We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Simon G

Great stop-over hotel near the airport

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 29, 2024via mobile
This is a nice hotel. As a stop over near San Jose airport it’s really good. Lovely pool and garden, nice breakfast, large comfortable rooms and good value. As you first stop or last on a trip o Costa Rica you would be hard pressed to find better at this price.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.7 km from Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
    4.5 km from Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa
    Free parking
    Pool
      4.5 km from Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Booking.com
      • Agoda.com
      • eDreams
      4.4 km from Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Entrance at Norma's Villas #costarica
        5.7 km from Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Seitenansicht des Gästehauses
        Go to your Happy Price
        • Booking.com
        • Agoda.com
        5.5 km from Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa
        • Agoda.com
        • Priceline
        4.0 km from Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa
          8.6 km from Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa
          Free Wifi
          Free parking
          C$135
          No prepayment needed
          • Priceline
            C$135
          • Agoda.com
            C$135
          • Vio.com
            C$135
          6.8 km from Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa
          Free Wifi
          Free parking
          Get rewarded with One Key
          • Booking.com
          • Lol.travel
            C$128
          • Hotels.com
          0.0 km from Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa
          Free Wifi
          Free parking
          View more hotels in La Garita
          Reviews (314)
          Filter reviews
          314 results
          Traveller rating
          87
          93
          58
          40
          36
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          LanguageAll languages
          More languages
          Traveller rating
          87
          93
          58
          40
          36
          See what travellers are saying:
          Selected filters
          Filter
          Updating list...
          1 - 6 of 314 reviews
          Reviewed January 5, 2024 via mobile

          Did not have all services advertised. We chose this resort for the spa facilities which were unavailable during our stay. They said only offered certain days (should say this in description). We saw on info on internet that they offered a shuttle to airport which was again unavailable. We had to take taxi. Tried using credit cards and their machines did not work with 2 of our cards (which we know worked as we used in other sites during our days there). Air conditioning did not work in our room. Bed was uncomfortable. The gym was old. Restaurant offered only 4 different cocktails. Depending on site, this site is rated as a 4 or 5 star resort (which was probably the case at a certain time). But I would rate as 3 star at best.

          The staff were very friendly. The pool was great. Food at restaurant was very good.

          Room tip: If you want spa treatments, ask before booking.
          Date of stay: January 2024
          Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          1  Thank Pblondin69
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          adriano martino, General Manager at Resort Martino Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2024

          This is the some review you put on Booking.
          We do not offer airport pick up and our Spa is only with prior appointment.

          About our Restaurant La Focaccia, is considered very good and one of the best italian restaunt in the country.

          Anyway we appreciate your opinion.

          Adriano Martino

          Report response as inappropriate
          This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed August 21, 2022

          Am greatly enjoying my stay in Costa Rica and here in lovely La Garita at the Martino Hotel. The hotel itself is quite special -- guests stay in separate tile-roofed buildings spread across the lush, green grounds. I imagine that the views from each room must be quite unique and special. It was so enjoyable sitting and reading on the deck outside my room watching the nearby bamboo forest sway in the gentle wind while listening to the fascinating calls of many species of birds perched in the many species of trees.

          Extra 5 stars and muchas gracias to the very helpful and friendly staff whose efficiency really impressed me (the hotel was hosting a conference when I stayed there in event space not far from my room, so I could witness first hand how hard the hotel team was working).

          Date of stay: August 2022
          Trip type: Travelled solo
          1  Thank johndD9675NQ
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed January 1, 2021 via mobile

          It is an average hotel. I actually expected more. Some employees tread you really nice and some others not so much.

          We went on new years Eve and we wanted to skip the dinner package. However we ordered something around 7ish p.m. the pizza promo. The person in charge was very rude to my gf and shut down the phone without asking anything other than the room number for billing porpuses. I know the feeling of pressure but I don't think it will justify being rude to a customer. We end up calling uberEats and spend less than the hotel restaurant price.

          To summarize our experience. The place is kinda nice. Most of the employees are decent but if we ever go again. I will either order UberEats or just bring my own food.

          Date of stay: January 2021
          Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          1  Thank zaibootcr
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed November 9, 2020 via mobile

          The front desk staff was very nice, the rooms use a regular key so it’s a bit disappointing to take the key to everywhere, the Italian restaurant serves excellent food , the pool was very clean, but my complaint is that the staff doesn’t wear their face masks properly, and the maid came by for the room service but she didn’t wear the face mask at all.
          The spa was great! We really enjoy it !

          Date of stay: October 2020
          Trip type: Travelled with friends
          3  Thank Nelsy H
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed March 16, 2020

          We were here a few years ago and found the Martino perfect for us. That trip we took some local tours to the Paos Valley and San Jose. It is close to the airport, easy to find by car and close to most major roads in Costa Rica. Room was spacious, all done in natural wood. I do not get the negative reviews. It is extremely clean, beautiful pool, wonderful staff, budget friendly and a lovely breakfast with fruit, juices and hot breakfast of your choice cooked to order. It's not the great resort you may have in mind, more of a great boutique hotel for a short stay. I'll be back.

          Date of stay: February 2020
            • Location
            • Cleanliness
            • Service
          Thank tangi1
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          View more reviews