We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Site With Full Facilities”
Review of Camping Le Soleil

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Argeles-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Le Soleil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Fabulous, helpful reception staff. Staying in our caravan here towards the end of their season. Lovely clean facilities, plenty of hot water. Direct access to a lovely golden sand beach with mountain views. About 1/12 miles into the centre of Argeles, you can walk it along the beach but it takes 11/2 hours in the soft sand. Free entertainment each evening and animation during the day. Laundry and car wash on site. There is a small supermarket on site but at this time of year the stock is understandably somewhat depleted. Large pitches, eady access.
A lovly large quiet site, our second visit we will be back again next year.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rumba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

Really lovely site. Pool is clean and interesting with plenty of beds. Eurocamp representatives were unfortunately never around and very uninformed about the site and the surrounding area. This is not the hosting we have enjoyed on previous holidays and the welcoming information eases a holiday maker into their experience. We arrived late evening and weren't even directed adequately to areas of the site so we weren't even aware there was a bar that would still be open. The attitude was very 'get on with it'. The restaurant on site is horrendous. Very stressed staff and we were charged 15 euros for very poor egg and chips simply because it was 'off menu' as my partner has food allergies. The beach is beautiful but a little trek from the site. It would have been nice to have been given information about local transport. The main desk and the eurocamp representative just plugged the trainbus. We were told on the bus that we should have bought tickets at reception and so were charged 7 euros each which was extortionate. When we reported this to the staff at the reception they then 'remembered' we could have bought tickets cheaper at the newspaper kiosk which was rarely open. Basically the site is lots of separate companies with no connection so don't expect to be able to find out anything by asking, you have to go round asking for yourself which wastes valuable holiday time. There is a local 1 euro bus that takes you anywhere locally but we weren't told about this, we were instead actually advised to get the train bus to town and then a boat to Collioure, which again is very expensive. Eurocamp reps didn't answer texts or respond to the written requests so we had to call them. They also had no clue about evening entertainment and said it was nothing to do with them. All they needed to do with a bit of effort is get a printed sheet from reception to display in the eurocamp office. This would be most helpful for new people arriving as it takes a few days to become oriented with the site and to make the most of it. The entertainment was very good and varied. My partner had a nasty burn on his wrist from the kettle because the lid fell off whilst pouring. The kitchen utensils were very under stocked and we had to use a bread knife to cut vege until asking for a paring knife. However, the site itself and area is great and if we return we have spent a week finding out all the vital information of the area to actually fully enjoy our next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EnfysJones65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We have been travelling to France for many years now, but this was the first time we have stayed at Le Soleil. The entrance to site is very nice as you drive over a little bridge, however when we told where our mobile home was by Eurocamp (not taken there as we have been previously), we were a little disappointed when we eventually found it. Our pitch was not very good and our caravan was a little tired. Our children then started to compare it with the other campsite we usually go to. The other pitches seemed much better and I think we were just unlucky. Once we got out and about the site though, we were presently surprised. The pools are amazing and warm, this meant that for the first time in years I was happy to swim with the kids. The entertainment area and playground/sports areas for fantastic too. The entertainment was also a lot better than previously campsites. The eurocamp kids club were disappointing, My son only went a couple of times because he felt too old (he is 11) and my daughter was told that as there weren't any other 13 years old in the older kids clubs she was probably better not going! Most of the reason for booking this site was because of the kids clubs and the opportunity to make friends. That aside my son made lots of friends at the football courts, but my daughter was not so lucky. This site is well placed for the town of Argeles Sur Mer and you could get a little train/bus into the town. The town is full of restaurants, bars and shops. Coulliere which is about 15 mins drive away is stunning and well worth a day out. The site also 5 minutes from Aqualand and so we visited twice. The shop is not great, but you can get the basics. There is wine stall about 5 mins drive away where you can get wine from the cask really cheap, there is also a bakers and chemist. About 10 mins drive is a massive Intermarche, but this was manic on the day we went, so we drove to the little Carrefour in the old town. I will definitely return, although I have promised the children that we will return to our favourite campsite next time p.s. we didn't have a problem with noise from the fairground, just our neighbours!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank izzyjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Just returned from Le Soleil after a wonderful holiday,we appreciated the improvements made to the camp. Thankyou Jacques,Anna, Jacques jnr, Bridgette in reception,your hard work makes our holiday all the more enjoyable even after 24 visits we shall return again next year .Fond memories of great times with the friends we have made along the way.

Room Tip: This a campsite first and foremost not hotel complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriandunwerkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We had our first family holiday abroad in La Chappell campsite, we had picked this because it had a kids club and was a medium size. The location was in the small villages of Argeles Palage, which is right on the coast. We had a two bedroom mobile home ( with the four of us it was a little small, but with the use of the veranda it was ok, but would book a slightly bigger one next time). The amenities were good, the swimming complex was excellent with a number of life guards on duty at all times, the kids loved it. The Kids club was really great, while the ammenities could be improved the attitude of the staff was fantastic, boy our boys (6 and 4) enjoyed going for 2 hours in the morning and again in the afternoon (they also did babysitting which was great for me and my wife to get out for a night or two. The evening entertainment was a little basic on the camp, but given the locality of the town/beach this was not a real problem. We flew into Perpignan with aer lingus and got a return transfer for about of 150 euro (Sun transfers) they were waiting when we arrived and turned up on time on the day of departure, were very helpful (worth the money). You can hire a car, but given the locality and public transport I felt this would be a waste of money. Overall we had a great holiday, kids loved it and me and my wife had a good break, we will go to another site next year. Now you can fly with Ryanair to Carcassonne which might save a few quid on the flights but the transfer would be a little longer

Room Tip: There are plenty of boat trips to hire and lots of competition, so shop around on the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jarchbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed end of June and had untypical bad weather which did have a bad effect on our stay. Eurocamp espirit mobile was dated and sites very close together. Very good pool and slides and site spotless and very well serviced with restaurant bar etc. Hired bikes and cycled to Argeles which was lovely with a great choice of restaurants. Only real problem was noise from Luna Park, we are regular campers so know it won't all be perfect but unfortunately we wouldn't go back because of the noise. If you can stand the noise very nice park.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Had been much looking forward to our first stay at a Eurocamp in a caravan/chalet unit, but poor standards, an overcrowded site and rotten customer service turned it into a never to be repeated experience!

Things you might want to know:

- the Eurocamp welcome is appalling. There is no welcome pack whatsoever so you have to buy all the basics. Total penny pinching given how much it costs to stay

- after paying over £30 for sheets and pillowcases etc. they don't even make up the beds with these in advance

- we arrived fairly late and looked forward to a first evening BBQ and bought all the meat etc for that. Then couldn't get the BBQ to light (it turns out that you can't just go by the instructions on the BBQ, you also need to find a notice on a wall inside the caravan that it is easy to miss). Eurocamp reception class closed at 7pm and shop at 8.30pm, so no chance for a plan B meal except to grill. Then turned out that there was no grill pan or baking tray so couldn't do. Plan C ended up as takeaway - which involved a 75 mins queue and wait on a Saturday night and the kids eating at 10.30pm. Lovely start to the holiday!

- When we complained to Eurocamp we were simply told (and at times it felt like told off!) that we should have rung what they described as their emergency number. That felt like something for medical emergencies etc not a missing grill pan, and they didn't seem to twig that, took a long time to apologise and offered no compensation whatsoever for all the extra take away cost.

- caravan came complete with a mucky stained seat cover and broken blind. A (helpful) kids club rep who came round and saw said she would report these but nothing happened afterwards. Not badly configured given the limited space, but toilet and bathroom sink annoyingly at opposite ends of the caravan

- equipment levels are poor despite being described as 'fully equipped'. No toaster, baking tray, or oven gloves. So although you have an oven not easy to use it on practice. They say they will try and get you anything else you need, but we asked for a toaster but were told they couldn't get one.

- the site is very big, with few entry points, so the beach access isn't as quick or easy as you would hope. The beach itself is sandy/gravelly and behind dunes and part of a very long straight stretch of sand. OK but not special; rubbish snorkelling.

- it's quite close to The Luna Park fun fair behind the site, which is open evenings from 8.30pm to 1.00am in the early hours. Unfortunately you get all the noise from the fair but a very quick or easy access to it - there's just a winding narrow path through woods from near the Eurocamp entrance - pitch black with poo hazards and no direction signs once you're on it so take a torch! The fair is pretty good though and a range of other daytime adventure attractions next to it - go kart track, water slides, treetop go ape thing, etc

- site pool is quite nice and had a big deep area that is good for swimming (but beware where non swimming kids go). Two water slides but both much smaller than we'd guessed from the pictures. Qs not too bad as nobody managing the slides. The pool area is crowded though and hard to get a lounger. And beware blokes, you have to wear speedo style swim trunks!

- you can get bike hire from a nice guy who is no site only from 9-10am. Not great bikes or many of them so go early. Few helmets either. It's nearly all off cycle route to Argele sur mer port, and a short road stretch (walkable) to Le Racou. If you're a confident road cyclist who's ok with hills it's a quite short ride to Collioure too which is a really special place to see.

- walk to centre of Argeles Sur Mer us about 2 miles, and takes 45 mins plus via the nice tree lined nice path/cycleway, or longer along the beach.

- quite a lot of other activities on site but a bit unclear what comes for free

- shop is ok and sells most things, including fresh bread each morning

- take away does quite a range of meals too, including pizza. About 10 euros for those. Catalan one is fab if you like anchovies! But it is a very long wait on a Saturday night.

- while place felt super-busy and the camping was packed together festival style

If you were coming with a company other than Eurocamp and don't mind crowds it might be better. But our experience was awful. It could have been so much better with half decent customer service and a few helpful touches but we'll never come again and wouldn't recommend Eurocamp to anybody now.




Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank RoganJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
5 km away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
589 reviews
2.1 km away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#4 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
154 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Acajou
Hotel Acajou
#6 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
#4 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
911 reviews
2.3 km away
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
#12 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
176 reviews
1.5 km away
Le Mediterranee Argeles
Le Mediterranee Argeles
#22 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Le Soleil

Address: route du Littoral | 66702, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Argeles-sur-Mer
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Le Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Also Known As:
Camping Le Soleil Hotel Argeles-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing