We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“old furniture, tricky receptionists who have deals with taxi drivers” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“old furniture, tricky receptionists who have deals with taxi drivers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

This hotel is equipped with very old furniture, it needs a renovation very urgently!! Apart from that, the room was really dirty and not cosy at all. Some receptionists were really kind and helpful; however, others have a deal with taxi driver and once you asked them to call a ataxi for you, they call a specific one for which you may wait even half an hour and then give youa very high rate becaus ethe receptionist gets commision on that. It's very far from the city centre, but has quite a good connection. I will for sure not come back again and I would definitely not recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    26
    44
    44
    96
See reviews for
41
51
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just stayed at this hotel and would definitely stay again. I had read some bad reviews about it before we left and I was a little anxious. I shouldn't have bothered worrying myself. The person who described it as 'one step up from a Hostel' has obviously never stayed in a Hostel. The hotel is clean, serviceable and very handy for the Metro. The staff were helpful and the rooms were basic but clean. The towels were changed daily. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room as well as a TV (at no extra charge) and free wi-fi. We found the breakfast more than adequate, but then we are used to continental breakfasts. The restaurant wasn't opened in the evening (don't know about lunchtime as we were sightseeing) but there is a lovely wee Italian restaurant that we enjoyed just a 5min walk away. The hotel is in a predominately black area but we encountered no problems at all and at no time did we feel intimidated, even late at night. Do be warned that, off season, there are very few eateries open after 8pm. The Metro is literally outside the hotel, the downside of this is that we didn't explore this part of St Denis as much as we might have.

We did get lost getting there but that was because we took a wrong turn as we were walking from the RER station at the Stade de France. We should have done our homework a bit better and we would have known that we could have got the 239, 235 or 153 bus from the bus stops outside the station (same side of road) and we would have been there in 10mins. The bus stops right outside the hotel. We got the 239 for our return journey so I know for sure that it takes you from A to B.

There is a market in the square and surrounding streets next to the hotel Friday's and Sundays. It's hectic but there are some good buys to be found.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trouper9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pom in Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I booked a triple room with 3 beds, arrived to a room with 2 beds, offered to exchange room for one with a double and a single bed. This was not acceptable as I was travlling with my daughter and her cousin (both 18years old). They then gave me 2 more rooms to look at, both had only 2 beds. After I refused to allow him to put another bed in our room which was already just big enough for the girls suitcases, they compromised and let me have another twin room which was probably the highlight of our stay.
I had a coupon from Octopus travel to say my room was paid for. The hotel said this was not enough and demanded I pay again and they would re-imburse me. I refused so I then had to go on to my email account and then onto my on-line banking account to show that the money had been paid to Octopus travel (thank god they had wifi). This Hotel is situated in the heart of the African-French community but we did find it very easy to get around as the Metro is adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank pippym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Denis hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

DON'T STAY HERE. As soon as we arrived in the area we had decided to find another hotel as we felt uneasy. While trying to find somewhere to park, our car was smash and grabed, we lost 2 handbags with everything in it, thankfully the third person with us still had hers and our passports were not in them or we would have been totaly stranded. The Police were excellent as was the hotel manager who found us a hotel on our route home. The rooms were not the best and no signs to their carpark which was underground. We did not stay, leaving with widow smashed as soon as we could.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norlyght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

We have checked-in 2 rooms by Campanile Paris Saint-Denis on 07 April and checked-out on 09 April 2011.

After VISA payment we realised that we wouldl not take breakfast in the hotel. The receptionist told us that the additional breakfast cost of €9 per person would be reimbursed together with the CASH guarantee of hair-dryer €20 when we would check-out.

On the day of check-out, the receptionist told us that the CASH BOX was closed (what a coincident) and he said that Campanile would reimburse us ??? Strange that he didn't mention how he's going to reimburse us, so I wrote down our details again for every possible modes of REFUND : our names, room numbers, address (in case that they would ever send a cheque), IBAN account number (if they would do a bank transfer). They could also reimburse directly back into VISA account or PAYPAL account ...

Believe me, speaking French and living 200 Km from Paris won't encourage them to send the payment, but at least you could understand the excuses that they used. It seems that Campanile wants to keep the money till next time we stay in the hotel again. What an excellent inspiration of marketing strategy.

We need an invoice so we wrote to them still twice via email but never get a reply. The reimbursement is not much but it's the principle, a simple reply would be much appreciated. What a service !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tainea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

This hotel is located near the St Denis Metro ( Line 13) which offers connectivity to La Chapelle which is a pararell station to Paris Nord. The last station on the line is St Denis University

This is the second station on the long distance train network from Paris Nord and then the 3rd tram stop and a short walk to reach the station. This is located very close to the Hotel De-ville.

The structure of the hotel is strange and is a elongated curve to save space possibly
Rack Rates are between 100-125 E depending on the season.
Located next to the St Denis Basilica which is a major tourist attaraction
Internet access is free. Reception provides the login : Room 9000 / PW : ALEXANDRE
Macdonalds and KFC are located within a 5 minutes walk
Carrefour also has an outlet in front of the hotel
The reception staff speak mainly in French but were polite.
The surrounding area seems to be lower middle class and ethnic minorites
Breakfast is complimentary. Choice is limited and there were no eggs
The carpets were frayed and needs replacement
There was also smell emanating from the bathroom possibly to a blocked drainage

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mthomasind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

My young adult daughter arrived with a few friends for Spring Break in Paris. We had pre-paid 8 days, and after first arriving felt unsafe. They got out of there the day after -- thank God.

A few days after they left a MURDER occurred right at the front of this hotel!!!

Do NOT Stay here....it is located in what is called a No Go zone, where even the police are nervous about going to the area!

My mistake -- prepaying! They had a 'special rate' which is No Refunds or Cancellations, thought I was getting a special discount. I'm still trying to get money back for all the nights they abandoned their stay for safety reasons! There must be some law that says if you make a reservation, that it must be reasonably safe...

Protect yourselves and your loved ones....don't go near this place!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Denis hotels
2.0 km away
B&B Hotel Paris Saint Denis Pleyel
1.5 km away
Novotel Suites Paris Stade de France
1.6 km away
Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Novotel Paris Saint Denis Stade Basilique
1.3 km away
Ibis Saint-Denis Stade Ouest
Ibis Saint-Denis Stade Ouest
#5 of 17 in Saint-Denis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.8 km away
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
#4 of 17 in Saint-Denis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade

Property: Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade
Address: 14 rue Jean Jaures, 93200 Saint-Denis, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Saint-Denis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Paris - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade Hotel Saint-Denis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing