We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful holiday”
Review of Camping Le Soleil

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Argeles-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Le Soleil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Just returned from Le Soleil after a wonderful holiday,we appreciated the improvements made to the camp. Thankyou Jacques,Anna, Jacques jnr, Bridgette in reception,your hard work makes our holiday all the more enjoyable even after 24 visits we shall return again next year .Fond memories of great times with the friends we have made along the way.

Room Tip: This a campsite first and foremost not hotel complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriandunwerkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We had our first family holiday abroad in La Chappell campsite, we had picked this because it had a kids club and was a medium size. The location was in the small villages of Argeles Palage, which is right on the coast. We had a two bedroom mobile home ( with the four of us it was a little small, but with the use of the veranda it was ok, but would book a slightly bigger one next time). The amenities were good, the swimming complex was excellent with a number of life guards on duty at all times, the kids loved it. The Kids club was really great, while the ammenities could be improved the attitude of the staff was fantastic, boy our boys (6 and 4) enjoyed going for 2 hours in the morning and again in the afternoon (they also did babysitting which was great for me and my wife to get out for a night or two. The evening entertainment was a little basic on the camp, but given the locality of the town/beach this was not a real problem. We flew into Perpignan with aer lingus and got a return transfer for about of 150 euro (Sun transfers) they were waiting when we arrived and turned up on time on the day of departure, were very helpful (worth the money). You can hire a car, but given the locality and public transport I felt this would be a waste of money. Overall we had a great holiday, kids loved it and me and my wife had a good break, we will go to another site next year. Now you can fly with Ryanair to Carcassonne which might save a few quid on the flights but the transfer would be a little longer

Room Tip: There are plenty of boat trips to hire and lots of competition, so shop around on the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jarchbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed end of June and had untypical bad weather which did have a bad effect on our stay. Eurocamp espirit mobile was dated and sites very close together. Very good pool and slides and site spotless and very well serviced with restaurant bar etc. Hired bikes and cycled to Argeles which was lovely with a great choice of restaurants. Only real problem was noise from Luna Park, we are regular campers so know it won't all be perfect but unfortunately we wouldn't go back because of the noise. If you can stand the noise very nice park.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Had been much looking forward to our first stay at a Eurocamp in a caravan/chalet unit, but poor standards, an overcrowded site and rotten customer service turned it into a never to be repeated experience!

Things you might want to know:

- the Eurocamp welcome is appalling. There is no welcome pack whatsoever so you have to buy all the basics. Total penny pinching given how much it costs to stay

- after paying over £30 for sheets and pillowcases etc. they don't even make up the beds with these in advance

- we arrived fairly late and looked forward to a first evening BBQ and bought all the meat etc for that. Then couldn't get the BBQ to light (it turns out that you can't just go by the instructions on the BBQ, you also need to find a notice on a wall inside the caravan that it is easy to miss). Eurocamp reception class closed at 7pm and shop at 8.30pm, so no chance for a plan B meal except to grill. Then turned out that there was no grill pan or baking tray so couldn't do. Plan C ended up as takeaway - which involved a 75 mins queue and wait on a Saturday night and the kids eating at 10.30pm. Lovely start to the holiday!

- When we complained to Eurocamp we were simply told (and at times it felt like told off!) that we should have rung what they described as their emergency number. That felt like something for medical emergencies etc not a missing grill pan, and they didn't seem to twig that, took a long time to apologise and offered no compensation whatsoever for all the extra take away cost.

- caravan came complete with a mucky stained seat cover and broken blind. A (helpful) kids club rep who came round and saw said she would report these but nothing happened afterwards. Not badly configured given the limited space, but toilet and bathroom sink annoyingly at opposite ends of the caravan

- equipment levels are poor despite being described as 'fully equipped'. No toaster, baking tray, or oven gloves. So although you have an oven not easy to use it on practice. They say they will try and get you anything else you need, but we asked for a toaster but were told they couldn't get one.

- the site is very big, with few entry points, so the beach access isn't as quick or easy as you would hope. The beach itself is sandy/gravelly and behind dunes and part of a very long straight stretch of sand. OK but not special; rubbish snorkelling.

- it's quite close to The Luna Park fun fair behind the site, which is open evenings from 8.30pm to 1.00am in the early hours. Unfortunately you get all the noise from the fair but a very quick or easy access to it - there's just a winding narrow path through woods from near the Eurocamp entrance - pitch black with poo hazards and no direction signs once you're on it so take a torch! The fair is pretty good though and a range of other daytime adventure attractions next to it - go kart track, water slides, treetop go ape thing, etc

- site pool is quite nice and had a big deep area that is good for swimming (but beware where non swimming kids go). Two water slides but both much smaller than we'd guessed from the pictures. Qs not too bad as nobody managing the slides. The pool area is crowded though and hard to get a lounger. And beware blokes, you have to wear speedo style swim trunks!

- you can get bike hire from a nice guy who is no site only from 9-10am. Not great bikes or many of them so go early. Few helmets either. It's nearly all off cycle route to Argele sur mer port, and a short road stretch (walkable) to Le Racou. If you're a confident road cyclist who's ok with hills it's a quite short ride to Collioure too which is a really special place to see.

- walk to centre of Argeles Sur Mer us about 2 miles, and takes 45 mins plus via the nice tree lined nice path/cycleway, or longer along the beach.

- quite a lot of other activities on site but a bit unclear what comes for free

- shop is ok and sells most things, including fresh bread each morning

- take away does quite a range of meals too, including pizza. About 10 euros for those. Catalan one is fab if you like anchovies! But it is a very long wait on a Saturday night.

- while place felt super-busy and the camping was packed together festival style

If you were coming with a company other than Eurocamp and don't mind crowds it might be better. But our experience was awful. It could have been so much better with half decent customer service and a few helpful touches but we'll never come again and wouldn't recommend Eurocamp to anybody now.




Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank RoganJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Le Soleil in June 2016 and returned this year with friends. We had two Tautavel vans near the football pitches. It was great to be able to get vans beside each other as we shared the cooking and our kids could play in the garden. However it wasn't that easy to organise - it wasn't that easy to communicate with the office when booking but we got there in the end.
We had 3 kids each, so 6 in total from age 7 to 1 and they all had a great time. The pool is amazing and I really liked the new layout of the path/rocks near the slides. The playground is great as is the beach. The shop on site is really handy and is ok for price but we did most shopping in Argeles in the hypermarche. My daughter loved the le soleil kids camp, it was perfect for her. My boys are 5 are were really upset they couldn't go. I didn't realise it starts at age 6. The night time entertainment is good, the disco night and quiz nights are the best ones. The karaoke isn't great, avoid :-)
We made some great friends are we all hope to return next year.
My only complaint - the fitness class is really loud. It starts at 9am and woke us every single morning which is a bit annoying. It's the kind of music you won't sleep through!!
If there was some way to reduce the noise on those vans opposite...I wouldn't stay in that van again.
Otherwise it was a perfect location as the kids like to be near the playground and football pitches.
That said, the fitness class is really good and worth going to. As is the aqua fitness. I love the small feel of this campsite. Very friendly

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tkelly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques M, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your holidays with us and the facilities on site. However and for security and responsibility matters, children under 6 can't indeed join the kids club. Yet there are a few activities open to all.

We will try to adapt the classes to the surroundings, thank you for pointing it.

We'll be really happy to see you here again next year!

Yours Sincerely,
Jacques Miquel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We came here for 7 nights in July with two other families from home.

We really enjoyed the camp site, particularly the great kids club and swimming pool. The bars were good too, for snacks and for drinks in the evening. The evening entertainment was generally horrendous, but in a quite hilarious way- this was fine as a large group together and we embraced in and joined in with it all;but I think as a lone family would have been really hard work. There was only one option during the evenings so you had to just embrace the cheesiness of it all to make the most out of your break. Fine after a couple of bottles of wine!

The pool is absolutely brilliant for the children, there is so much to keep them occupied and there are lots of sunloungers- we managed to get some every day we visited the pool.

The beach is a short walk away, the town is too far to walk with children but the little train from the end of the road can be used by those who prefer not to use a car.

The areas that were disappointing were how rammed in the caravans were to each other, we literally had to close every blind in the van as were overlooked closely from every angle. The other thing that I really didn't like was how much dog poo there was around the site and also litter that were left for more than 24 hours, there seemed to be very few site staff helping to maintain the park.

I would definitely go back to this site again in the future.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques M, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you enjoy your time at our campsite, and hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely Yours,

Jacques Miquel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We stayed in an Esprit 6 berth caravan. It was OK with air con but pretty small. The resort is OK, with a decent pool area, decent shop, OK takeaway and restaurant and decent shower blocks. The beach is close by with a good area to hire beds and get drinks for a reasonable price. The sunbeds get taken quickly at the pool. The town (centre plage) is about a 40min walk away. There is a train system going back and forth which is good but gets crowded. There are lots of shops there (touristy but OK) and lots of restaurants. There's a lot of buzz in the evening.

We paid £200 for airport transfers through Eurocamp. We found a lot better company locally. £120 return trip.
David Watrelot - minibus voyages.
Tel: 0782911653 - 0647539288
He spoke English and was really nice. He has a website and email address but I can't post here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank JimWood1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques M, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving this review.

We hope you enjoyed your time here.

Yours Sincerely,
Jacques Miquel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
3.4 km away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
523 reviews
3.9 km away
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argeles
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argele...
#7 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
623 reviews
1.6 km away
Grand Hotel du Lido
Grand Hotel du Lido
#9 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
#4 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
906 reviews
3.0 km away
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
#20 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
432 reviews
0.9 km away
Camping Del Mar
Camping Del Mar
#11 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Le Soleil

Address: route du Littoral | 66702, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Argeles-sur-Mer
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Le Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Also Known As:
Camping Le Soleil Hotel Argeles-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing