We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay in France! Incredible restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stay in France! Incredible restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at LePrieure during part of a 10 day trip through France including Nice, Avignon and Paris. While all the properties we selected were at least 4 star properties, our favorite place was Le Prieure! The grounds are so quiet, historic and charming and it is so different than the usual modern luxury norm. The room was surprisingly large even by American standards and comfortable and clean. The hotel was a great value!!!

But, the best thing of all? The Michelin starred chef and restaurant!!! We arrived from Nice late evening and sat down somewhat weary for a dinner at 9pm and found ourselves awakened by the most fabulous cuisine we experienced during the entire trip! We had the most outstanding 6-7 course meal of our stay (including Paris' famed Le Chateaubriand and Le Jules Verne in the Eiffel tower). Again the pricing was incredible for what you got! We only stayed two nights in the area and actually contemplated eating there again the next night!!

Something we also enjoyed was that our friendly bell boy ended up being our most knowledgeable waiter!! This is how intimate this place is!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    99
    20
    14
    6
See reviews for
67
234
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

stayed three nights between Xmas and new year. The grounds are reflective of the season but it looks quite abandoned. We were upgraded from junior suite to a very nice suite (64), the living room is large with comfortable and modern look, the bedroom was simple yet cosy, the bathroom is brand new and beautiful. However nobody from the staff has ever tried the shower there because the receiver does not drain properly and showering with water to your ankles is not fun.
The restaurant was excellent , the food refined, great attention to detail , but not real warmth or humor at diner (maybe they need to take themselves a little less seriously while keeping the quality up there), breakfast was less formal and delicious.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Pros

(1) Dinner was fantastic. About 60 euros for degustation menu by a one-star Michlin chef was great value. His cooking was fantastic. Better than more expensive restaurants in Paris. Wonderful sitting outdoors underneath the stars.
(2) Nice breakfast buffet
(3) Room was big
(4) Price was reasonable

Cons
(1) Building and grounds nothing to shout about

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

A very nice property in a charming village. Our late autumn visit was a perfect time to enjoy the area without crowds. Village is a nice walk from Avignon, but there is lots to see right in the village as well. Hotel services were great - and the room was fantastic. Hotel staff were very friendly. The restaurant was probably the best we have ever dined at in terms of quality. Wine steward and service were unparalleled. We chose to be surprised by the chef for dinner and it really added to the experience. The flavours were truly unique. Cannot wait until our next visit.

Room Tip: Consider a room with a terrasse / patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheExploringCanucks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Villeneuve is a 5 minutes from Avignon and has all the charm of a small town, which serves as a base to visit a very touristic city as Avignon and its surroundings’ villages. The hotel LE PRIEURÉ is a wonderful place to rest with its beautiful garden, large swimming pool a tennis court, a lovely and romantic place. In the summer you can enjoy a delicious breakfast buffet in the garden (try the delicious jams and natural honey) and, of course, a gourmet dinner with a great wine from Chatenueuf du Pape, my favorite.

If you cross the bridge EDUARD DELADIENE you will be in Avignon. You can park in any of the multiple sites along THE BOULEVARD DE L'OULLE, they are the best places to park in Avignon. From most of them you can see the bridge ST. BENEZET which linked Avignon and Villenueve in medieval time, and you can enter through the gates of the city to visit the Palace of the Popes and the rest of the city.

After breakfast you should not miss the food market every thursday, at the PLACE DAVID CHARLES, full of regional products like fresh cheeses, fruits, vegetables, salami, local olive paste call TAPENADE and much more. Early in the morning there are few people and around 11 am it is full of locals carrying a basket plenty of great food for lunch. On Saturday morning the market changes to antiques all day and many people from the surrounding towns takes a chance to find a wonderful antic piece of furniture to take home.

In Villenueve you can buy newspapers, magazines and maps at LA MAISON DE LA PRESSE on the main street - RUE DE LA REPUBLIQUE. There are two excellent boucheries, one at the beginning of the street and the other at number 41, in both of them you can find delicious pates, regional products, wine, succulent meat and juicy toasted chickens to take home. Also if you go to the end of the street with Rue POUZARAQUE you can find the Boutique Moulin a Huile with natural olive oil products like creams and soaps.

From the main square you can get to RUE DU FORT MONTEE and if you walk up to the end into ST ANDRE LE FORT, you could see a nice view of the river and Avignon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alkuino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had dinner there for my partners birthday. I was stoked the minute I walked in. The place was so beautiful especially the garden. The waiting staff were professional and helpful. The food and wine was amazing! We had a great night! My partner and I have been to many 5 star restaurants. I loved this one the most!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CockerBeachSavB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Very lovely hotel in all ways. The village is everything you hope a small village complete with butcher shops, boulangeries, may be like. A number of nice walkable restaurants. The hotel in more detail:.
From the decor to the desk personnel in particular Maud...to the grounds--there was not the slightest irritation. First class dining room. Refined and beautiful hotel. On sunday morning we could hear the music from the nearby church, while sitting on gravel stone patio looking at garden. Perfect.


I cannot express enough that the village is far lovelier than the city which has cigarette buts--tons of tourists. We lucked out when we could not get a reservation at hotel d europa and came to le prieure instead. I couldn't get out of the cuty fast enough both times we were there. I'd move to the village where le prieure is, forever.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rb818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve-les-Avignon
0.2 km away
Hotel de l'Atelier
Hotel de l'Atelier
#1 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
6.3 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
#5 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.8 km away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant

Property: Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Address: 7 Place du Chapitre, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing