We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Kyriad disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kyriad Paris Sud - Porte d'Ivry
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ivry-sur-Seine
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Kyriad disaster”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were with a group of 30 and took 16 rooms for a 2 night stay in this disastrous Kyriad hotel Porte d'Ivry. Oh man, this was a bad experience.
The desk personnel is unfriendly and understaffed and only keeps in mind the hotel rules and not the wishes of the guests. Some examples: one couple had a baby and did not get access to the room, because one has to pay everything upfront and I , the group leader, had already left. It took an hour of discussions before they finally got access. The hotel requested for me to return although they had the number of my credit card! A group of 6 asked for drinks in the bar - that was indicated on the timetable as open, but where refused. A girl at breakfast wanted to take a croissant to her friend who was still in bed and who had paid for breakfast: forbidden. The last day we all had to pay 5 euro per piece of luggage (90 € in total) to put it in the cloakroom until departure late afternoon! Never heard of this kind of rip off before!
The rooms where small and badly maintained but clean. The corridors where smelly and dark and ugly. Also the location of the hotel is bad as you have to walk 10 minutes to the nearest metro station. One good point, we could take breakfast on the sunny terrace which was nice. Also the breakfast, for 10 Euro was OK.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karlvandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    155
    144
    68
    55
See reviews for
114
118
32
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We were doing a shoestring budget trip to Paris and this hotel offered us 3 nights for what would be the equivalent price of one night in very central Paris. It is on the outskirts of central Paris hence the cheap price. The rooms are compact but very clean and very comfortable and modern. We did find the hotel and room very hot and the air con not very good so we had to keep our window open. This may be a problem with noise for some as it is next to the ring road of Paris so it was loud but we didn't mind, also the windows are excellent at blocking out any noise from the main road when you close them. You should be aware that the hotel is located a short walk down a very lonely street and I wouldn't walk it alone however we didn't see or hear of any crime so it wasn't a problem for us as a couple. The nearest metro is a 5 minute walk and quickly gets you to the centre and all of the tourist places. The staff were like in any other hotel I've ever stayed in, some were very nice and helpful, others indifferent. Overall we were very happy with our choice and would stay here again and would recommend to our friends. If you want a fancy boutique parisien hotel go elsewhere and spend much more, if you want a clean, comfortable and secure hotel and are prepared to travel on the metro then this is a great choice. Also there is a nice little community close by for restaurants, bakery etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the motor way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalieison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is in a terrible location, residential. Right next to the entrance to a motorway. Nothing good in the area.
Had a twin share hotel (2 single beds) and was staying there as part of a Contiki tour. The room was incredibly small. Had to try to move the beds apart so we weren't sleeping together, which was almost impossible to do.
There was so much noise from every one that walked past in the hallways and the only window in the entire room was the size of a 14 inch tv!
Wi-fi in all parts of the hotel hardly ever worked (probably 1 day out of 3).
Lovely fresh croissants every morning and hot chocolates from the coffee machine were the best things about this hotel.
One particular receptionist was very rude and unpleasant to everyone.
House keeping staff were very friendly and always a pleasure to pass in the hallways.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nes005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ivry-sur-Seine hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel last weekend for two nights, The hotel looked okay from the outside, and lobby was nice and clean. Rooms were great, I had a twin room with a very comfertble bed. There was a nice LCD tv on the wall with heaps of channels and a working desk. Buffet was served downstairs which was lovely with a great breakfast of croissants, fruit and cereals.
The Staff were very nice and always smiling. WIFI was also free which is a bonus!. Location wise it was still a bit of a drive out from the centre of Paris where Eiffel tower or Champes Elysee.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have better view overlooking paris
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chlobo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furth bei Landshut, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed at Kyriad Porte d'Ivry for one night during a business trip in November 2011. Needed to pick this one because it is usually tough to get a room in Paris, and this trip was especially short noticed. The room rate was 130€ without breakfast (discounted company rate) for a room of approx. 10m². That is definitely expensive, but then again it is Paris which is known for being overpriced.

The location of the hotel is, uhm, quite urban and well connected regarding traffic, with one of the major motorways (Boulevard Périphérique) passing by the hotel - but it something like 13th arrondissement, so still some way to the "heart of Paris" (Tour Eiffel, etc.).

I checked in late (10pm) and was told that the hotel staff could not cater for any food anymore since the restaurant would close soon. A bottled beer was still possible, but you could feel the staff's general annoyance about clients and their calls for service.
The room itself was on a higher floor (4th?), was rather clean with a great view of the motorway and noisy ventilation. Windows were well noise insulated so that you could find sleep despite of the traffic outside.

Overall, this place provides a shelter for the night in case you really need one.
If you come for business and this would be your only option to stay, consider flying in and out on the same day - might be the better AND cheaper option.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sascha1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Located in 13th arrondissement, this hotel is on a major highway and not near the city center. BUT, on other side of highway is huge "China Town" area with excellent cafes and stores/markets. Near the hotel is a charming neighborhood area with historic windmill that has recently been improved with fountains and outdoor seating. Metro lines are about 5 min. walk and you are in city center in 15 min. As with any hotel I've visited in France, the staff can't be called charming. However, all were helpful and the property is well managed. They seem to do a lot of business with large groups. There is a bar and a breakfast area. Rooms were decent and clean. We paid about 25% of the price of hotels in city center, so consider this property an excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLRomantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Overall, this hotel was nothing special, I came with a large group of people and they all felt the same. The surroundings of the hotel was like a building site and there was pollution everywhere I looked. It took ages to be told which room we were in which I found rude, especially when they knew we had a 7 hour coach journey to get there. When we finally got to our rooms, in every bathroom the shower was covered in hairs, which is extremely disgusting as I'm sure most people will agree. At night, the receptionists would constantly complain about the noise we were making, even when we were just walking across the corridor. On the second night, people who we didn't know that were clearly overly drunk, we're shouting along the corridor and knocking on all of our doors and then when we complained they didn't believe us. The meat in the hotel's resturant was pink, and 2 of the people I was there with got food poisoning, also most of the food was cold. There were a few nice things about the hotel aswell, like the staff in the hotels restaurant were absolutely lovely! The man that served us was making jokes and checking every now and again if we were ok, and the food came as quick as a flash. Other than the hairs in the room, the hotel was quite clean, the rooms were cramped but acceptable, but I probably wouldn't stay there again and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lukishia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivry-sur-Seine
0.8 km away
B&B Hotel Paris Italie Porte de Choisy
1.7 km away
Adagio Access Paris Quai d Ivry
Adagio Access Paris Quai d Ivry
#5 of 7 in Ivry-sur-Seine
378 reviews
1.3 km away
Campanile Paris Sud - Porte D'Italie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lodge In Mis
Lodge In Mis
#1,019 of 1,798 in Paris
310 reviews
1.4 km away
Apogia Paris
Apogia Paris
#2 of 7 in Ivry-sur-Seine
208 reviews
9.8 km away
Hotel Median Paris Congres
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,213 of 1,798 in Paris
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Paris Sud - Porte d'Ivry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Paris Sud - Porte d'Ivry

Property: Kyriad Paris Sud - Porte d'Ivry
Address: 1 A 11 Rue Rene Villars, 94200 Ivry-sur-Seine, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Val-de-Marne > Ivry-sur-Seine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ivry-sur-Seine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Paris Sud - Porte d'Ivry 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyriad Paris Sud - Porte d'Ivry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Porte d`Ivry Paris Hotel Ivry-Sur-Seine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing