We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
34
58
32
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
58
32
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool business trip evening meal room was spacious balconies midnight church jams sauna
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 168 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

The hotel was very nice and well kept. We arrived on the train and walked to the hotel. It was a little of an uphill walk but still close enough to the train station to walk. Rooms were nice and large. Beds were comfortable. Very clean. The room had a safe. Down side of the room is that they did not have a fan for the hot summer days. No mini bar, coffee maker or refrigerator in the room. Breakfast was basic, not to many options but was still enough to start the day. We didn't get a chance to experience the bar and lounge because it was closed during the times we were around the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful with tourist information. I recommend this hotel to travelers who will use the hotel as a hub for their travels.

Room Tip: Each room provides a balcony but be aware that the balcony will be shared with another room.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 542marisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Located in a small square with a church and bell tower with other restaurants beside it - this place because of the square was cool

Stayed one night here. The room was comfortable. And the dinner on the square was heart and adequate.

It was just chilled and laidback and an area used by locals. Really liked it.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

I totally endorse all the comments of StevieH except that individually booking guests are apparently accorded privileges not extended to us tour company client underclass. One of these was the refusal to allow items to be charged to the room so that if you ordered a drink at the table they came round and collected the cash for it.
Again the locked door policy was not explained. On arrival we were handed our room keys,told dinner was at 1900 and that was it. No offer of porterage to the older members. Advertised 'free' WiFi was 10euro and according to other guests didn't work very well. Only information in room was how to use the phone system but this was out of order. Choice of two main courses to make at breakfast but no advance info on starter and sweet until plonked wordlessly in front of you. No tapwater only bottled at 2.5euros.
despite having paid a single supplement my first room was horrible. Looked out over a recess and above the kitchen. So basic there was no bed side light or light-switch nearer than the door. The fact that this hotel can claim to be 4star makes a monkey out of the whole system. My tour guide managed to get me upgraded to a much better room in the annex but even so nothing sophisticated like waste-paper baskets or working telephones and the hotel were as awkward about it as they could be.
When one couple had to leave for the airport at 06.00 no-one in the hotel was prepared to get up and let them out - they had to carry their cases down from 4th to 2nd floor then across the bridge to the annex,through the annex then down another floor to let themselves out. And they call it the 'Hospitality' trade.
Surprisingly I had booked through a reliable tour company with a reputation for choosing good hotels. I listed these problems was given a verbal appology and was told my comments would be passed to their hotel selection group but doesn't sound as if any more drastic action planned.

Room Tip: Insist on a balcony room as Lounge seriously over heated and no other outside areas at all. Better still stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

Summary
Hotel Jenbacher Hof is impressive on arrival and whose website claims "Tyrolean Hospitality and Enjoyment at the highest level". Once we were "greeted" at reception by Clemens Gruber, for us, that was where the good news ended.

The rooms shown on-line look pleasant, ours was tired and in need of refurbishment (more below).

The hotel isn't air-conditioned and has no garden (every available square mm. of the site has been developed), which in winter probably doesn't matter. In summer, with temperatures in the mid-30ºs Celcius (nearly 100º Farenheit), it was no joke. In the evening, if you want to enjoy a drink outside, the only place we could find was a public bench on the pavement, between a waste bin and a municipal car park!

We were lucky to be part of a travel group, with our representative resolving the various problems with hotel management. If we had been on our own, I doubt if we would have received the same treatment.

In More Detail:
General: The Hotel Jenbacher Hof is the only hotel in Jenbach, so there's no competition.
Jenbach is a small commercial town, with very few visitor/tourist facilities, except for what the hotel provides and the station from where the Achensee and Zillertal Railways run. One hotel guest told us that his idea of local entertainment was to walk to the station and watch the international freight trains go by!
We don't like waste and can understand that all waste is lost profit, but for the Grubers this has become an obsession, combined with a brusqueness, that was frequently indistinguishable from rudeness. While they work very hard, we believe this is to keep staff numbers to a minimum. Hotel staff we met were friendly and helpful.
The Grubers appear to regard their "guests" merely as their source of revenue, which is to be maximised, rather than deserving attention, kindness, or generosity,

Hotel Access & Facilities: Normal access is through the main entrance to the original building. No one told us that this entrance is closed daily from about 11:00hrs to 16:00hrs and at 22:30hrs. The daytime closure was less of an issue for us as we were out most days, but we still should have been told. Fortunately one of our group discovered this and we practised out-of-hours access, which meant going through the new building to the old building via the covered bridge.
The night time closure was an issue one evening, when we took our drinks outside. The hotel has no garden, or outside facilities, so we sat on a public bench next to the road, between a car park and a waste bin. It was very hot, so we stayed outside until about 22:45hrs, to find the main entrance locked. Fortunately we had our card keys and had practised the drill, otherwise we could have been locked-out for the night. On entering the hotel, there were no staff evident, which does raise questions about emergency/fire safety. One member of our group believed that in the event of a fire, the locked doors open automatically - we hope that's true.
There was a swimming pool, which we didn't use, so cannot comment.

Our room: was very hot and there was no air-con, which meant opening the window and door onto a shared balcony. The balcony ran outside 5 rooms, so anyone gaining access to one room could potentially gain access to all the others on the same balcony.
Once probably quite smart, our room fittings were tired and broken:
- broken hair dryer switch;
- cracked soap dish;
- dilapidated, unhygienic shower screen;
- bath plug knob fell off when touched;
- constantly dripping bath tap (basin tap also dripped);
- soap dispenser, OK for the basin, but awkward for bath and other end of the bath from the shower.

Towels provided were small, but regularly changed.
There was a television and on the bedside table a telephone, but there were no instructions anywhere in the room. We could only find one power point in the room, next to a radio, which didn't work.
The chambermaid, Ekrema, was extremely thorough, making the best of the ageing rooms - we found no dust, dirt, or items (e.g. in corners and under the bed).

6-Legged Visitors: We had quite an invasion of ants in our room and we showed them to the chambermaid. Her reaction was "Oh no, not another room" and called Clemens Gruber. We showed him the ants crawling around the room and his reaction was "This is a hotel, not a hospital, you know!".

Dining Room: With temperatures in the mid/upper 30s, the hotel was stifling with no air-conditioning. One of our group asked if we could have a jug of tap water on the dinner table: "No!" was Mrs Gruber's reply. The same guest asked if a window could be opened, as there was a cool mountain stream immediately outside: "No, it's cooler with the windows closed!". Some went to their rooms to get a glass to fill with tap water. Another opened the window anyway, letting-in cooler air. The next day, these issues were raised with our tour guide. At dinner that evening, a carafe of cool water was on each table and the window was propped open!
From this point, Mrs Gruber was considerably more friendly, but Clemens Gruber remained unmoved.

Meals: Catering was at best average. Breakfast was sparse and the food offered generally seemed cheap and poor quality (e.g. cereals, jams, etc.). Scrambled egg and very fat bacon were replenished, but otherwise, when an item ran-out, it wasn't replenished. For example, when the orange juice dispenser was empty, that was it until tomorrow. Similarly with the fruit bowl, which ran out and wasn't even topped-up the next day until I asked if I could have an apple, when one was found.
Dinner for our group was a 3-course set meal. Each morning at breakfast, we were asked to choose the main course for that evening. The first course was always hot soup. The soups were pleasant enough, served in a small bowl that even Oliver Twist might have complained about. With temperatures inside the hotel in the 30s, a cold first course might have been preferable, at least a couple of times. Main courses were generally average. Goulash was a choice one day and as we were in the right part of the World, many chose it. That evening, the "goulash" was a few cubes of rather chewy meet (hopefully beef) in thin brown gravy. Real goulash requires many ingredients and is expensive and time-consuming to make. Don't offer "goulash" if you can't deliver. Otherwise, main courses were predominantly pork. Main course vegetables were already on the plate, with no option for more. Desserts were OK, but generally microscopic portions. Fortunately the weather was so hot that most people didn't have a large appetite.
Lingering at the table after dinner for a chat wasn't encouraged - usually it was Mrs Gruber who started laying the vacant tables for breakfast, seemingly making quite a lot of noise, until everyone had been flushed out of the dining area, presumably in the hope they'd go and spend money in the bar.

"Free" WiFi?: Online booking sites say that WiFi is free. On arrival, I asked Mr Gruber if there was WiFi - "Yes". Could I have the password? - "It costs €10". Could you charge it to our room? - "No, our computer can't accept that". Can I pay by card? "No, it has to be cash". As we were told we had to go straight into dinner (our bus was late), I asked if I could have the password to notify our family that we'd arrived safely. I said I'd bring the €10 next time I went to our room (where our cash was). "No, you have to pay for it first", said Mr Gruber, waving the slip with the password.
Could this have possibly been a scam to obtain €10 cash from everyone using Jenbacher Hof WiFi, without having to account for it?

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank StevieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2018

I spent New Year at this hotel it was clean and comfortable but no atmosphere. No entertainment for New Years Eve. The hotel shut the doors on NewYears Day . We could not even get a drink. They closed down for three hours.so all we could do was go to our room or go out. There was nothing open except a cafe in the village. Definately not a place to spend New Year I would not reccomend this hotel

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank GloriaB1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews