We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Paradise”
Review of Casa Orsoni

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calvi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Orsoni
Ranked #17 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Calvi
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Please note: this review applies to Studio Jardin.

We absolutely enjoyed our stay here, this place is a true gem! The building consists of several units, but there is enough privacy since each apartment has its own entrance and a private terrace. In fact, we had more of a feeling that we were in a small house rather than an apartment since all studios are on the ground floor and you step out directly into the garden or the rear terrace. The studio we stayed in was very basic, definitely nothing fancy or luxurious, but it was clean, cozy, and had all things necessary, including plenty of kitchen utensils, and the furniture was new. The bathroom was also small and basic, but fully functional (the owner mentioned though he has plans to renovate the bathrooms). But in any event, we did not end up spending much time inside because – and this is the greatest asset of this place – it is surrounded by an amazing (and pesticides-free!) garden; in fact, I’d rather call it a park, and it is indeed a little paradise! Not to mention all kinds of plants growing there, there are tables scattered all over it so you could have a meal anywhere you wish, there are hammocks, and a grill. Our children had plenty of room to run around and explore the nature.

The location is superb! It’s within a 10-min drive from the Calvi airport, a 5-min walk to the historical town center with restaurants and shops, a 5-min walk to the 4.5 km long nice sandy beach with a stunning view over the Citadel on one side and the mountains on the other, and with clean shallow water (perfect for kids). To the nearest supermarket it’s a 2-min walk. And yet, in spite of being so close to everything, one really has an “away-from-it-all” feeling. It can hardly get better!

The owner deserves a special mention. He is very welcoming, helpful and relaxed, he brought us some zucchini and fresh lettuce from the garden (in fact, he told us we were free to use the vegetables and herbs growing there) – this taste you can simply not buy at any supermarket. He is present at the property every day because he is there to take care of the garden anyway, which is his “grande passion.”

I can wholeheartedly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Casa Orsoni
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Casa Vecchia studio was exactly what we had hoped for. The studio itself was very nice and it was very thoughtfully furnished with kitchen and cleaning items. Tile floors, handy appliances and billowing curtains onto the little balcony. The balcony view showed parts of Calvi and the citadel, mountains to the west and, of course, the bay with its many boats of all sizes. It was a short walk each morning to the super market, cafes for a petite dejeune or the beach. What more could we have wanted! The owner Jean Marie was very accommodating and able, in English, to give us directions, answer questions, talk politics or give us a tour of his gardens. He and his Casa Vecchia studio made our stay in Calvi perfect. We found September to be a great time to visit Corsica because the rush of summer visitors had left but the weather was still warm and sunny, the water was warm enough to swim and there were still plenty of flowers blooming. When we think back on or trip to Corsica I think our stay at Casa Vecchia studio will always be one of our fondest memories.

Room Tip: Always make sure you have a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was our second visit - it won't be the last. Excellent accommodation (our favourite is top floor's number 36) with everything you need provided to meet any eventuality. Very comfortable, clean and quiet with a lovely view towards the citadel. Location suited us perfectly with a supermarket, the beach and Calvi town only minutes away. Jean Marie is kind, friendly and very keen to ensure his guests are happy. His wife, Marie-Josee, is delightful and will show you the extensive bio-garden with pride and passion. It was very hot and we marvelled at the energy of the cyclists as they finished the Tour de France Stage 3. Although advertised as finishing in Calvi, the stage ended about 5kms away - past the turning to the airport and near to the landing site of the parachutists whom we enjoyed watching daily from the balcony. There's so much to do in Calvi but if you want to explore a little, catch the small train to L'ile Rousse. As they say, "nul besoin de voiture" but hiring is another option. Try the U CASANU Restaurant near Place Marchal if you want to sample good Corsican food, though choice of eateries is mega! I can't imagine how anyone could other than love Casa Vecchia, as we do - it is a superb choice.

Room Tip: Top Floor, numbers 34, 35 or 36 are adjacent - all equally good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I found Casa Vecchia Studios online after looking up the Casa Vecchia Hotel on the Direct Corsica website (http://www.directcorsica.com). Initially we were going to stay at the hotel but we preferred to have the option of cooking a few meals ourselves while enjoying the local restaurants on other days. The owner of the Studios - Jean Marie was very helpful with information on the town and even gave us some local maps/ flyers. The studio apartment is well equipped with a coffee percolator, kettle, microwave, electric hob & fridge. It was very easy to prepare simple meals and we took advantage of the large supermarket - Super U which is just around the corner from the apartment. The apartment also had a TV, hairdryer, iron board and an electric fan which was really handy.

Our Studio flat was on the top floor and had amazing views of the Citadel, the sea and the mountains. If you are an early riser you will not be dissapointed with the wonderful sunrise that you can experience from the balcony.

From the apartment the walk to the beach is about 5 minutes and you can get to the town center in about 10 minutes. This seemed to be an ideal location to explore the town. On one of the days we were shown around the wonderful gardens adjacent to the hotel where Jean-Marie pursues his love for gardening. I would highly recommend Casa Vecchia Studios for it's great location and amazing views.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B-Fox-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We found Casa Vecchia Studios on the Direct Corsica website. They have their own website which seems to suggest also some connection with the Casa Vecchia Hotel. Although they seem to share a common entrance that's about it - the hotel (which looked very basic) has a reception area where they are happy to store your bags until the Studio is available. Not quite sure what the connection is therefore between Hotel and Studios but Hotel Reception were careful to point out it was very separate. The "Studios" owner seems to own about 4 or 5 properties in the garden of the Hotel with another 4 properties in a fairly modern apartment block just behind the hotel. We were given the first floor apartment but the Studios Manager - Jean Marie - was very friendly and helpful and he suggested he show us the top floor studios because the view was so good. He wasn't wrong - the view was fantastic and if you look at the Direct Corsica website the pictures just don't do the view justice. There is a choice of older or modern apartments. The older ones are the ones in the garden located within the hotel grounds. The modern ones are in the new block and we would definitely recommend that you opt for one of the 3 top floor apartments. There's no additional cost for the view ! The first floor apartment which was the same size and still had a decent balcony is advertised as having a garden view which it does - but really only looks onto a huge tree which blocks the view. If however you're only option is the first floor one then don't be put off - and especially if you're a beach lover as you'll very rarely be sitting on your balcony anyway. We have suggested to Direct Corsica that they update their site to show that the apartment includes a full size kettle, hairdryer, iron and small (Ikea) ironing board - all of which were welcome as we were led to understand there wasn't anything more than a toaster, a cafetiere, 2 hobs and a microwave. The location is ideal. If you know Calvi, it's about 3 minutes walk behind Super U. If you've never been to Calvi before then compare it to similar properties which are advertised within 5 mins of beach/supermarket and within 10 mins of Calvi town centre and quayside. The nice thing about the modern block is that other than the 4 Studios used as holiday apartments, there are quite a few flats with Calvi residents. You don't see or hear much of them but when you do pass them they are very friendly. The modern studios therefore don't have the feel of some other holiday studio blocks because it's not just holiday-makers. We can't speak for the older apartments although once again Jean-Marie was quite keen to show us these if we were interested which suggested to me that they were at least as clean and well equipped as the modern ones. This was our second trip to Calvi and last time we stayed at Le Home (which also not includes A Merula) apartments. Le Home was described as basic and whilst that's true, the Le Home apartments are set in very beautifu gardens and offer 2 swimming pools. Le Home is a little further out of town - another 5 - 10 mins - nothing really to put you off. If we had the choice and the price was similar we'd probably opt for Le Home BUT we would still recommend Casa Vecchia as good value, simple and clean accommodation - a little less spent on accommodation leaves a bit more for spending in Calvi - which will disappear quite quickly as it's certainly not a cheap place to holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shona-Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank birm431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claude259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orsonimariejosee, Propriétaire at Casa Orsoni, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.6 km away
Calvi Hotel
Calvi Hotel
#8 of 30 in Calvi
180 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Casa Vecchia
Hotel Casa Vecchia
#22 of 30 in Calvi
22 reviews
3.7 km away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#4 of 30 in Calvi
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
436 reviews
0.4 km away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye
0.4 km away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#6 of 30 in Calvi
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Orsoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Orsoni

Address: 20 Route de Santore | Résidence Casa Vecchia Bât.C, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Calvi
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Orsoni I offer to rent various types of accommodation in Calvi: Apartment of 55m ² located on the 3rd floor of a residence in peace with elevator. Composed of a living room-kitchen equipped with a sofa bed in 160/190 cm, a room with a double bed 160/200 cm overlooking a terrace equipped. The apartment can accommodate from 2 to 4 people, with contemporary style furniture, a large screen TV / TNT, a bathroom with bath and separate toilet, two large cupboards and storage. Studios of 27m ² is located on the 3rd floor with elevator. Composed of a large living room overlooking a terrace of 8sqm equipped, with sea view, equipped with contemporary style furniture, TV / TNT large screen, a double bed 160/200 cm and a bench / bed in 90 / 200 cm, an equipped kitchenette, a room of water with TOILET, a big cupboard and tidying up. Group of studios of 30m ² on one level, each of them having a privative terrace equipped. Composed of a large living room overlooking the terrace, the studios have a large table with chairs of contemporary style, TV / TNT large screen, a double bed 160/200 cm and a bench / bed in 90/200 cm 2 to 3 persons, a separate kitchenette, a bathroom with toilet, a large closet and storage space. Free WIFI access point. La Casa corsa (Corsican house) for 6 people, 3 bedrooms, with terrace. It is composed of a living room with TV / TNT screen (68cm), a fully equipped kitchen, a bedroom with a double bed 160/200 cm, two bedrooms each with a double bed 160/200 cm and a single bed 90/200 cm, a bathroom with shower and toilet, a private outdoor terrace with garden furniture. The studios of 30m² are located in our natural Mediterranean garden of 6000m ² with trees and quiet, the hirings are in the immediate vicinity of the beach (200m), downtown / port (500m) and shops (100m). Relaxation areas in the garden are laid out (barbecue weber, garden lounges, hammocks, deckchairs) in order to fully enjoy nature preserved within the charming seaside town of Calvi. A small garden of aromatic herbs is at your disposal. Free WIFI Access Point Linen provided Cot available upon request. Small pets are allowed. Baby free up to 3 years, ready for bed umbrella and seat baby. Arrivals are scheduled between 15:00 and 20:00 (notify in case of late arrival) and departures at 10:30. Owner available and available locally Google Traduction pour les entreprises :Google Kit du traducteurGadget TraductionGlobal Market Finder ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Orsoni Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing