We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive disappointment”
Review of Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Europe
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in La Grande-Motte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2017

First of all I really need to mention the front of house staff is very helpful and pleasant. The location is very central and was great to catch an Uber to go to Montpellier or even short distance to the beach (beautiful pine tree on the way)...

However, the hotel is completely overrated, so pricey for what it has to offer. No towels upon arrival, had to beg twice to get them. Our carpet in the bedroom was covered in long blonde hair. I had to ask for someone to vacuum the floor (??), and last but not the least, I found out a shoe print on my pillow case (all of these have been shown to front of house, yet I do not feel like posting the pictures). In all situations they fixed it. They were brilliant for sure, but I do believe the owners should invest the money they profit to update the hotel... You should have very low expectations when staying there, sad but true...

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Romuald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The reception staff were all very friendly and spoke English when our attempts at French weren't great! The decoration in the rooms is retro, a 60s/70s kind of style, which is unusual but okay. Our room was on the first floor, we'd booked the ground floor as I think it was cheaper but got the first floor which was nice. It didn't have a balcony although some of the rooms (at the front of the hotel) do, overlooking the pool. We were at the back which overlooks a large car park, there are trees etc too so it's fine.
The bathroom had been recently upgraded and was lovely- clean, smart, nice fittings, good large shower. The room had a fridge although no kettle. It had aircon which worked well and we slept brilliantly all 4 nights, we didn't really hear any noise from inside or outside the hotel. The pool was lovely, it's small/medium sized and there isn't loads of room for sunbeds but there were about 12 round the pool and another 6 just off to the side in a lovely area. We had the pool to ourselves a couple of times!
The location is good, about 10-15 minutes walk to the port, beach and restaurants. And 10 minutes to the supermarket and bakery. Just outside the hotel is a lovely park area with large pine trees and benches so we had a picnic lunch there a couple of times.
We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that, we tended to wander to the bakery and buy a croissant instead.
There didn't seem to be a bar but there is a machine with cold cans of soft drinks and beer plus chocolate bars so you can get the basics. And with a fridge in your room you can stock up from the supermarket.
Overall the style of the hotel is a bit dated but it was all very clean, the staff are friendly, the pool is lovely and the location is nice and quiet. We'd recommend it for a relaxing stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stamp6TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The room (we had number 2 in the basement) was kind of clean, but needed a makeover. The bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. It was not possible to use the toilet, tub or shower without entering the shower and opening/closing the door. Bed was good.
The hotel is app. 10 min. walking distance from the beach. You must make a separate reservation for a secure parking lot in advance - if you need one: 10 EUR/day.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sven272645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

I was there for a large boat show during "off peak" season. Even though it was off-peak every hotel was price gouging due to the show and this property was no different. So I was paying a high rate for a smaller room and the safe didn't work - but it was clean and comfortable. The staff was absolutely amazing and accommodating. By far the staff here was the highlight for me.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ChillTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Very friendly staff, clean and well kept facilities, great selection for breakfast. Room is nice and comfortable. Just a few blocks from the beach, the Marina, lots of restaurants, bakeries, bars around.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank L1613FSmartinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located very central in La Grande Motte. Ideal for going to beach or harbour.
The bathroom was nice and clean, bed is good and spacious. The carpet was a little bit dirty. WiFi was working but very slow... The pool is very, very small, the private parking was full (arrived around 17.00).

Overall, we expected to get more value for the money we paid.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Me and my friend stayed here for a conference nearby. La Grande-Motte is a quirky town with unique architecture. The hotel was close walking distance to the beach, shops, food etc (5-10 minutes max). The decor was very relaxing. All the staffs were smiling and helpful (an experience unfortunately not true for other hotels with French staff). The breakfast was good. Only minor issue was the wifi - it was spotty - only good near the reception. I hope they work on this issue

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank activanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Grande-Motte hotels
0.7 km away
Le Quetzal Hotel
Le Quetzal Hotel
#2 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
267 reviews
0.5 km away
Mercure La Grande Motte Port
Mercure La Grande Motte Port
#3 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
912 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Golf Hotel
Best Western Golf Hotel
#6 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Novotel La Grande Motte Golf
Novotel La Grande Motte Golf
#5 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
775 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#12 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
200 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Saint Clair
Hotel Saint Clair
#7 of 16 in La Grande-Motte
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe

Address: 335 allee des Parcs, 34280 La Grande-Motte, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > La Grande-Motte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in La Grande-Motte
Price Range: $90 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing