We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$291
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Magnolia(Calvi)(Great Value!)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
US$178
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
US$238
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camping La Pinede(Calvi)(Great Value!)
US$325
US$315
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$1,205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
41
12
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
12
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 55 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Casa Vecchia studio was exactly what we had hoped for. The studio itself was very nice and it was very thoughtfully furnished with kitchen and cleaning items. Tile floors, handy appliances and billowing curtains onto the little balcony. The balcony view showed parts of Calvi and the citadel, mountains to the west and, of course, the bay with its many boats of all sizes. It was a short walk each morning to the super market, cafes for a petite dejeune or the beach. What more could we have wanted! The owner Jean Marie was very accommodating and able, in English, to give us directions, answer questions, talk politics or give us a tour of his gardens. He and his Casa Vecchia studio made our stay in Calvi perfect. We found September to be a great time to visit Corsica because the rush of summer visitors had left but the weather was still warm and sunny, the water was warm enough to swim and there were still plenty of flowers blooming. When we think back on or trip to Corsica I think our stay at Casa Vecchia studio will always be one of our fondest memories.

Room Tip: Always make sure you have a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our second visit - it won't be the last. Excellent accommodation (our favourite is top floor's number 36) with everything you need provided to meet any eventuality. Very comfortable, clean and quiet with a lovely view towards the citadel. Location suited us perfectly with a supermarket, the beach and Calvi town only minutes away. Jean Marie is kind, friendly and very keen to ensure his guests are happy. His wife, Marie-Josee, is delightful and will show you the extensive bio-garden with pride and passion. It was very hot and we marvelled at the energy of the cyclists as they finished the Tour de France Stage 3. Although advertised as finishing in Calvi, the stage ended about 5kms away - past the turning to the airport and near to the landing site of the parachutists whom we enjoyed watching daily from the balcony. There's so much to do in Calvi but if you want to explore a little, catch the small train to L'ile Rousse. As they say, "nul besoin de voiture" but hiring is another option. Try the U CASANU Restaurant near Place Marchal if you want to sample good Corsican food, though choice of eateries is mega! I can't imagine how anyone could other than love Casa Vecchia, as we do - it is a superb choice.

Room Tip: Top Floor, numbers 34, 35 or 36 are adjacent - all equally good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I found Casa Vecchia Studios online after looking up the Casa Vecchia Hotel on the Direct Corsica website (http://www.directcorsica.com). Initially we were going to stay at the hotel but we preferred to have the option of cooking a few meals ourselves while enjoying the local restaurants on other days. The owner of the Studios - Jean Marie was very helpful with information on the town and even gave us some local maps/ flyers. The studio apartment is well equipped with a coffee percolator, kettle, microwave, electric hob & fridge. It was very easy to prepare simple meals and we took advantage of the large supermarket - Super U which is just around the corner from the apartment. The apartment also had a TV, hairdryer, iron board and an electric fan which was really handy.

Our Studio flat was on the top floor and had amazing views of the Citadel, the sea and the mountains. If you are an early riser you will not be dissapointed with the wonderful sunrise that you can experience from the balcony.

From the apartment the walk to the beach is about 5 minutes and you can get to the town center in about 10 minutes. This seemed to be an ideal location to explore the town. On one of the days we were shown around the wonderful gardens adjacent to the hotel where Jean-Marie pursues his love for gardening. I would highly recommend Casa Vecchia Studios for it's great location and amazing views.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B-Fox-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We found Casa Vecchia Studios on the Direct Corsica website. They have their own website which seems to suggest also some connection with the Casa Vecchia Hotel. Although they seem to share a common entrance that's about it - the hotel (which looked very basic) has a reception area where they are happy to store your bags until the Studio is available. Not quite sure what the connection is therefore between Hotel and Studios but Hotel Reception were careful to point out it was very separate. The "Studios" owner seems to own about 4 or 5 properties in the garden of the Hotel with another 4 properties in a fairly modern apartment block just behind the hotel. We were given the first floor apartment but the Studios Manager - Jean Marie - was very friendly and helpful and he suggested he show us the top floor studios because the view was so good. He wasn't wrong - the view was fantastic and if you look at the Direct Corsica website the pictures just don't do the view justice. There is a choice of older or modern apartments. The older ones are the ones in the garden located within the hotel grounds. The modern ones are in the new block and we would definitely recommend that you opt for one of the 3 top floor apartments. There's no additional cost for the view ! The first floor apartment which was the same size and still had a decent balcony is advertised as having a garden view which it does - but really only looks onto a huge tree which blocks the view. If however you're only option is the first floor one then don't be put off - and especially if you're a beach lover as you'll very rarely be sitting on your balcony anyway. We have suggested to Direct Corsica that they update their site to show that the apartment includes a full size kettle, hairdryer, iron and small (Ikea) ironing board - all of which were welcome as we were led to understand there wasn't anything more than a toaster, a cafetiere, 2 hobs and a microwave. The location is ideal. If you know Calvi, it's about 3 minutes walk behind Super U. If you've never been to Calvi before then compare it to similar properties which are advertised within 5 mins of beach/supermarket and within 10 mins of Calvi town centre and quayside. The nice thing about the modern block is that other than the 4 Studios used as holiday apartments, there are quite a few flats with Calvi residents. You don't see or hear much of them but when you do pass them they are very friendly. The modern studios therefore don't have the feel of some other holiday studio blocks because it's not just holiday-makers. We can't speak for the older apartments although once again Jean-Marie was quite keen to show us these if we were interested which suggested to me that they were at least as clean and well equipped as the modern ones. This was our second trip to Calvi and last time we stayed at Le Home (which also not includes A Merula) apartments. Le Home was described as basic and whilst that's true, the Le Home apartments are set in very beautifu gardens and offer 2 swimming pools. Le Home is a little further out of town - another 5 - 10 mins - nothing really to put you off. If we had the choice and the price was similar we'd probably opt for Le Home BUT we would still recommend Casa Vecchia as good value, simple and clean accommodation - a little less spent on accommodation leaves a bit more for spending in Calvi - which will disappear quite quickly as it's certainly not a cheap place to holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shona-Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today
Google Translation

Room Tip: lit correct
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews