We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
232
98
18
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
98
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelsuperior roomminute drivefew kilometerslate at nighttucked awayno air conditioningnice bathroomthe ground floorvisit sarlatcroissantscountrysidegardentowndordognerecommendationkettle
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 352 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

This is a delightful, well-run small hotel tucked away in the beautiful countryside, just a few kilometers away from the center of Sarlat. The rooms are small but very comfortable. Guests enjoyed the heated pool and bar, as well as a very good breakfast. Fresh fruits, breads, croissants, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, yogurts, and a variety of jams were on the buffet, as well as juices and delicious coffee and hot milk.
I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return soon myself.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kaychaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

This has so far been the best hotel of our trip. It is on a beautiful property with a heated pool, garden seating areas, patio covered tables. There is lots of parking and still a feeling of countryside. It is so quiet at night we could only hear dogs barking and owls hooting.

It is a fast 3 minute drive into the town of Sarlat and is a very very convenient location for visiting all areas of the Dordogne. I 100% suggest a car if you are staying here or a good pair of running shoes for a hilly walk into town.

The room was simple, clean and modern. Very nice French touch but new and clean. Nice soaker tub big enough for a large adult, blow dryer, closet and a lovely towel heating stand. The bed is hard and large!

The staff have been amazing. So friendly and speak English well.they lent us an umbrella which saved our whole day. They brought us plates and cutlery for our dinner and kept the grounds extremely clean.

Hidden secret to this place is how to use the grounds. We went to the massive grocery store down the road, for a delicious selection of charcuterie items, roast chicken and a dessert. We were able to eat it all outside under the covered patio. They were so nice and gave us everything we needed for the meal. The hotel also has a fully functioning bar that is available as much as necessary. We brought one bottle of wine from a local vineyard that we visited and enjoyed it on the grass as the sun went down.

We will tell all our friends to come here and if we are every lucky enough to come back to France this will be the first place we stop.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SarahGrace0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017

We stayed for two nights in July 2017 at Le Mas de Castel in one of the Superior room.

The hotel is a 10-minute drive from Sarlat, away from the crowds, in the countryside.

The room was in the main building, towards the park, and included a large soft bed, a closet and a nice bathroom. Toilet was separate.
No air-conditioning in the superior room, but the environment is quiet enough it is possible to sleep windows opened (except if you have misbehaving neighbors at night).

Breakfast is extra and we did not take it.

The owner and staff were very pleasant to interact with.

Highly recommended for your stay in the area of Sarlat.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guillaume R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

A lovely little find just outside the hustle and bustle of Sarlat.

The hotel is Just south of Sarlat (about 3km) from the centre and a car is needed to get to and from the hotel to the town.

A lot of people have said "it's tricky" to find, but pretty much everyone has sat nav whether it's on their phone or in the car, so we had no problem finding it.

The lady at reception spoke perfect English and was helpful about the local area and what the hotel had to offer.

The rooms were very modern with all mod cons.

The pool area is spotless and the water was quite warm which was a nice surprise.

I would recommend anyone staying here to Visit Domme, absolutely beautiful.

My only regret, is that we couldn't stay longer.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Petehowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2017

This hotel, tucked away in the country and rather difficult to find, is an absolute gem. A haven of rustic peace. Whether you’re a first-timer, or like us, clients of many years’ standing, you can expect a very warm welcome from Francine, the proprietor. She is in evidence much of the time, particularly at breakfast. Her personal touch make it seem more like “chambres d’hotes”. Some of the rooms, which we always make for, open straight onto the garden. There is a heated swimming pool with a bar right beside it. The hotel is a few kilometers from Sarlat, which is the nearest place to eat. WARNING: If you really want to stay there you may have to be flexible in your dates.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 6 open directly on the garden
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnVicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews