We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Caravelle
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Villa(Calvi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
54
63
10
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
63
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour courseshalf boardfirst floorcalvi beachshort walkprivate beachhigh seasonsuitcasesloungersbakeryfridgefacilitiescitadelleharbourtown
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 130 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2007

This hotel is situated at a walking distance from the Center of town.
For access to the sea, you just cross the train track (very few trains per day, no disturbande at night).
Closeby there are restaurants and supermarkets.
We had a sea view room with a great terrasse. The room was very clean and bathroom recently redecorated to high quality equipment. And EVERYTHING was in working order!! The hotel is tastefully decorated. Breakfast at EUR 12.00 is a REAL buffet (a rare thing in Corsica we discovered).
We had an excellent stay in this hotel and would happily return.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ninagenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2007

This is a very good 3 star hotel.
It is right by the ‘Lido’ beach and 300 meters to centre.
What I liked most: the staff and the beach service.
What I didn’t like was my bedroom unfortunately (no.17) because it was the cheapest one; it was logically the smallest, but it was like a prison cell. Never been in such a small room. Terribly depressing. Next time I will splash out on room no. 104 or 105 as advised by another customer.
And the TV set was awful. And no facilities like tea, fridge etc.
Toileteries are refilled, not changed.
Sheets and towels are very clean.
It is quiet. I slept very well. Although maybe make sure you don’t have a room on street side.

Food is very good value for money. I strongly recommend half board. Especially because the restaurants in Calvi are not so good.

My son loved the train trip that leaves just at the back of the hotel (4 times a days). It is an old touristy train that runs alongside the coast to ‘Ile Rousse’, 45 minutes each way.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cecilette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2006

The Caravelle is located more or less on the beach, approximately 5-10 mins walk from the centre of Calvi, and has the bonus of a big parking area just next door. We chose it as it was recommended by Which consumer magazine in the UK and it was a good choice.

We had a warm welcome from one of the receptionists, and were shown to a nice room with large terrace overlooking the sea and citadel. New modern bathroom, comfortable bed, nice furniture, flat screen TV. We were the only English guests at the hotel, most of the guests are German as the Caravelle has a link up with a German tour operator. The other guests were French.

Breakfast on the terrace was standard continental fare of croissants, pain au chocolat, yoghurts, fruit, with a self boiled egg/toast plus ham/cheese etc if you wanted it. Dinner was a 4 course meal, good but no choice so you would have to alert the management if you were not able to eat fish or whatever - there was a Fish night where 3 out of 4 courses were fish so that might have been a problem to some ! Of course you could stay at the hotel room only, the choice of restaurants in Calvi is extensive. The hotel has a beach bar/restaurant called Marco Plage where we had a very good lunch, views across to the citadel.

The only gripe was the proximity of the little train which passes by the hotel at regular intervals on its way to Ile Rousse or back again to Calvi. There is a train stop outside the Caravelle which is fine during the day but at 6.30 a.m. the noise of the train stopping and then revvving up again to go on its way did wake me up every morning. My husband did not wake up so its possibly a problem for light sleepers only !

All in all we can recommend the Caravelle for its nice rooms, staff and food, plus the proximity to the lovely beach in Calvi.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews