We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
No.1 Chiang Mai: 25km Scenic Mountain Biking & Jungle Kayaking
43

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Wat Ban Den
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
127
40
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
40
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chiang mai entry fee day tour temple statues dragon craftsmanship roosters worship ornate series elephants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 172 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

So today we went on a road trip about 45 minutes to an hour out side of Chiang Mai and ended up at Wat Ban Den a Buddhist temple.
All that can be said is WOW WOW WOW the weird and the wonderful there were about 6 temples to the front of the property.
Then construction to the back of the property I could see about another 4 temples.
So I just discovered online that there are 12 Pagodas/temples representing the zodiac animals signs.
Amongst the newer temple there are 2 very old you can see them in one of the photos.
You need a whole day just to wonder in and out of the buildings the architecture both in and out of the building is just amazing.
Lady’s make sure that you dress in accordance to the temple rules covered shoulders and knees, and everyone make sure you remove you shoe when entering building there are signs posted everywhere.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 2mumies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

This was by far the most beautiful temple I have seen anywhere. The buildings and statues are all in pristine condition. This temple sould not be missed when you visit Thailand.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 22, 2018

My partner and I decided to escape the tourists in Chiang Mai and head out of town a bit to Wat Ban Den expecting to see another of Thailand's many Buddhist temples, but not expecting the gem we discovered. Wat Ban Den is a bit of a journey to get to, but once you are there, the richness and variety of 'chapels' Chedi and Buddhas was truly awe inspiring.

The Wat sits atop a bluff with spectacular views of the countryside below, but the REAL views are of the various buildings, Buddhas, gods and Chedi on the grounds. The photos others have posted do a fiar bit to capture the beauty of this Wat and if visiting Buddhist temples is part of your Thai experience, then Wat Ban Den is one you should visit. It is a more modern temple, so you won't have quite the history, but there are parts of the temple that are quite old.

Definitely one of my favorite Wats in Thailand.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank tracytC5333OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 7, 2018

We have been visiting for a decade, and each year more things have been added. The tour buses arrive by 9am, but worth a visit. We think this is the best wat complex in Thailand. Go through the area by the stupas to find the reclining Buddha behind it.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank John_G525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 11, 2018

Our songtaew driver recommended this temple, and I'm so glad he did. Our group wanted to explore a traditional Thai Buddhist temple, and this complex is huge, with many beautiful buildings and statuary to explore. One warning for foreigners - there are no western style toilets available. Also, there is very little shade available, and there is aa large area to cover, so it is better to go in the morning. There is also a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 637debbyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews