaurant but would have happily paid the full price, the service was excellent. Good selection for breakfast and served until 10.45am so you can have a lie in. I loved the gluten/lactose free selection, this was very unusual and a great relief for me. The waiter spotted me taking one of the items and rushed over to tell me he could get me gluten free bread too if I wanted. There is nothing I can fault

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnhutcheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed in a Junior suite for 8 nights.

The hotel were aware we were on our honeymoon and a lovely bottle of prosecco was sat waiting in our room, we both thought this was a lovely touch. Hotel reception were very helpful and polite and their english was excellent. We decided to opt for the buffet special (which was on a Tuesday evening), it was ok but wouldn't recommend it. The breakfast was great with a lot of choice.

The pool was lovely, although slightly annoying that other guests thought it acceptable to hold 6 chairs all morning (they didn't show up until after 1) for 2 people. Its a shame the hotel isn't a bit more vocal about not doing this.

The bathroom, especially for a junior suite, was particually small. My other half wasn't even able to lie down in the bath.

Pictures on the website are slightly decieving, the view from the balcony does look over the lake but also looks over quite a busy main road. Didn't really feel like a could sit out and not be stared at.

The location is excellent, with easy access to boats (a 5 min walk max). The train station is also within walking distance, about 15 mins but be aware, there are lots of hills!

Overall a very enjoyable stay but I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for a view looking over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Myself and my husband visited this hotel as the 7th destination of our three week honeymoon. The hotel is large and spacious, very modern and has the most beautiful paintings in the communal areas. Our room looked over the pool and we could also see part of the lake from our balcony. The hotel offers a lovely pool with lots of sun loungers in the sun and the shade. The hotel also offers a gym which we made good use of. Breakfast was of a high standard, scrambled/fried egg, sausages, bacon, and a vast range of cheese and the usual options, plus prosecco! We were about ten minutes walk from most of the restaurants but the fact we had to walk along Lake Garda to get there made it a very pleasant stroll to dinner and back. Hotel did offer dinner but prices looked steep. Overall a great hotel, with a lovely smell of roses throughout, definately would return.

Room Tip: Check your room has a full view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KILester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here for seven nights 8th to 15th Sept - and had glorious sunshine everyday. The evenings were very warm too - no need at all for any cardigans or cover-ups. i don't know if we were just lucky - but it was truely glorious. We had a perfect one week holiday in Lake Garda.
Anyway, the Villa Rosa is a charming, modern hotel, with plenty of car parking facilities. We did not see a nicer hotel in Desenzano. The pool area is fairly small but perfectly pleasant with plenty of sun loungers. Breakfast on the terrace was a particularly lovely experience as back home this is not often possible because of our weather.
The staff were charming friendly and helpful giving us very good advice on places to visit. Antonio and Enrico are experts on where to go - thank you.
I think you will gather we had an absolutely lovely time - would love to return and do it all again. In fact I could live at the Villa Rosa, sunbathe all day and take trips out in the evening finding new places to explore, a little shopping along the way, finishing off with a nice meal and a glass of wine, before returning to the Villa Rosa. - I hope everyone visiting has just as good a time as we did.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I can fully recommend this beautiful 4-star hotel. We chose the destination of Desenzano on Lake Garda simply because we were informed the hotel was able to cater for Coeliacs (and we have to follow a gluten/wheat free diet). To go to Italy and not be able to eat pizza or pasta is difficult, but our lack of being able to speak italian made it more difficult to explain our medical condition. However we didnt have to worry about a thing at the Villa Rosa. Our stay was half-board so we could ensure our evening meals were gluten-free and we had a choice for each of the 4 courses every night. Both breakfast and evening dinner offered plenty of choice for our limited diets, but even more choice for everyone else. We didnt have to explain a thing as the hotel were previously made aware of our diet needs in advance and the Restaurant Team were very knowledgeable and educated on Coeliac Disease. Apparently the Head Chef had invested time and money training the staff as 10% of italians are also Coeliac. (The Tourist Information office in Desenzano was also able to tell us of 5 other cafes/restaurants in the town that served specific gluten-free food and gave us the address of a little health shop that sold gluten and dairy free products to have your own - so it's a good place for any Coeliacs to travel to so you can still enjoy the glorious italian food). Please don't think that they just cater for gluten-free food, all of the food was gorgeous and other guests who had no diet requirements also complimented the Chefs and Restaurant teams on the wonderful food.
Aside from our diet needs, the hotel was modern and luxurious. The decor and colour schemes are all neutral tones which are very relaxing. There's candles around the building which are lit at night time, creating a very relaxing ambience. From the minute we arrived, the hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful, and their English language skills were far better than our very bad italian, so communication with them was easy. We were greeted each time we came past reception. All the receptionists, the waiters and waitresses, the Restaurant Manager, the bar waiter, even the cleaners were all very friendly and easy to chat to.
Our room was most comfortable, again decorated in neutral tones to create a relaxing atmosphere. The air conditioning was vigorous, but each room has individual control panels to adjust it to your own preference. The room had a flat screen plasma TV on the wall, with easy instructions to get English speakingTV, news and radio on. There was a small fridge and mini bar in the room, and a complimentary bottle of Prosecco champagne, and a voucher for a free aperitif in the hotel bar. All lovely touches. There was a personal safe inside the wardrobe. The bathroom was nicely decorated and included a bath, wall mounted shower head and a hand-held shower head (always useful for ladies to just wash their hair over the bath rather than have a full shower) and a bidet. The cleanliness and hygiene of the bedrooms were spotless, as was the rest of the hotel. The key-card system of the hotel meant that as two females travelling alone, we felt very safe and secure in the hotel and our bedrooms. No one can even get into the lift without using their key-card. All bedrooms have a balcony with furniture and a lake view (although our view was a bit side-on, but still beautiful). Although the hotel is on the main road into the town of Desanzano, there is no traffic noise at night when you have patio door closed and sun shutter down.
The pool area was really comfortable with lovely rattan garden furniture and umbrellas. The pool area was well maintained and clean and tidy, and a lunch/snack menu was available during the day. Poolside drinks could be ordered from the bar without even having to go inside the hotel. Everything extra was just billed to your room and you signed a chitty for each item (be careful not to have a massive bill at the end of your holiday though, as it's so easy to keep ordering drinks and coffees and get carried away).
The hotel had free wi-fi / internet access in a small lobby off reception, and wi-fi points are also available in every bedroom.
My only slightly negative comment was that the bedroom did not have a kettle and tea/coffee satches. You could easily order hot drinks to be brought to your room, but I think a lot of UK travellers would be used to this facility in hotels. As I'm a real tea-pot (and italians are not very good at making tea) I would have welcomed the opportunity to make myself a cuppa each morning. When I go again, I would just bring a travel kettle with me, so it's not a big problem, just a personal preference. Also our coach dropped us off at the front of the hotel, and there are a number of steps to clamber up with suitcases. I know now that there is a side entrance to the hotel from the car park, but on arrival we weren't aware of that, so had to lug heaving suitcases up the steps which was a slight niggle.
Other than those two slight personal preferences, I couldnt fault the Villa Rosa Hotel for their first class service, very high standards, friendly staff, gluten free cooking, cleanliness and hygience, excellent facilities and the beautiful picturesque scenery. The hotel is literally just across the road to the lake, so to wake up every morning with such a wonderful, beautiful view made the whole holiday worthwhile. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, and will definitely be going back. The town of Desenzano itself is very pretty, beautiful scenery (and I'm not just talking about the italian men!), clear blue lake water, loads of lovely cafes and restaurants, great architecture, loads of little side streets to explore, very chic shops, and it has a great street market every Tuesday morning (well worth going to for leather goods, jewellery, clothes, bedlinen, meat & cheeses, crockery etc). It's at the bottom of Lake Garda, next to Sirmione and is a good base for visits to other towns on the lake, as well as further afield like Venice and Verona. We travelled with Inghams, who again provided excellent, first class service. Their tourist information office is in the main piazza by the (Al Ponte) bridge, and their staff speak good English and are very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. I would recommend you try an Aperol spritzer as everyone was drinking this orange-coloured aperitif which was very refreshing.

Room Tip: All rooms at the Villa Rosa have a balcony with furniture and a lake view, however some balconies ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This hotel well deserves the Trip Advisor award it received. It is a modern upmarket hotel that is well maintained in all aspects. Staff are very friendly and efficent and nothing was too much trouble. Restaurant serves an Italian upmarket menu for dinner ( not to everybody's taste) Breakfast is excellent with a good choice buffet and stunning views to compliment it. Bar staff very friendly and excellent in serving up cocktails etc. bar costs are reasonable compared to other locations in Italy.Lots of restaurants available in the immediate area, there is even a Chinese further up the town towards the railway station. No reservations in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the lake , rooms at the back overlook the car park but the view is still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.5 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#1 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
566 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
820 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#2 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#4 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
342 reviews
4.2 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
657 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#10 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Hotel

Address: Lungolago C. Battisti 89, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: $159 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rosa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting wonderful views over Lake Garda, the Villa Rosa Hotel is set in front of a small beach area and just a short stroll away from the historic area of Desenzano, with its ancient churches and museums, shops and coffee houses. The contemporary and chic interiors feature stylish design touches that contrast beautifully with the neoclassical style exterior, and the elegant guest rooms and suites are decorated to high standards with modern, clean lines and neutral tones, each featuring stylish furniture and a balcony. Set in the gardens, with panoramic views over the lake, there's a seasonally circular outdoor pool with Jacuzzi section. Light lunches and cocktails are available at the poolside Lunch Space restaurant, whilst Rose & Sapori Restaurant, winner of numerous awards for its excellent cuisine, such as "Chicco d'Oro 2007", "Italy International 2010", "Menu Franciacorta Sparkling 2009", "Italian Hospitality 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014",provides the setting for evening dining with mouthwatering Italian and international dishes creatively prepared by internationally renowned chefs. The guests can choose between half board menu or a la carte menu, that on warm days can be enjoyed al fresco on the terrace overlooking the lake. We are also prepared to cater for coeliac (gluten fee) and vegetarian guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rosa
Villa Rosa Hotel Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing