We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armstrong's Folly(Upper Moutere)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahana Villa(Upper Moutere)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tasman Hill Lodge(Upper Moutere)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
23
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmatt dillowmade us feelmudeventagesgroupsurroundingsdreammomenthomehostsstop
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 23 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2018

What a special place! Two days before our wedding, our original venue had to cancel due to an incoming storm. In a panicked search for an alternate venue, we were thrilled to call Glenys & Kevin and learn that The Mudcastle was available on that date! Glenys & Kevin were incredible in helping us pull together all of the details for our big day on such short notice. In a great coincidence, the Mudcastle also had the perfect number of rooms to accommodate our wedding guests, so everyone loved staying in the intricately decorated and unique rooms! The Mudcastle itself is a beautiful work of art that reflects the heart & soul of its creators, and is surrounded by lush gardens and lots of gorgeous spots for photographs. In the morning, everyone was treated to a huge breakfast spread that included both hot and cold items, and was exactly what everyone wanted after dancing the night away!

Thank you for making our wedding amazing on such short notice, Glenys & Kevin! Yours is a truly special home!
Pieter & Lindsay

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2017

I have visited this unique handmade creation with our medium sized group of fellow travellers, we couldn't have asked for a better experience and welcoming hospitality.
The settings, decor, location, surroundings, concept and most importantly the loving care and heart warming energy of Glenys and Kevin!
I recommend with highest confidence that this will be a stop on your journey, you will never forget in your whole life.
Thank you dear friends for having us and allowing us to live in a dream for almost a whole week. Eviatar
.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EviatarGover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile

We were made aware of The Mudcastle by a family friend, and quickly became our venue for both wedding and reception.

Glenys and Kevin are absolutely in their element as hosts, and made every one of our friends and family feel welcome in their amazing castle.

Even our photographers couldn't believe the amount of intricate detail which helped them capture the unique environment as a backdrop to our big day.

Organising details from overseas was daunting at first, but we soon came to rely on Glenys for all our many queries.

We can't recommend The Mudcastle highly enough, and are already trying to find an excuse to visit again soon.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Come here just for a dovedale meet and great thing a few years back and I was very amazed! Fantastic food, stunning views and lovely people. Would be perfect for an anniversary or honeymoon id say. The quality of the rooms and garden/pools is exquisite.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank jenmlgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Matt Dillow and Nathan Clark from the Verandah restaurant and Andy Grubb from Andy Wine Tours Grubb in the NSW Hunter valley organised a food and wine tour of the Nelson Area of New Zealand with accommodation at The Mudcastle in the hills just out of Nelson. When we arrived we couldn't believe our eyes. Here was a very unique building built with love and hard work by Kevin and Glenys over the past 26 years out of hand made mud bricks. The rooms themselves were all amazing and the whole interior is packed with artefacts and photos with quirky surprises everywhere.

Our Aussie chefs and wine buff had full run of the well equipped kitchen.

The Mudcastle is accommodation for up to 16 persons and is ideal for groups like our tour and is absolutely perfect for weddings and conferences. Kevin and Glenys were the perfect hosts and ensured our complete comfort.

Room Tip: The room in the outside turret was the most unique but all of them were quirky.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudcastle, Owner at The Mudcastle, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2016

Thank you so much Lesley, we totally enjoyed hosting you here at The Mudcastle and look forward to Matt bringing more Food and Wine Tours to Nelson New Zealand. The second Tour group left yesterday and was just as successful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews