We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
247
318
128
42
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
318
128
42
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town free parking floor space single bed hotel is located foie gras hotel prices few stairs star hotel feed the meter great location right comfortable hotel stone building half board lots of character family room street parking
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 754 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here with friends - we had 3 rooms, all very different, quaint but comfortable. The hotel situation is perfect, very close to the historic centre. We ate in the hotel restaurant every night - the food was of a high standard and the service was very quick and efficient. The staff were friendly and very helpful and organised a taxi to take us to Rocamadour. Sarlat is beautiful and the hotel is an ideal base from which to explore the Dordogne area. There is also a self service laundry across the road which we put to good use!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SociableWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017

The hotel is in a superb location for the historical centre of Sarlat, a minute's stroll away.

The hotel itself is in a beautiful old building. It has lots of character. This meant that our room was a rather eccentric shape, with not a lot of floor space to leave suitcases and a rather cramped bathroom, but with a beautiful balcony. For us this was a positive, for some it might be annoying.

We chose the "Etape Gourmand" option, or half-board. The hotel restaurant was really excellent, with a huge choice in the menu, and a good range of wines by the glass. The restaurant staff were also very friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast was fine, with a reasonable choice of sweet and savoury options. The hotel has a secure carpark. It's about three minute's walk away, but the spaces are large and under cover.

We really enjoyed our two nights in Le Couleuvrine and would certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

The hotel is close to the center of Sarlat and an easy walk to the sites such as the cathedral and shopping district. It is in a busy intersection so noise can be an issue as our room faced the street. The staff were of little help and barely acknowledged our presence. Most of the guests were French and little English was spoken. There is a very nice restaurant on the ground floor and a very good breakfast is served. Parking is on the street so you must feed the meter if you want your car nearby. Free parking is available but it is some distance off. All in all it was a good place for us as we could easily pull out of town and vist the Cave sites such as LascauxII

Room Tip: Some rooms have an outdoor terrace
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 247anthonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

This is an old hotel in the centre of Sarlat. It's a nice a nd beautifully preserved building done up into a comfy hotel.
The hotel is located close to the shops,cafés and old town of Sarlat ikn about 3 to 5 mins walk.
Stayed there for 2 nights,wifi,cleaned room,nice bathroom with a deceent bath and a tidy spot.
It was a good and relaxing spot after hiking during the day in the Dordogne.
Meals were good,dinner was good with local speciality,fois gras a nd fish.
Breakfast could have been better though.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vikash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

As a family of 2 children and 2 adults we booked the family room for one night.
The room is spacious and hidden after a few stairs going up and down in this old building.
Curiously the bathroom opens to the children's room, maybe not ideal with small children, not a problem in our case.
We found a parking space on the street in front of the hotel. It is free during the night and you have to pay only from 9am on.
As mentioned before the location of the hotel is great and there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance.
The french breakfast was as expected with fresh croissant, bread, pain au chocolat, juices, tea, coffee, cereals and little bit a ham. We didn't need more.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sabs43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couleuvrine24, Propriétaire at Hotel La Couleuvrine, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your advice. We hope to see you an other time. Best regards, Stéphanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews