We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manoir des Douets Fleuris
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had very high hopes of a delightful and comfortable hotel. The reality was far from this. Our reception on arrival was not that welcoming. Our room when we shown to it was a disappointment despite being one of 'their best' rooms. There was no real facility for unpacking our belongings. The wardrobe - free standing metal frame - was far from adequate. Little or no hangers were provided. The shower head did not work. Room only suitable for a single night when you can LIVE out of a suitcase but for 4 nights ...!
Our contact with reception left a lot to be desired. Little help was given to my wife when she complained. My approach when I said that was wife was very unhappy brought some response. The next day we were moved to a smaller room with just the same hanging facilities. Restaurant was acceptable but menu restricted for 4 night stay. We cancelled our booking for a meal after the first night.
Not a good experience and one we would not repeat!
The owners should stay in the rooms to understand how they appear to their guests.
Overpriced and over-rated.

Room Tip: Don't go for the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We visited this area because it's not far from Mont Saint Michel. We loved this coastal area and would have loved to have stayed longer. This inn and it's grounds were beautiful. They have a very nice restaurant open to the public where breakfast is served.....We ate on the beautiful patio near the pool. Breakfast was yummy!

The only negative was that the male "manager" was not too friendly and our room was extremely hot and stuffy with no window in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window! Our room did not have a window so it was extremely hot at night with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AtlantaHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This review is not written to talk down on the hotel but this is our honest opinion: We are really disappointed in the hotel and especially the owners reaction. We were really looking forward to our stay, the price (EUR 130/night for a double room in the middle of the week) was over our initial budget but it seemed it would be worth it; it wasn't.
We got room 20; tucked away behind the elevator with the public/general toilet right across our room-door. The room wasn't that small indeed but there was no way to ventilate the room; there was only a door in the room which led to the parkingspace of the hotel. We didn't feel comfortable to have the door open while sleeping but both nights we woke up in the middle of the night with the feeling we were choking from carbon monoxide. Also the beds are really poor; both single mattress were run down.So after broken up nights; waking up and then opening and barricading the outside door, it was horrible to be woken up again a few hours later again by guests pulling there suitcases to go to their parked cars just centimeters outside the open door and feeling uncomfortable because not knowing how much they could see looking in. The worst part is that I addressed the owner ( lady) when we were checking out. She didn't ask how our stay was but I managed to tell here in French that we couldn't ventilate;Yes we could she said; we could open the door; I replied that that didn't feel safe while sleeping and with the parkingspace right outside. Ok she said and shrug her shoulders. As I was astonished by this reaction I didn't even bother talking about the mattresses. It really was such a disappointment that we decided to book a NH hotel in the next town we stayed in and that was a huge room with good beds with friendly service for half the price. Such a disappointment and cannot see how this hotel is rated ok or part of the chateaux hotel collections!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank missbAmsteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We also found this hotel from Tripadvisor - at first I thought of staying in St Malo or Cancale centre, but because of the favourable reviews I decided to book this hotel.

I must say that the reviews are true. This hotel with it's lovely garden and countryside surroundings overall are beautiful, as well as the room we got - big bed, large bathroom with a shower and a bathtub.

Service was also very friendly and helpful. I do not know how the atmosphere is in the summer when it is more crowded, but I enjoyed the peace and quiet of this gem of a hotel. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

The hotel is quite close to Cancale, but not in a walking distance, but buses run frequently. Busstop (Quatrevais) is nearby, we used a taxi to arrive from St Malo (approx 25 euros).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gyr787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We arrived in Cancale expecting to stay at another hotel. Upon arrival, their reception/office was actually closed so we were forced to search out other accommodations late in the day. We stopped and viewed many hotel rooms before finally happening upon Manoir des Douets Fleuris.

The price per night at Manoir des Douets Fleuris was slightly more than we had hoped to pay but after seeing the noisy, closet sized rooms offered in Cancale (which had no Internet or parking) it was apparent that there really was no better choice than the Manoir des Douets Fleuris!

I'm pleased we hadn't read the reviews on TA for this hotel as we might have been put off from the comments. Instead, we were warmly greeted by David and shown two available rooms. Our room was quite spacious with a living area, desk, two flat screen TVs, safe, comfortable chairs, separate entrance from the gardens (versus a hotel style entrance to many rooms off of one corridor), excellent bedding and towels. The room's walls were of the rock of the hillside this area of the hotel hugs. High ceilings, tile floors and good window coverings were highlighted by the touches of a fine hotel and an owner with attention to detail.

There were bathrobes and slippers provided and a small mini-bar refrigerator. After days of driving, it was a real pleasure to stand between the dual high pressure shower jets and/or to lie in the deep Jacuzzi-style bath in the large, spacious bathroom.

In-room Internet is included in the rates and is one of the fastest speeds of any hotel I've stayed.

There is a swimming pool and a hot tub. The landscaped gardens provide a tranquil place to enjoy a drink or just a quiet place to listen to the fountain and the birds.

Little things...We are both night owls which means we always miss the breakfast serving times. It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room with tea and coffee making items.

We never could figure out how to get BBC and/or CNN on the TV. The room's information booklet did not have a discussion on the TV channels/use.

David actually helped us with our luggage! This kind of thing doesn't happen often at hotels anymore. And, a partial bottle of wine left from dinner, made its way to our room delivered by David, decked out in a fresh ice bucket. The Owner was friendly, open and genuine.

Requests for additional blankets and an issue due to our ineptitude with the door key were all handled with friendliness and laughter.

These service details make a big impression!

After our long drive, it was a pleasure to be able to have dinner in the restaurant on site. We are both professional chefs - so we can be quite particular and, well, critical in regards to food prep and presentation. In this case, we had a good meal made better by David's unpretencious, welcoming and friendly service; an excellent bottle of wine; lovely surroundings; good - and not your typical - restaurant music choices; a luscious starter of silky smoked salmon spread with toast points - melt-in-your-mouth foie gras - tender beef filet topped with more foie gras - superb butter (Seriously - SUPERB butter) and crusty bread - perfectly ripened cheeses on a generous tray...

Did we feel the prices too high for our meal? - Yes. 59,00 Euro/$90 US per person plus wine for a pre-fix menu. Especially when, though some items were good, others should be improved upon. The chicken and Morel course was so covered in thick sauce to make the chicken undistinguisable. The chicken was tough - not the menu's promised enticement of a 'specially fattened' juicy, rich bird.

Though the foie gras first course was rich and buttery, it was served on Brittany's version of a spicy gingerbread (a great idea) which was unfortunately drenched in the cooking fats. The talented Chef could do better. Each dish was garnished in the same way and all the side dishes were the same on each plate served and for each course and, frankly, would have been best left in the kitchen for the most part as they didn't 'go with' the dish presented... What seemed creative at first site, loses its luster when repeated.

All in all, I would certainly stay here again, and, hope to do so!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alaskaitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had been travelling around the coast in France and stopped off in Cancale looking for somewhere to stay for one night. After reading reviews on TripAdvisor and missing the No'1 hotel we stumbled on this hotel and it looked very pretty so we decided to see if they had a room. On meeting the Madame at reception we were informed they had had a cancellation and there was one room left, which we were shown to in a manner which was hardly warm and friendly. When my partner politely mentioned that we had been offered two adjoining rooms for just under the price of this one room in another establishment, we were advised "to take the two rooms then"! Although surprised at this attitude we figured we were there now and said we would take the room and waited whilst the sofa bed was pulled down and made up - unfortunately there seemed to be a problem with the bed which wouldn't flatten in the middle. Instead of apologising and continuing to try and rectify the problem we were told the bed was perfectly safe for our 8 year old son to sleep in - obviously this wasn't the case at all and my partner rectified the problem without so much as a thank you from the same Madame. All in all the hotel is a very pretty building but the overall atmosphere was decidedly cool due to the service we received and this left us not wishing to return (admittedly we only really dealt with this one person so I would not wish to generalise.)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChatelaineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Everything about this hotel is good - even though it is further out of Cancale than the web site states ( probably a translation issue ) . Therefore the convenience and ease of not having to drive to eat out is fantastic . But in our opinion , the food in the restaurant is way overpriced. At these prices the food should be pretty special and it was a shame that it just wasn't. We gave it two chances and then gave up. A tough , pimply undercooked chicken leg which is advertised as specially fattened but tasted like a broiler chicken should not cost over 20 euros , no matter how much cream sauce is plonked on top. They need to up their game considerably.

Room Tip: all rooms seem fairly quietly located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancale
1.8 km away
La Mere Champlain Hotel Restaurant
0.9 km away
Hotel Nuit et Jour
Hotel Nuit et Jour
#4 of 13 in Cancale
191 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Querrien
Le Querrien
#3 of 13 in Cancale
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Chatellier
Hotel Le Chatellier
#7 of 13 in Cancale
112 reviews
7.8 km away
Maison Tirel-Guerin
Maison Tirel-Guerin
#1 of 1 in Saint-Meloir-des-Ondes
613 reviews
10.7 km away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir des Douets Fleuris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir des Douets Fleuris

Address: les Douets Fleuris, 35260 Cancale, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Cancale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Price Range: $215 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoir des Douets Fleuris 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century granite house mansion embodies the Breton personality right through to its generously-proportioned rooms, skilfully combining traditional values and sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manoir des Douets Fleuris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Des Douets Fleuris Cancale, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing