We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for families with kids. Highly recommend”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Hamel Roger, the main farmhouse and Kestrel Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Hamel Roger, the main farmhouse and Kestrel Cottage.
Kestrel Cottage, attached to the main farmhouse Approaching the house and Kestrel Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Le Hamel Roger, the main farmhouse and Kestrel Cottage.
Kestrel Cottage, attached to the main farmhouse
Approaching the house and Kestrel Cottage
Lounge with log fire, UK & French TV, DVD, games, books & lots of comfy seating. Sofa bed.
Dining area/kitchen area
Kitchen
First floor twin room with wooden cot just out of view.
First floor double room.
Games room with Sofa Bed on the first floor landing area.
Top floor twin room with optional toddler bed.
Top floor double room.
The Play Loft
The dusty barn.
Table tennis holiday championships!!
Securely fenced solar heated swimming pool
4.5m pool.
Bon Appetit! There is a large wooden table just infront of the cottage.
Play equipment in the garden and fields beyond.
Behind the cottage
Marshmallow anyone? Campfire corner on the top of our hill.
Beautiful sunsets and starry skies.
The vine in the autumn with a reflection of the hill.
Beautiful in the Winter snow.
Explore a little or go for miles. Beginner to expert, miles of tracks on the doorstep.
Taken from the top of the dam at the Dathee Lake (30 minutes from us, a favourite place of ours!)
The beach at lake Dathee. The beach was made for the sailing school, you can hire pedalos & kayaks.
Souleurve Viaduct, 10 minutes away. The Luge is great for children from 3 years and adults.
Tree top adventure course at the Souleuvre Viaduct
Super scary stuff at the Viaduct! This swing (over 100kpm) highest fixed bungy in Europe & giant zip
Jurques Zoo, 5 minutes from us. Strong conservation theme and well kept animals.
Up close with the animals at the zoo.
Beautiful views. This was taken at a country park 40 minutes from here.
Adventure! Accrobranche 50 minutes from us.
Adventure for younger ones! Same place as the accrobranche.
Fun in the woods just a walk from the cottage.
Enjoy a day out at the Mont St Michel.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Vire-Normandie, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leighnevi...
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for families with kids. Highly recommend”
Reviewed September 2, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We travelled as a group - 2 single mums with 4 kids aged between 5 and 8. It was perfect...better than we expected. Loads of toys and outdoor activities for the kids on site. The attic playroom was gob-smacking! Garden is gorgeous. Hosts could not have been friendlier and their family are fab too! The location is very rural, which we loved. Our children enjoyed the daily trip to the bakery (we ate far too many strawberry tarts!). There is lots to do on days out within an easy drive too. The gite is very well equipped with everything you might need and really cosy and homely. Thoroughly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janey S
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Fabulous holiday memories made!”
Reviewed August 18, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our kids cried when we left this beautiful place we called home for two blissful weeks. Quiet and beautifully rustic, Kestrel Cottage did not disappoint. Angela, Danny and their family were brilliant hosts and couldn't do enough for us, I doubt we will ever find a place as special as this for our holidays. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review us, it was a pleasure to have you as neighbours and we look forward to welcoming you again. Happy memories for us too x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H
1 review
“Spacious gite with nice grounds and friendly hosts, great for the dogs”
Reviewed July 4, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A most enjoyable holiday. We were made to feel most welcome and the family were delightful. The grounds were lovely and enjoyed by all especially the dogs. Our grandson loved the toys especially in the play loft and dusty barn. Lots of places to visit within a car ride - a helpful booklet prepared by hosts gave very useful description of different attractions and how to get there.Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2018
Thanks for taking the time to review Sue. We wish you all the very best and hope to welcome you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6juhanas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Normandy is a great place!”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in July 2016

There were a lot to see and do in Normandy in general. We liked it very much.
Kestrel Cottage is located in very nice and peaceful scenery. The friendly host family lives in the same building than guests but spaces are different, separated by wall.
Excellent price and lots of space everywhere but if you are allergic, there might be a problem. A certain strong smell especially downstairs tells me something about hidden humidity problem in the structures. So be aware if you have problems with that issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
I'm pleased that you have lovely memories of beautiful space and the many things that there are to do around here almost two years after your holiday. You seem to have marked us so harshly because of a smell; there is no smell now so I really can have no idea, two years on, what the problem was. We've seen no sign of humidity issues and no-one has had any allergy problems. None of our many guests since (or before) have menioned such a smell and we are not aware of any problems. We are proud of what we offer and to receive a two star review is really disappointing. I will take heart from all the other happy holiday makers, many of whom return and recomend us to friends. I would urge any of our guests to please raise any concerns with us as soon as possible so that we can address them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kindle8
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant for young children”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very welcoming owners. Excellent facilities for young children, very user friendly. Good base for exploring locally. We have already recommended to several friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: facilities for young children
Liked least: wi-fi connection poor
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thanks for making the time to review us. We wish you all well and hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley S
Caen, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday, wish we could've stayed forever!”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a fantastic time at Kestral Cottage, everything was perfect and we couldn't have asked for more! Angie and Danny are excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble and we would definately return, there's so much to see and do in the region. We visited Bayeux, the Memorial museum in Caen, the D-Day landing beaches, Le Mont-St-Michel and found lots of reasonably priced places to eat along the way (tip: plat du jour at midday is the best value).
The villages and towns we visited were friendly and so clean and we even found a 'vide-grenier' (like a car boot sale) where we found some lovely French bits and bobs, very cheap! There's a lovely little bar in the nearest village of Montchauvet, where we would get our baguettes in the morning and the occasional swift beer in the evening if we needed to pop there for supplies!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: Maybe too quiet for teenagers, but ours loved it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you for reviewing us Hayley. We hope to see you again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing