We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A super stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Bruyeres

Αύγουστος 2016
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Αύγουστος 2016
Breakfast on the terrace Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Αύγουστος 2016
Breakfast on the terrace
Living room
Front garden
The ground floor bathroom is very small, but has a good spacious shower!
Breakfast bar and open plan kitchen
Spring morning
Kitchen
Master bedroom
View from the terrace in summer
Twin beds upstairs (open plan, showing top of staircase on the right)
Spring morning, April 2018
Living room
Evening
Chateau de Fougeres - a large,  well preserved medieval castle only ten miles away
This lake in the Forest of Fougeres is 10 minutes away by car, and has a swimming/paddling beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fougeres, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ros S
Hampton Court
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A super stay!”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a very enjoyable stay here last month and appreciated the peaceful surroundings, the lovely garden and the cosy but really well equipped and immaculate cottage. There are various local walks and villages nearby with their colourful markets.Les B was a welcome retreat and has a good, comfortable feel to the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and feel of the cottage
Liked least: Does not apply
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thanks so much, we're glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - it's peace and beauty, and the comfort of the cottage as a place to relax and unwind.
Liked least: Not applicable!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Les Bruyeres - we're happy you had an enjoyable stay. Best wishes, Eric and Patience
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Simon M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven of peace and quiet”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The facilities are quite basic (reflected in the price) but perfectly adequate, with a shower which puts to shame showers I have experienced in other (more expensive) French gites.
Although Les Bruyeres is very rural and peaceful there is a well-stocked supermarket within walking distance.
The market in St. Hilaire (Wednesdays) is well worth visiting, and the restaurant in Le Cygne hotel (on your right before the main crossroads in St. Hilaire coming in from Louvigne) does an excellent lunch.
The surrounding area has plenty of places to visit e.g. Fougeres and Vitre. Although just into Brittany Les Bruyeres is a good base for exploring southern Normandy as well, and is an easy drive from St. Malo, Caen and Le Havre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Al fresco breakfast and supper on the south-facing patio
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you - the shower and bathroom were new in 2014.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughhereu...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing stay, very quiet and good location”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I had a 5 day stay at Les Bruyeres with my girlfriend, and I must say that we had a lovely time there. It is hard to imagine a more peaceful and relaxing setting; it really does feel like getting away from it all. It was lovely sitting out on the patio and our only company being cows in the bordering field, red squirrels and woodpeckers in the trees, and the occasional farmer going by on a tractor. 

Inside it feels very homely as well, with the lovely wood-burning stove being a particular novelty for us city types! We certainly slept very well in the bedroom up the spiral staircase, where the blackout blinds and aforementioned peace and quiet led to some longer lie-ins than we had anticipated... Although despite this comfort, I would warn anybody else above 6 foot tall to mind your head when upstairs!

There is a good sound system in place to listen to the record player or CDs (or a jack to plug in your MP3 player or tablet), and a TV to watch DVDs on. There is a good selection of LPs, CDs, books and DVDs. We also found the kitchen facilities to be good, with gas cooker, microwave, toaster and coffee maker, and more than enough crockery etc. The shower was pleasingly hot, spacious and powerful as well, although the bathroom isn't very big (nor the downstairs bedroom, which we didn't use). There was a handy guide to the cottage provided with useful information, and a folder of leaflets for local attractions.

The surrounding area is dominated by farms, and is very pleasant to walk or run around. However, the village of Louvinge is only a two minute drive away (or an uphill walk that could take between 15 minutes and 45 minutes!), and there is a very good supermarket there (Super U) which we visited regularly for bread, cheese and wine (when in Rome...). 

It is also only a short drive to St Hilaire, where we went for the market on Wednesday morning, and dined in a hotel called L'Agriculture, which serves classic French food at very reasonable prices. We also went to Fougeres, where there is a pretty spectacular medieval castle, and a forest where we went for a long walk around the lake. There seems like lots more to do in the area, but we struggled to leave the cottage once we'd put a fire on and started on a good book!

Overall, I would say that this would be a very good place to stay for anybody looking for an affordable and relaxing getaway, with all of the charms of the French countryside on offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove, eating on the patio, peace, quiet, countryside, cheese, wine!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thanks, glad you enjoyed it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean luc...
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2018
Merci beaucoup! Nous sommes tres heureux savoir que vous avez passé un bon séjour.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja H
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Danke schon! Patience + Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Est-Franc...
Belfort, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: le calme et la propreté
Liked least: rien du tout
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Merci beaucoup d'ecrire votre revue. Nous en sommes tres heureux.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Patience and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing