We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leigh Central Coastels
Ranked #1 of 3 Leigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed 2 nights and loved the accomodation - clean, well-appointed and freshly renovated. Really handy to everything too - Leigh Eats and the local store are 50 metres away, the Leigh Sawmill Cafe a 10 minute walk.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin M, Owner at Leigh Central Coastels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! Glad you were able to enjoy your time away in our wee patch. Many thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

We had the pleasure of staying in the Sea Coastel and just loved the beautifully decorated unit. Fantastic bach feel that will take you back to your wonderful childhood memories. All the mod cons and super comfy. Motorhome park onsite too if you're travelling that way.
The smaller conference room was just complete which is a great space so it will be fantastic when the bigger function room is complete as well.
Hosts are super friendly and welcoming.
We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonTPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macka5659, Owner at Leigh Central Coastels, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thanks so much for choosing us and Leigh. Thanks too for your kind review - hopefully you will be able to return soon when the whole site is complete. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I really wish I could give this place a better rating, but there was one thing that made it average rather than great. The accommodation looks exactly like the photos - beautifully styled with modern beachy decor and spotlessly clean. I also liked the "self check in" concept. It was handy to the Leigh Sawmill Cafe where went to a gig and also to Matakana with it's market and cafes. HOWEVER, there is a big problem with the soundproofing at Leigh Coastels. We could clearly hear the people in the next room talking and walking about. We were aware they could hear every step we made too. There is a sign on the wall explaining this is due to the recycled matai floor. We were only there for one night, but this would've really bothered us if we were there for longer or if we'd had kids with us. We like our privacy when we have a weekend away from the kids! If this problem was fixed I'd come back, but as is I would look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macka5659, Owner at Leigh Central Coastels, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our space - and regret that the noise from the floors was a problem for you.
Unfortunately in order to 'fix' it we would have to rebuild our 'old' building - and the other character features would then be lost too. It is indeed a difficult one. Thanks for coming to Leigh though!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Fabulous units, loved the decor and effort put into colour co-ordination - retro beach bach with more comfort! Very friendly owners, working hard to get the function centre up and running, this will be an amazing facility for the area! First visit to Leigh, wish we could have stayed longer but we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macka5659, Owner at Leigh Central Coastels, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thanks for your review! We'd love you to come back - when the sun is shining.. and the weather is warmer too! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

What a view, is the 1st impression, just incredible, Little Barrier, Great Barrier and Coromandel, so stunning. The rooms are so retro and cool, ala 1960s New Zealand upcooled. Man, it was only 10 minute or so up from Matakana. The people that run it are just lovley too, Leigh Eats is a stroll down the road who do great coffee, we also loved the Burgers and Fish & Chips. We defiantly visit Leigh Central again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macka5659, Owner at Leigh Central Coastels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! yes - do come back again - there is plenty more to see and do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We came for a quick stop over one night and stayed three. What a great find. Spacious and clean. Free wifi and clean water with an ocean view. The place is under a bit of construction so the bathrooms are a short walk away but it's totally worth it. If there were hot showers on site I'm pretty sure they wouldn't have ever gotten rid of us. Ian and his wife were more than welcoming. They even gave us access to their personal common area so we could sit and have dinner at a table rather than in our van. It was a nice treat for us after 5 weeks on the road. We highly recommend their property.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HappilyeverRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 April 2017

Hello - and thanks for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here. However, to avoid any confusion, we do need to point out that your review refers to our on site short stay Motorhome park - NOT the Leigh Central Coastels - which this TA listing is actually home to! Our Coastels are fully equipped Motel rooms - no need to walk far to the toilets :) Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

My hubby, young son and I were caught up in the cyclone/bad weather the last week so almost everything was shut in the area. However, I must say that our experience was still made highly positive owing to this wonderful accommodation venue. Getting there in bad weather late evening, we were welcomed by a lighted and warm room ('Sand'). Everything was nice and clean and the place was fully equipped with lovely little touches. I would not hesitate to recommend this venue to our friends & family! By the way, I am in love with their bed quilt and if they could respond and tell me where to get it, it would be most appreciated :)

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ddcotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 April 2017

Hello - and thanks so much for your review. Glad our place helped to mitigate the bad weather somewhat! The Quilt in your room came from well known 'always on sale' national homeware chain starting with Br.......! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Leigh Central Coastels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leigh Central Coastels

Address: 22-28 Cumberland Street Leigh, Leigh, Auckland 0985, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Leigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Leigh
Price Range: $150 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new, in the heart of Leigh Village, the Leigh Central Coastels are five stylish motel units with a kiwi beach house feel. There are five to choose from: Sail, Sand, Sea, Splash and Sun, with a variety of King, Queen and Twin options. Each has it's own carpark, deck, bathroom, kitchenette & outdoor space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Leigh Central Coastels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing