We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
86
74
33
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
74
33
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspleasant hotelrooms are smallshort drivebed was very comfortablestar hoteldordogne valleycroissantsterracesarlatlounge
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 204 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2016

We stayed here 3 nights with a small tour group. As others have noted, the rooms are very small. We were placed in #101 which was in dire need of a refresh. The carpeting was dirty and the bed was lumpy. There were few amenities provided in the bathroom - just shampoo and the smallest piece of soap! We had to ask (several times) for more soap and for the tissues to be replaced.
The dinners we had were not very good. After seeing all the wonderful produce at the Saturday market, we were surprised that there were hardly any vegetables served with the entrees. There were no cheeses or fresh fruits either.
Their website shows a very lovely sitting room, but the fireplace needs a good cleaning. The room reeked of soot.
We did not find the owners to be outgoing or friendly even though we passed them several times in the small lobby.
The property is too far from Sarlat to walk to so you are pretty much stuck here if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DestinyRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Meysset, Gérant at Hotel Le Meysset, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thank you for your comment. The sizes of the rooms are different depending on their category (standard, superior or suite). Even traveling with a group, it is possible, depending on availability and on request, to stay in a suite.
Bathrooms are equipped on arrival with 2 shower gels and 2 soaps, they are replaced daily as well as toilet paper and facial tissues. There is also a soap dispenser in the shower.
Regarding meals, know that our chef stocks at the market, our dishes are served with vegetables and starchy and as the fresh fruit salad is made every morning for breakfast it is possible to request a fruit instead of dessert if it does not suit you.
The fireplace work on request of our customers, it is normal that a smoke odor can be detected.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2016

As part of a tour we spent three nights in this hotel. Our room was very small. WI-Fi reception in the room was non-existent and was very spotty in the lounge and dining area. This was the only hotel or lunch/dinner location that the tour provider arranged that did NOT include wine with the meal. The prices for wine was not high, but it was an unexpected downer. The view over Sarlat from the terrace was good, but it did not compensate for the hotel's deficiencies. We had three dinners in the hotel's restaurant; they were were acceptable, but nothing to rave about. We suspect that accommodations for a group of 20 is hard to come by in Sarlat.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realbigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Meysset, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Meysset, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thank you for your reviews, we had problems with the internet during your stay and we apologize. This is beyond our control and know that we are the first penalized! We pay particular attention to welcoming our groups and we take into account your comments to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2016

This lovely hotel is located in an idyllic setting, with a wonderful and helpful staff. Our only problem was our room was located on the third floor and it was quite a hot 3 nights. Dinners were average.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Twin1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Meysset, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Meysset, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Dear client,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Meysset. Indeed, this summer was particularly hot. So we set air-conditionning in rooms on the third floor.

We hope we can welcome you again for cooler nights in Dordogne :-)

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Our room was very small and a bit noisy. It was the first one off the lobby and often there were a lot of people talking. The breakfast was good, but the dinners were only so-so. That said, the hotel was clean, well appointed, and the back terrace had a great view. Friendly staff. It's a terrific location, but well out of the delightful village of Sarlat.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank miandho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Meysset, Gérant at Hotel Le Meysset, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thank you for your comment, we will do our best to satisfy the taste buds of our customers, always with fresh and local products. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2016

We had two nights here as part of a gastronomic cycling tour. The room was smalll, with few amenities, and when the air conditioning started to work on the second night the power kept tripping, and it was too noisy to have on overnight. The staff were very pleasant, but the food very dull and not the 'gastronomic experience' we had expected. Especially after a long ride up a steep hill to arrive there.

Room Tip: Make sure the wifi is working as it is very slow!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TraceynGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews