We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay, but had to dine at the hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Caravelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Caravelle
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice stay, but had to dine at the hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

We needed a hotel for one night as we were catching the SNCM ferry back to Nice the next day. The hotel is attractive and the staff were really nice. The room was modern, clean and had a little patio where you could sit. The beach is next to the hotel and is really close to town.

The only minus is that you have to take half board, which means you have to have dinner at the hotel. The menu is a fixed four course meal so no choice. While we were there the menu included wild boar stew, raw minced fish with herbs, lamb, etc.

We are vegetarian and they tried very hard, but one of the courses was just a plate of sautéed potatoes minus the lamb. If you can, I would recommend negotiating away the half board or just pay extra and go into the town. Surprisingly, we found quite a few veggie dishes at restaurants all over Corsica.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smultronpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    56
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
69
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Genf
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2007

This hotel is situated at a walking distance from the Center of town.
For access to the sea, you just cross the train track (very few trains per day, no disturbande at night).
Closeby there are restaurants and supermarkets.
We had a sea view room with a great terrasse. The room was very clean and bathroom recently redecorated to high quality equipment. And EVERYTHING was in working order!! The hotel is tastefully decorated. Breakfast at EUR 12.00 is a REAL buffet (a rare thing in Corsica we discovered).
We had an excellent stay in this hotel and would happily return.
Great value for money.

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation, cleanliness. Very close to sea.
  • Disliked — In July / August I believe they would only give half board. Restaurant looks good though if you like dining at the same place every night.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ninagenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2007

This is a very good 3 star hotel.
It is right by the ‘Lido’ beach and 300 meters to centre.
What I liked most: the staff and the beach service.
What I didn’t like was my bedroom unfortunately (no.17) because it was the cheapest one; it was logically the smallest, but it was like a prison cell. Never been in such a small room. Terribly depressing. Next time I will splash out on room no. 104 or 105 as advised by another customer.
And the TV set was awful. And no facilities like tea, fridge etc.
Toileteries are refilled, not changed.
Sheets and towels are very clean.
It is quiet. I slept very well. Although maybe make sure you don’t have a room on street side.

Food is very good value for money. I strongly recommend half board. Especially because the restaurants in Calvi are not so good.

My son loved the train trip that leaves just at the back of the hotel (4 times a days). It is an old touristy train that runs alongside the coast to ‘Ile Rousse’, 45 minutes each way.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — room no.17
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cecilette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

The Caravelle is located more or less on the beach, approximately 5-10 mins walk from the centre of Calvi, and has the bonus of a big parking area just next door. We chose it as it was recommended by Which consumer magazine in the UK and it was a good choice.

We had a warm welcome from one of the receptionists, and were shown to a nice room with large terrace overlooking the sea and citadel. New modern bathroom, comfortable bed, nice furniture, flat screen TV. We were the only English guests at the hotel, most of the guests are German as the Caravelle has a link up with a German tour operator. The other guests were French.

Breakfast on the terrace was standard continental fare of croissants, pain au chocolat, yoghurts, fruit, with a self boiled egg/toast plus ham/cheese etc if you wanted it. Dinner was a 4 course meal, good but no choice so you would have to alert the management if you were not able to eat fish or whatever - there was a Fish night where 3 out of 4 courses were fish so that might have been a problem to some ! Of course you could stay at the hotel room only, the choice of restaurants in Calvi is extensive. The hotel has a beach bar/restaurant called Marco Plage where we had a very good lunch, views across to the citadel.

The only gripe was the proximity of the little train which passes by the hotel at regular intervals on its way to Ile Rousse or back again to Calvi. There is a train stop outside the Caravelle which is fine during the day but at 6.30 a.m. the noise of the train stopping and then revvving up again to go on its way did wake me up every morning. My husband did not wake up so its possibly a problem for light sleepers only !

All in all we can recommend the Caravelle for its nice rooms, staff and food, plus the proximity to the lovely beach in Calvi.

  • Liked — nice bedroom & bathroom, welcoming staff, location
  • Disliked — the little train passing by early morning !
  • Tips/Secrets — watch out for the no choice dinner if you are unable to eat certain foods
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.0 km away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#4 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 km away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Le Saint Erasme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Calvi Hotel
Calvi Hotel
#7 of 30 in Calvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Corsica
Hotel Corsica
#6 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Caravelle

Property: La Caravelle
Address: Route de la Plage, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Caravelle 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravelle Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing