We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a beautifully old fashioned way”
Review of De La Gloire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De La Gloire
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Montargis
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is the second time I have been to this particular hotel. It has very comfortable rooms and a superb restaurant. After a very long drive from the south I was greatly looking forward to a meal here and the Michelin starred chef didn't disappoint. The welcome was warm and the restaurant service was top notch. It only loses out on five stars because the wifi, whilst free, was only available in the lobby area (though on my previous visit it was available in the room) and the breakfast was somewhat limited with little choice. I personally couldn't have it anyway, being a coeliac, but my partner was a bit disappointed. Also be aware that the private garage carries a 5 euro supplement. Overall, though, a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter which room you booked. Mine was on the second floor at the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Not many hotels in this area, we stayed with family members and booked two rooms on the second floor. They were very clean, spacious, free internet and very friendly staff. For a light breakfast included in the price, the accommodation was fantastic value and we would be happy to stay again. Right near the train station. Note that there is no lift. We only had overnight bags so was not a problem.

Room Tip: No lifts in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parisitaly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were being collected from montargis for our camping car. Found this place on trip advisor and everyone raved about the restaurant. The hotel staff are very friendly and speak some English. Rooms are spacious and suited us with 2 young children. Clean tidy and al you need for your stay
You must eat dinner at the restaurant will review separately

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lahoota1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I booked this for a friends 50th birthday present. The rooms are spotlessly clean, cheap and comfortable, the welcome professional yet friendly. The restaurant fantastic. Michelin star food for 44 euro and upwards is almost unheard of these days. An absolute gem of a place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We choose this hotel/restaurant solely on the strength of Tripadvisor's reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the one star Michelin restaurant (with a memorable cheese trolley) is worth a detour to Montargis alone. The hostesses were down to earth and charming. Parking in their garage was useful. Close to the train station and an easy 10 minute walk to the centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nous2ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

What a charming place.Excellent restaurant with gourmet food at reasonable prices.The owners and particularly a young lady who we feel sure was a daughter of the house were very friendly and indeed efficient.Rooms comfortable and very acceptable for rates charged

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrosulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed one night en route from Provence to Paris. Montargis is a quiet town and the Hôtel de la Gloire an excellent stopover.
The room was quite comfortable and my dinner in the Michelin-starred restaurant excellent. For 42 euros I had several choices for starter, main and dessert, with a cheese course included. This is a very good price, especially for the quality of the food. The cheese course as an included course is disappearing from French restaurants -- it's just too expensive. At the de la Gloire, they are proud of their local Loire Valley goat cheeses and eager for you to try them. They are quite wonderful.
The breakfast is a bit light (no buffet, but the old-fashioned approach with bread, pastries, jam and butter, and a drink) but overall both the hotel and the restaurant are good value and very comfortable. I also found the welcome to be especially warm.

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for a room on a lower floor if stairs are of concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geonev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montargis hotels
1.4 km away
Ibis Montargis
Ibis Montargis
#1 of 6 in Montargis
300 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Central Montargis
Hotel Central Montargis
#2 of 6 in Montargis
35 reviews
1.3 km away
Grand Hotel De France
Grand Hotel De France
#3 of 6 in Montargis
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Le Coche De Briare
Le Coche De Briare
#6 of 6 in Montargis
18 reviews
1.3 km away
Residence d'Artagnan
Residence d'Artagnan
#1 of 1 in Montargis
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De La Gloire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De La Gloire

Address: 74 avenue du General de Gaulle, 45200 Montargis, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loiret > Montargis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Montargis
Hotel Class:3 star — De La Gloire 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing