We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful area; great for fishing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Allen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful area; great for fishing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stay at a B&B in the area! Hotel was ok, but not happy with the view and staff cold.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banalban53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, Operations Manager at Lough Allen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Banalban53,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to inform you, that since your stay; the hotel has been acquired by a new company. I am rather surprised to read that you were not happy with the view from your room. Being located on the shores of Lough allen and looking out on the Arigna and Sliabh Iarainn Mountain Ranges, the view is generally something guests cannot get enough of. In relation to the attitude of our staff, I am disappointed to find that you felt they were "cold". But I am happy to say that with the new acquisition of the property; many new smiley faces have come on board. Should you return, I have no doubt you will encounter them and be amazed at the change. If you are in Lovely Leitrim again some time in the future, please feel free to contact me through Tripadvisor and I would be happy to handle your reservation personally.

Warm Regards,

Gearoid Pyne
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    243
    131
    39
    25
See reviews for
255
315
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at the Ramada for a long weekend with my wife as I wanted a hotel with decent facilities that was close to a small town and the Ramada fitted the bill perfectly. And at €215 for 2 nights B&B and an evening meal, it was an attractive rate for a bank holiday weekend.

We arrived about 1.30 to find the room was not yet ready but that didn’t really bother us as we were going to head out straight away to explore the many wonderful small towns and villages close by. The Ramada itself is located just a 10 minute walk from Drumshanbo town which has lots of pubs, a couple of restaurants and a take away. When we returned to the hotel, our room was ready and we made our dinner reservation for that night. The staff at the desk were very pleasant although I would have expected to be informed of the basic hotel information (location of restaurant, breakfast times, etc) rather than have to ask.

Our room on the second floor was a good size, clean and looked out onto Lough Allen. There was plenty of storage space, a trouser press, a hair dryer and tea and coffee facilities. The lack of tv channels was very disappointing though as we only had the four basic Irish channels. The bed was also a bit too firm for my tastes. The bathroom again was a decent size and had a full bath with shower and again, it was spotless.

That evening we ate in the restaurant but when the very pleasant and efficient waiter presented a menu with a choice of 5 starters, 5 mains and 5 desserts I began to worry. While the menu was basic, my steak was probably the best I’ve ever eaten anywhere in the world! The rest of the meal was fine but quality of the steak was a real surprise and cooked to absolute perfection. After dinner, there was some live traditional music in the bar.

The breakfast buffet the next morning was consistent with the previous nights basic menu but the food quality was excellent and I enjoyed a full Irish to set me up for the day. Having said that, the breakfast offerings for our second morning was a far cry from the first. There was less of everything and that included staff but again, just enough to get by. There was a noticeable drop off in the number of customers staying in the hotel and the staffing levels reflected this.

Later that day, while my wife was having a massage in the spa, I made use of the swimming pool, sauna and steam room. There was also an outdoor hot tub but this was not in use. When finished, I had two red eyes so I can only assume this was down to the chemicals in the pool. Upstairs from the pool you will find the gym with a selection of exercise machines.

My overall impression would be that it is hard to get really excited by this hotel as there is not a whole lot to it and it did lack atmosphere. It does just enough to get by in these tough times without letting standards drop too much and I can appreciate how difficult that must be for hoteliers. It operates to acceptable standards and offers an excellent base to explore the northern end of the river Shannon at an affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, Operations Manager at Lough Allen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Rjoc,

Thank you for your recent review. Since your review, the property has actually been acquired by a new company. It is great to hear about your comments about your meal and I am delighted to inform you that we have retained the services of Santosh Kumar, the hotel's Michelin Guide awarded Executive Chef. He is presently in the process of planning some mouth watering new menus which will no doubt impress even the most discerning palate. We are presently overhauling the hotel for a re-launch on St. Patrick's Weekend, which will see a totally new standard of product to the one that you encountered. Should you wish to return and sample our new product, please contact me directly through Tripadvisor and I would be most happy to assist in any way that I can.

Warm Regards,

Gearoid Pyne
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Myself and a large group of girls stayed here for a friends hen. There was a bit of confusion at the desk for check in but after that everything went well. The staff were very friendly and accomodated us as best they could. We stayed in the suites and the only two negative things i would say is that the hair dryer wasnt working and the whole suite was freezing. On the second day i discovered the heaters werent connected to the hotels system so we had to turn on the electric heaters.
on the whole however, we thouroughly enjoyed our stay though and will be back for the next hen!!!!

Room Tip: the suites are great for groups!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, Operations Manager at Lough Allen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Maria B,

Thank you for your review. Since your stay, the hotel has actually been taken over by new management. As part of the take-over process, we have closed the hotel to the public for a short period and in this period we have conducted a major overhaul of all bedroom and suite facilities. I can guarantee you that upon our return, you will encounter much improved in-room facilities. When you and the other ladies do decide to return please contact our sales department, who will be able to tailor a special "Hen Package" to meet your requirements and ensure that you all have an unforgettable experience.

Warm Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have stayed at this Hotel many times on various occasions and have never been disappointed. This Hotel which maintains extremely high standards is a great find.

Eventhough it is Ramada, it has a lovely family-run atmosphere.
The Management and Staff are friendly and ever so helpful.
This is where the returning Locals love to stay.

There is a great Leisure Centre and Spa where you can spend time being pampered
Horse riding, Mining experience (well worth a visit) and Waterways nearby
Beautiful scenery - mountains and lakes - especially in Summer
Dining here is to be recommended as effort is not spared.

Actually, dining in Leitrim is a real pleasure. Food is really great - so fresh, tasty and very well presented

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, Operations Manager at Lough Allen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Teresa N,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to hear that you have had a great time whenever you have stayed with us. Since your most recent stay, the hotel has actually been taken over by new operators. It is the intention of the new operators, the McManus Family; to keep the family spirit of friendliness and helpful, courteous service alive and kicking. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for upcoming special offers, and if there is anything that I can do to contribute to the making your next stay even more enjoyable; please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. See you soon!!

Warm Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We attended a friends wedding here this weekend. It was just lovely. Warm welcome from great staff. Fantastic friendly service. Lovely food. Gorgeous views. I would highly recommend this hotel. Busy little children were welcomed in a lovely friendly athmosphere. Great pool also. Lots to recommed just come and see for yourself. xxxxxx

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Me and my fiance along with our baby daughter went here for a relaxing break in july. The hotel was very clean with friendly staff who would do anything for you. The view of the mountains and lough while sitting outside in the hot tub were super. The food was lovely and nice place outside to enjoy your meal if weather is good. Good place for a walk and a park outside for the kids. pool with gym and sauna etc great too

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

we attended a family wedding, the food was scrumptous, the hotel looked stunning the staff were friendly but professional. the views were spectacular, really lovely leitrim. good location for visiting surrounding sites..sligo, mountains, carrick on shannon, ballinamore.....shannon, cavan leitrim waterway.etc its a big hotel in a small town but my god there is a wealth of exploring of sites and interesting things to do. we'll definetly be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiterbannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumshanbo
7.1 km away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
12.5 km away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
12.3 km away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
30.3 km away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
9.4 km away
Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Allen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Allen Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Address: Drumshanbo, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Hotel and Suites at Lough Allen)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Drumshanbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Hotel Class:3 star — Lough Allen Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Allen Hotel in County Leitrim in the northwest of Ireland is truly somewhere special! Situated on the shores of Lough Allen, only 14 km from the bustling town of Carrick on Shannon, it is just a short walk to the town of Drumshanbo. The hotel combines with the stunning Leitrim countryside to offer the ideal destination; be it for the romantic short-break where spa treatments, leisure centre and a sumptuous candlelight dinner are all components that make for an unforgettable short break. Or is it a family reunion that would like to include organised activities during the day rounded off with a lavish family meal in the evening. As a wedding venue or conference centre, Lough Allen Hotel has played its part in creating success after success. The central location of the hotel in Leitrim facilitates tours and visits to the surrounding unspoiled countryside, always being able to return to the warm welcome of committed staff members! The many lakes that comprise the stunning Leitrim countryside, shopping in Sligo or Enniskillen - the beaches of the Atlantic coast: any and all of these are just on our doorstep. So be assured whatever the reason for your visit, Lough Allen hotel & Spa at Lough Allen in Drumshanbo offers great value for money at any time of year and all our selling agents will offer you a package that suits your personal budget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lough Allen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Lough Allen
Ramada Leitrim
Leitrim Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing