We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could live here forever. So lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Old Orchard Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Holbeck B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2017

This B&B is amazing is an understatement! The bedrooms are amazingly furnished, breakfast is second to none, its looks like a postcard. everything is in its correct place. I stay here because I attend the "School of Artisan Food" which is a 10-minute walk but Joan take you because she's a lovely host. I think this is the best B&B on this Planet earth. You can see Joan loves this B&B and makes sure here guests enjoy the experience. Book well in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lazarus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Brown's Old Orchard Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 wonderful nights. Fantastic location, perfect for exploring the country side. Lovely room and the hostess, Joan, couldn't have been more welcoming. Went out of her way to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. Whatever you do, don't skip the breakfast. Best bacon and eggs I have ever had.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Very warm welcome. Beautiful décor, classy, vintage music and ambience (1940s to 50s?) all carefully chosen to create an air of nostalgia, calm and tranquillity. Especially the Chevrolet memorabilia. All the Visit England and other awards are clearly well-deserved. Now I must step back into 21st century busy-ness …

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieSpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Brown's B&B was a midway stop on our whistle stop tour of England..but not a place we will soon forget. We arrived late..but Joan was gracious in receiving us. She gave us a quick tour...but with such succinct bullet points we were amazed. We tested each..talk about spot on! She sent us to the local pub...The Elm Tree...OMG, food to die for..staff to live for..and as we exited..a beautiful picture of Bolsover Castle. With very little prodding we were given direction to get there. Stunning,...and that's only the castle; with views for miles! I digress. It was Joan who in the morning after the pub set us straight on what to do, and where to go as well as where to take a quick picture,...and where to spend time. This woman knows her biz like no other. When we returned from the pub the shades were drawn and light was on,...so we didn't enter in darkness,...and by morning we wakened to her picking nasturtium for our breakfast table!! Talk about astute as her job. We walked into breakfast with tea, toast..and a massive display of fruit and cereal and such. Shortly thereafter she arrived with gorgeous Eggs Benedict. We took pictures; it was so beautiful. She regaled us in stories of her visits to New England...and her friend from Vermont who visited here. Joan was beyond charming, extraordinarily helpful...and so very kind. We heard stories of her life and she listened to our current tales of adventure. The outside garden was a sanctuary filled with wildlife of all kind...and her lobby filled with pictures of her life, family and travels. We felt extraordinarily lucky by the end of breakfast and our chat with Joan that we left in such high spirits for Sherwood forest. Her husbands name is Robin..and that was not lost on us. The B&B is so well appointed you want for nothing...the supersize California king was so comfy it was hard to rise...and the bath included heated towels, robes and slippers. What more you could ask for,...except that it was in Nottingham shire....so we expected and was served a delightful fairy tale visit. Go visit Joan..her beautiful homestead...and take in all her knowledge of all things local.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night as we were visiting National Trust properties in the area. Joan was helpful with our booking before we arrived, suggested places we could go for dinner and booked us a table at the pub she recommended which was lovely. When we arrived we had been upgraded into the largest room and the facilities were great. The room was a good size and had a nice clean bathroom, large comfy bed, television with DVD player and tea and coffee making facilities. There was unfortunately no wifi available in the room but Joan did explain to us that this was because the signal from the house was too weak to reach to the room. The grounds are pretty with a pond with ducklings and grouse wandering around.
Breakfast was delicious - locally sourced and fresh prepared for us by Joan and Robin. Highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 21BHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We had a single nights stay.
The room was luxurious, spacious, comfortable and quiet.
The breakfast was first class with 5* hotel standard of service
The owners were most helpful and friendly, booking us a table for dinner at a nearby restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger-d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Friendly and warm atmosphere at Browns B&B during a one night accomodation. Rooms really clean and interior well made. Good spirit all over the Place. Luxurious breakfast perfect start for the day. Nice and quiet and a Beautiful garden. Fresh flowers in the room made my heart melt.

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice and beautifully decorated
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulrika712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holbeck
6.7 km away
Best Western Lion Hotel
5.9 km away
Hotel van Dyk
Hotel van Dyk
#1 of 1 in Clowne
436 reviews
10.4 km away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
16.4 km away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
7.1 km away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 5 in Worksop
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Old Orchard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Old Orchard Cottage

Address: Near Worksop, Holbeck S80 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Holbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Holbeck
Price Range: $75 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Old Orchard Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing