We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grill restaurant very disappointing despite nice setting”
Review of Hotel Le Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Belvedere
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Having booked for my wife's birthday we were very pleased with table setting but food and service was terrible; watery fish soup and plat du jour, grilled piglet was all fat. To add injury, service was sooooo slow.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank bigmick66Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Belvedere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

Surprised by the reviews so was moved to write. But then again, I haven't stayed in a room here and Corsica can easily disappoint on that front.

I have been to this hotel a couple of times for dinner in the non-gastronomic restaurant. I love it. As night falls, the place is magical - burning torches through the entrance passage, very beautiful pool, great decor (in low light at least), stylish crowd in season. And the food is great - and for Corsica, decent value. Have been to plenty of the "good" places around Porto Vecchio. As a non-guest, in the evening, it's my favourite.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

A bit of too much in this Hotel in terms of price, a bit of too less in terms if comfort and space. Decoration is nice but nothing exceptional though. The beach has no interest as the sand is very rough. The swimming pool is very nice and is the most positive point. The package is overall much too overpriced. What is sad to see is that which such a location and a bit of effort this can make this place a paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe_Guisset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

The room was small and dark with dated decor, looking on to waste scrubland. On arrival the room was full of insects, when we approached reception about this, we were told to turn on a plug-in device which would apparently solve the problem. We were given the impression this was not an isolated incident. The mosquitos died, falling off the ceiling on to the bed - charming. Unfortunately it did nothing to solve the ant infestation.

The food in the restaurant was wildly overpriced and distinctly average. The service was appalling. Despite enquiring about its delay, the wine failed to arrive at the table until after the main courses were served! After expressing dissatisfaction to the sommelier, we were told that he had better things to do with his time than to listen to our complaint.

Although none of the other staff were quite this rude, we found them to be generally indifferent and unhelpful.

After a completely unsatisfactory 3 night stay the icing on the cake was being overcharged for our stay as we checked out.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bancocentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

The swimming pool, bar area, grounds & restaurant are superb... it seems this is where the money has been spent as the rooms are a let down. Very basic, very small and very dark... Very quiet though! The patio area outside the bungalow needed a lick of paint and some tiles replacing.
Food in the restaurant was amazing and well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bookham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Avoid the restaurant.
This place used to be a discothèque some ten years ago, and it shows. Decor is therefore very, very "kitch". Location is stunning, right on the water, use mosquito repellent at dusk unless it’s windy. The “gastronomic” restaurant's cuisine is sadly pretentious. Mediterranean fish, which in our opinion should be simply grilled and served with olive oil, is here “killed” with complicated sauces and all sorts of condiments that don’ t belong. Replace the fish with bread or meat and you will taste the same. A big show is made with pre-and after-desserts but the desserts you pay for are nothing special. I beats us how this place got a Michelin star. Expensive. Count over 100 € per person without wine.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

Delightful location, very quiet and overlooking Porto-Vecchio on the opposite side of a lagoon. The rooms are located in small, semi-detached bungalows set amidst the grounds. Very nice location to have dinner as well, right next to the water's edge, and food and wine good. Rooms are slightly dated and bathrooms very dated and small. Private beach area is nice to have but sand not good and it's all stoney as you eneter the water. However, there are some absolutely fantastic beaches nearby with the whitest sand I've seen in years. Brush up on your French as little English is spoken. Everywhere clean and tidy, and would recommend to those looking for a peaceful place to stay. Car hire is essential.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMHazelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto-Vecchio hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
454 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Casadelmar
Hotel Casadelmar
#15 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
214 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel le Goeland
Hotel le Goeland
#3 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Mariosa
Hotel Mariosa
#2 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
335 reviews
3.2 km away
Les Bergeries de Palombaggia
Les Bergeries de Palombaggia
#7 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
199 reviews
1.1 km away
Private Hotel
Private Hotel
#17 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Belvedere

Address: route de Palombaggia, 20137, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
Price Range: $191 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Porto Vecchio
Hotel Le Belvedere Porto-Vecchio, Corsica - Corse-Du-Sud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing