We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, cosy, good value”
Review of Hotel Des Bains

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Des Bains
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Gerardmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We enjoyed our first stay in Gerardmer at this hotel at 280 eur for 4 nights (booked online). Quiet room (11) at the back,view over private parking, small but cosy with wooden mountain deco and GREAT modern shower! Very good breakfast too. 20 minutes drive from the La Bresse ski domains and within walking distance from town centre with its many restaurants. Yes, you can sometimes hear people walking about above and you occasionally get a whiff of cigarette smoke in the corridors but REALLY not an issue. I definitely recommend this hotel (in back room if you need peace and quiet)!

Room Tip: Back room with view over parking if you need a quiet room, otherwise I don't think the front str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel.

However we booked a superior room and we had a simple bath room with no tube and a small shower whereas other rooms of a lower category had at least a shower with hose and room of the same category had a tube. In addition water was not very warm.
There was a very nice chimney in the lobby but no one to light it up. A pity when all you dream is a nice fire after a cold winter day in the snow. They argued that they never use it although we could clearly see some ashes and some logs. A bit disappointing.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here 1 night on our way to Switzerland. Nice hotel, some parts of it look a bit tired, but it had a nice feeling. Our room was clean and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. The chap at reception spoke good English and was very helpful. Private car park round the back. No restaurant in the evening but reception offered plenty of suggestions of where to eat, we found a fantastic pizza place....
I'm sure during the ski season this place is really busy. All in all really good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krustr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

All positive experiences (room, private parking, breakfast), certainly the reception was handled very professional and kind. The only negative remark we can give is that isolation against noise from other rooms could be improved.

Room Tip: Comfort room has best price/quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel based on the glowing references from other tripadvisor travellers, but we obviously all have different standards. The hotel is good, but not great - that being said for Eur 92.50 per night you get what you pay for. Our room was situated at the front of the hotel and it was very noisy with revellers coming back from town in the wee hours meaning you do need ear plugs. The room had a sauna in it which we did not use and did seem to be a recent addition, however the rest of the room could do with updating, the bed was comfortable though. The bar closing before 9pm was a surprise, although there appeared to be enough bars in the main street which was a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nlbulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Hotel Good location; close to the lake and close to restaurants on the other side. The room we had was not very big but cosy and comfortable, The only thing missing was a small minibar in the room. It is a quiet hotel, the bar, which is very nice by the way, closes at nine. Breakfast was very good: a buffet with cold cuts, different kinds of bread, cereals, different kinds of fruit, also fresh fruitsalad, juices, bisquits, very good coffee or tea, hard boiled eggs, different kinds of yoghurt, all for 9€! The internet worked well and the owners and staff are very friendly. There's a parking behind the hotel. Will certainly go there again next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The hotel is in a great location not far from the centre of the town of Gerardmer. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly staff member and shown to our room on the third floor. The room was pleasantly decorated and quite small and there was also a small balcony. The bathroom had a bath with a hand held shower and a few toiletries provided. We found the room to be a bit noisy as we could hear people talking in the next room and people generally around the hotel in rooms above ours.You can also hear the traffic in the front. Luckily we brought our ear plugs with us. It is a popular family resort so there were lots of children about. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it wasn't included but there are some great restaurants nearby. There is also a secure car park which is locked at night and you need a code to open the gates and the hotel door at night. The hotel bar closed at 9pm but there are many bars in town. No British tv channels in the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 16 at the front of the hotel but found it a bit noisy. Maybe a higher floor would be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoondanceMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gerardmer hotels
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel & SPA de Gerardmer
0.3 km away
Hotel La Jamagne
Hotel La Jamagne
#3 of 18 in Gerardmer
283 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel La Reserve
Hotel La Reserve
#4 of 18 in Gerardmer
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel - Restaurant l'Echo du Lac & spa
0.2 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#15 of 18 in Gerardmer
142 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#14 of 18 in Gerardmer
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Bains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Bains

Address: 16 boulevard Adolphe Garnier, 88400 Gerardmer, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Vosges > Gerardmer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gerardmer
#4 Family Hotel in Gerardmer
Price Range: $95 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Des Bains 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Des Bains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Bains Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing