We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Leigh Panorama B&B(Leigh)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Matakana Motel(Matakana)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snells Beach Motel(Snells Beach)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warkworth Lodge(Warkworth)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Court Motel(Wellsford)(Great Value!)
US$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waves Motel(Orewa)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
26
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle touchessuperb accommodationpleasure of stayingself containedgoat islanda great place to staykeyless entryone nightbachsawmillunitshostsfloorcomfortkitchenettenoise
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 31 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We had the pleasure of staying in the Sea Coastel and just loved the beautifully decorated unit. Fantastic bach feel that will take you back to your wonderful childhood memories. All the mod cons and super comfy. Motorhome park onsite too if you're travelling that way.
The smaller conference room was just complete which is a great space so it will be fantastic when the bigger function room is complete as well.
Hosts are super friendly and welcoming.
We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonTPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macka5659, Owner at Leigh Central Coastels, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thanks so much for choosing us and Leigh. Thanks too for your kind review - hopefully you will be able to return soon when the whole site is complete. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017

I really wish I could give this place a better rating, but there was one thing that made it average rather than great. The accommodation looks exactly like the photos - beautifully styled with modern beachy decor and spotlessly clean. I also liked the "self check in" concept. It was handy to the Leigh Sawmill Cafe where went to a gig and also to Matakana with it's market and cafes. HOWEVER, there is a big problem with the soundproofing at Leigh Coastels. We could clearly hear the people in the next room talking and walking about. We were aware they could hear every step we made too. There is a sign on the wall explaining this is due to the recycled matai floor. We were only there for one night, but this would've really bothered us if we were there for longer or if we'd had kids with us. We like our privacy when we have a weekend away from the kids! If this problem was fixed I'd come back, but as is I would look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macka5659, Owner at Leigh Central Coastels, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our space - and regret that the noise from the floors was a problem for you.
Unfortunately in order to 'fix' it we would have to rebuild our 'old' building - and the other character features would then be lost too. It is indeed a difficult one. Thanks for coming to Leigh though!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2017

Fabulous units, loved the decor and effort put into colour co-ordination - retro beach bach with more comfort! Very friendly owners, working hard to get the function centre up and running, this will be an amazing facility for the area! First visit to Leigh, wish we could have stayed longer but we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macka5659, Owner at Leigh Central Coastels, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thanks for your review! We'd love you to come back - when the sun is shining.. and the weather is warmer too! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

What a view, is the 1st impression, just incredible, Little Barrier, Great Barrier and Coromandel, so stunning. The rooms are so retro and cool, ala 1960s New Zealand upcooled. Man, it was only 10 minute or so up from Matakana. The people that run it are just lovley too, Leigh Eats is a stroll down the road who do great coffee, we also loved the Burgers and Fish & Chips. We defiantly visit Leigh Central again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the best view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macka5659, Owner at Leigh Central Coastels, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! yes - do come back again - there is plenty more to see and do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2017

We came for a quick stop over one night and stayed three. What a great find. Spacious and clean. Free wifi and clean water with an ocean view. The place is under a bit of construction so the bathrooms are a short walk away but it's totally worth it. If there were hot showers on site I'm pretty sure they wouldn't have ever gotten rid of us. Ian and his wife were more than welcoming. They even gave us access to their personal common area so we could sit and have dinner at a table rather than in our van. It was a nice treat for us after 5 weeks on the road. We highly recommend their property.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HappilyeverRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded April 30, 2017

Hello - and thanks for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here. However, to avoid any confusion, we do need to point out that your review refers to our on site short stay Motorhome park - NOT the Leigh Central Coastels - which this TA listing is actually home to! Our Coastels are fully equipped Motel rooms - no need to walk far to the toilets :) Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews