We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay and to eat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

I will dispense with my only negative comment first: I am not large (5'8" or 173cm; 160lb or 73kg), but had I dropped the soap in the shower, I would have had to turn off the water and open the door to bend over to retrieve it! Too small for comfort, although it worked out just fine...and I kept a firm grip on the soap.

Our room at the top of the tower was large and very comfortable, with a great bed. Other family members used another large room for two, and an even larger suite with two bedrooms for two adults and two young children. All the rooms were very nice: spotlessly clean and comfortable, as well as larger than average, even though with basic level decor.

We ate one dinner in the restaurant, by default: not much is open in Sarlat in January. However, that was a good thing; it was one of the two best meals we had in a week in France. It would be worth going out of the way to dine there, and we were lucky it was right under our feet.

Breakfast at €10 was better than average for hotel breakfasts.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sesquipedalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

3 - 9 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here with friends - we had 3 rooms, all very different, quaint but comfortable. The hotel situation is perfect, very close to the historic centre. We ate in the hotel restaurant every night - the food was of a high standard and the service was very quick and efficient. The staff were friendly and very helpful and organised a taxi to take us to Rocamadour. Sarlat is beautiful and the hotel is an ideal base from which to explore the Dordogne area. There is also a self service laundry across the road which we put to good use!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SociableWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

The hotel is in a superb location for the historical centre of Sarlat, a minute's stroll away.

The hotel itself is in a beautiful old building. It has lots of character. This meant that our room was a rather eccentric shape, with not a lot of floor space to leave suitcases and a rather cramped bathroom, but with a beautiful balcony. For us this was a positive, for some it might be annoying.

We chose the "Etape Gourmand" option, or half-board. The hotel restaurant was really excellent, with a huge choice in the menu, and a good range of wines by the glass. The restaurant staff were also very friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast was fine, with a reasonable choice of sweet and savoury options. The hotel has a secure carpark. It's about three minute's walk away, but the spaces are large and under cover.

We really enjoyed our two nights in Le Couleuvrine and would certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The hotel is close to the center of Sarlat and an easy walk to the sites such as the cathedral and shopping district. It is in a busy intersection so noise can be an issue as our room faced the street. The staff were of little help and barely acknowledged our presence. Most of the guests were French and little English was spoken. There is a very nice restaurant on the ground floor and a very good breakfast is served. Parking is on the street so you must feed the meter if you want your car nearby. Free parking is available but it is some distance off. All in all it was a good place for us as we could easily pull out of town and vist the Cave sites such as LascauxII

Room Tip: Some rooms have an outdoor terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 247anthonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

This is an old hotel in the centre of Sarlat. It's a nice a nd beautifully preserved building done up into a comfy hotel.
The hotel is located close to the shops,cafés and old town of Sarlat ikn about 3 to 5 mins walk.
Stayed there for 2 nights,wifi,cleaned room,nice bathroom with a deceent bath and a tidy spot.
It was a good and relaxing spot after hiking during the day in the Dordogne.
Meals were good,dinner was good with local speciality,fois gras a nd fish.
Breakfast could have been better though.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vikash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

As a family of 2 children and 2 adults we booked the family room for one night.
The room is spacious and hidden after a few stairs going up and down in this old building.
Curiously the bathroom opens to the children's room, maybe not ideal with small children, not a problem in our case.
We found a parking space on the street in front of the hotel. It is free during the night and you have to pay only from 9am on.
As mentioned before the location of the hotel is great and there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance.
The french breakfast was as expected with fresh croissant, bread, pain au chocolat, juices, tea, coffee, cereals and little bit a ham. We didn't need more.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sabs43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couleuvrine24, Propriétaire at Hotel La Couleuvrine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017


Thank you for your advice. We hope to see you an other time. Best regards, Stéphanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Very comfortable hotel. Our grandson was impressed at staying in a 'castle'. Really close to old town of Sarlat which is beautiful. It was quite warm while we were there and although there were fans in the bedrooms air conditioning would have been welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fredaw678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarlat-la-Caneda
0.3 km away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
597 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
367 reviews
0.2 km away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
985 reviews
9.7 km away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
290 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#10 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Couleuvrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Couleuvrine

Address: 1 Place de la Bouquerie, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: $110 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Couleuvrine 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel provides 26 rooms including 5 family ones. All different with integrated comfort, you will feel like visiting a friend in the county. Alone, as a couple, with your family or with a group, the hotel will welcome you all year long ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Couleuvrine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Couleuvrine Sarlat Canéda
La Couleuvrine Hotel Sarlat Canéda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing