We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good weeks holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Reviers, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Pauline10...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good weeks holiday”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in this charming rustic French cottage, it is basically furnished but has everything you need for a comfortable stay. We were made very welcome by Catherine and her husband, who had lots of helpful knowledgeable of the area. The village of Reviers is peaceful and has a small bakers who has baguettes, and croissants on a Sunday ( but get there early!) .
The cottage is a perfect place from which to enjoy all that Normandy has to offer. We enjoyed the Norman history at Bayeaux and Caen, and visited most of the D-day landing beaches and a good few museums. If you aren't into the history of the area, you can just enjoy the beautiful beaches and countryside. The beach at Omaha is particularly good, wide expanses of golden sand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay K
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, son, and two medium sized dogs came to stay at Gite des Dentellieres so that we could explore Normandy-specifically WW2 sites during the anniversary of D-Day. We had no idea what a gem this house would be. It was perfectly located, as we were in between all of the locations we wanted to see. Normandy is very spread out, and so it was nice not to be close to only one place and far from others. Instead, I felt we were perfectly situated to best experience the anniversary of D-Day. The Canadian War Cemetary is a stone throws away, and it is a must see. It is beautiful, thought provoking, and moving. Our hosts, Jean and Catherine were as lovely as their home. They spoke beautiful english and were very patient with my husbands bad french, which he practiced with them. They gave us so much information about the area and things for us to do. They are incredibly warm. The house has been updated but not at the expense of character. It was spotlessly clean upon our entering. Its got beautiful beams and a lovely fire place. The kitchen was well stocked and modern. Beds were very comfortable and our kid loved the loft! We could not have been more at home. There is a soccer field a 2 minute walk away, along with a lovely country trail I took my dogs to every day. The outdoor area was so nice to have and we would have made good use of it if we had the time. Do yourself a favor and book this gem of a Gite!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claire M
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional French Gite”
Reviewed December 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a lovely stay during February half term. Very cosy especially when we lit those stove.

Excellent location for Normandy Landing sites and museums.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
West Malling
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect well equipped and private house for family with toddler and dog”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for a week we had a 2 year old and our 9 year old dog so we need to have a secure garden area and this Gite was just what we wanted.it was clean and well equipped and importantly it had comfortable beds upstairs and equally comfortable sofa and chairs downstairs.
We used it as a base to visit the Normandy beaches and Bayeux and we also went calvados tasting .
We would definately re book if we visit This area again.
Catherine and jean are sweet amd helpful and made us feel welcome

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gated garden area and the dishwasher
Liked least: Downstairs loo
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well equipped basic French gite in beautiful village.”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The village of Reviers is absolutely gorgeous and the gite was in the middle of the village and really near the bakery (only baguettes sold). Some lovely walks were found to be had! The gite itself was v well equipped. basic traditional and v french+ we really liked it! The enclosed courtyard was ideal for the dog and eating dinner out in the evening.

The village was really near Courseulles-sur-mer (a little town we loved) and the beach was so easy to go to later on in the day when it was a bit cooler for an hour or two. We really hope to return for two weeks next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Character
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian A
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location with secure garden for our dog”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our welcome on a wet and cold February night could not have been warmer. Catherine and Jean made us feel at home and explained all the amenities quickly and clearly. This house is well laid out and spacious enough for a family.
The village is very peaceful and ideally located for exploring Normandy. Unfortunately the local baker only has croissants on Sunday, however much more is available in Courseulles sur Mer only 3Km away.
The enclosed garden not only provides secure parking but also a safe space for Billy, our dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful seclusion
Liked least: The local baker
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing