We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,389)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveller rating
626
446
193
92
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
626
446
193
92
33
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2019 via mobile

The location is beautiful and our room was very nice but I’m sure there are many others just as comparable if not better. That being said, I had the worst check in experience I’ve ever had. The “concierge”, annolder woman with red hair that I recommend avoiding, got huffy and rude with us when we asked about our room being ready. We arrived at 10:30 and she said our room wasn’t ready. With AMEX we are supposed to have a 12:00 check in so we waited until 12:15 she had not called us to tell us our room was ready so we went to the lobby. We disrupted her fraternizing, which is maybe why she got huffy with us, and she asked what we wanted, when I said we wanted to know if our room was ready she said no and shrugged her shoulders. When I said we’re supposed to be able to check in at 12:00 with AMEX she huffed again and said the room is not ready. Way to be a problem solver and proactive, excellent service!! We had already been waiting over an hour and a half in the restaurant area, where just to be forewarned they don’t serve there until 12:00 to 2:00 and then the kitchen closes until 7:00, the same with room service, and just wanted to go lay down. Ten minutes later she gave us our keys and said our room is ready and you’re welcome...for what giving us what we paid for? The kitchen hours were annoying, our orders were always wrong and cold, and they also ran out of menu items. No one told us the breakfast wasn’t included and for 29 euro a person I wouldn’t recommend it. We had the do not disturb sign on our door but for some reason that was ignored and staff walked into our locked room twice. All and all I would never recommend this place absolutely not worth the money, and it was by far the worst experience on our otherwise amazing trip!!!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank LaurenPC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelGolfeAjaccio, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea & spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2019 via mobile

We have chosen Sofitel Ajaccio as the place for our wedding venue and combined it with our honeymoon and we have never regretted it! This is a perfect place - location, hotel itself, and amenities, personnel, restaurant and food, beach - everything is amazing and corresponds to 5* hotel. We have received upgraded room with a big terrace with a lovely view and special present upon our arrival.
We would like to really thank our event manager Florence for taking care of our wedding and organization! Everything was organized very professional
We would definitely recommend this hotel for everyone !

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mariya_Tar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelGolfeAjaccio, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2019

Dear Mariya,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments that particularly touch us.
We will not fail to share them with our collaborators and in particular Florence.
We were delighted to help you achieve this beautiful emotional moment.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2019 via mobile

Despite so many bad reviews, our first night staying at the hotel we were tired and threw caution to the wind and decided to try the restaurant. I couldn’t believe it. Just like others have said, we were completely ignored for a very long time after being seated. And then.... because it took so long for anyone to serve us, we ended up not finishing our wine and meal until they closed and they gave us a fifteen minute warning that we needed to leave so that they could leave even though we had a half bottle of wine left! On top of that, I assumed being at a five star hotel they would be able to accommodate a vegetarian. No such luck. My options were a very small appetizer or a small $20 chicken Caesar salad without the chicken (same price). Very disappointing and needless to say I left hungry despite having still spent a lot of money! Having said all that, the hotel itself is very nice and superb views of the sunset and rooms with amazing and private decks. Just do not eat there.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BigSearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelGolfeAjaccio, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2019


Dear host,

We sincerely apologize for the time spent at the restaurant.
Please note that our restaurant manager has been informed. He is actively working to reorganize his service and try to satisfy you better.

We hope to see you soon so that you have a better experience.

Sincerly yours
stéphanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2019

Late Summer break - Chose Corsica due to short flight time from UK - stayed at Sofitels before and this one lived up to our expectations - convenient for Ajaccio but out of town - good on site facilities and helpful friendly staff

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 893beriang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelGolfeAjaccio, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2019

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your positive comments.
We are happy to have made your stay a delight.
See you soon!

Stéphanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2019

We stayed at the Sofitel for 5 nights in September. The room was spacious, very comfortable with a great view. We had the room with no balcony. Check in was easy and I must recommend Ingrid and Audrey at reception for great service and friendliness.
We never had meals at the hotel as we like to try different restaurants in the town. We also did not use the spa facilities or services.
The hotel is located in an ideal location and the setting of the hotel is magnificent. We truly had a great rest. We will be back.
Porticcio is just the most wonderful place.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the lawn area can be quite noisy
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelGolfeAjaccio, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2019

Dear customer,

Ingrid and Audrey thank you for your compliments and we too!
We hope to see you very soon at Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio!
Wonderful evening.

Stéphanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews