We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great disappointment”

Restaurant Klintholm
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Borre
Price range: US$21 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood, Danish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 16, 2017

To keep it short: this restaurant is located on a harbor, where there’s plenty of fishing boats coming back and forward. It is a lovely location, but IF YOU EXPECT TO EAT SOME OF THE FRESH FISH COMING FROM THE BOATS, YOU WILL BE GREATLY, GREATLY DISAPPOINTED.

Now, let’s proceed with some more order and details. This restaurant offers a fish menu both for lunch and dinner at an affordable price. The service is good and the waiters are kind. This restaurant has a nice terrace where you can sit and enjoy the view of the harbor.
Both the location in Klintholm Havn and the fish menu would suggest that you are going to eat fresh fish coming from the sea. Unfortunately, this is not the case. Not only the fish was clearly frozen or imported, but the quality of the fish itself is not that high. Honestly speaking, the fish was not really tasty and both my girlfriend and I could not avoid noticing there was no fish “of the season”. In addition, they only have (very tasty) Czech beer and not any local one (despite the presence of local breweries). This is just an observation, because the beer is quite good, but I find it a curious choice.
To be completely honest, I could not find written anywhere that the served fish is fresh, but I also guess that anyone who comes to eat here expects it to be so.

If it was for the disappointment and the quality of the food I would give one star. However, the beer was good, the starting soup was ok and the service fast. Also there is no mention of “fresh fish” anywhere (of course, the fact the fish is NOT fresh is not mentioned either).

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrmirr0rthedrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Based on a tip in a guidebook went to dinner here. Shouldn't have done that.

The positive things: terace outside has a lovely view. There is free wifi. Soup is decent.

The not so pleasant things: inside the place has no charme, it looks like a soldiers mess. No decorations, only white table and chairs.
The fish was mostly fried and none smoked fish on the menu.
The only beer was Czech (it was good), but I always like to drink a local beer.

When I am on vacation havind dinner in a restaurant, I want to be surprised by the cook. Here I thought I could easily do better.

Too bad, they easily could have made this a lovely place to enjoy eating. And to call yourself a smoked fish restaurant, when there is no smoked fish is misleading at least and unforgivenable.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2015

Fish restaurant with boring and badly cooked fish :o(
Environment is very modest and not cousy as it easily could have been.
Staff is too relaxed for my taste.

Date of visit: May 2015
2  Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2015

The restaurant is really simple in interior design and it's a buffet. There is a large variety of food: soup, different kind of fish and meat, salad.
me and my husband ate soup with mussels and mushrooms, fish ( salmon, code, and another two types I am not able to translate in English). All food was really good! And the view of the port from the restaurant is nice. Waiters kind and polite.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank billa_billa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2015

The restaurant does not look very charming from the outside. However, placed directly at the harbour and the water we went i, and the place is open, light and really okay.
There is buffets for lunch and dinner. We tried the one for lunch. It was great - a fine selection of fish (many heerings) and all was fresh and good.
There was also roastbeef and frikadeller for those who must have something more than fish.
The place was full. Service quite fine. A look to the harbour is charming. There is in- and outdoor servings.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Klynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Klintholm also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Klintholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing