We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
58
51
15
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
51
15
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brittany ferries little gem stayed here for one night excellent restaurant town centre walks spa forest lake wifi menus chef
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 132 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2017

We stayed here on a 3 day Brittany ferries offer. We loved the overnight boat from Portsmouth to St Malo. We went to the onboard cinema and ate at the fine dining onboard restaurant. We slept soundly until waking up for breakfast in St Malo and drove off the boat. The Hotel is about 2-3 hrs drive and easy to find. We stayed in Room 7 which had a lovely balcony. The loo was separate from the very small bathroom, and there was no bath - but were both ensuite. It was quiet and very clean. The food at dinner was amazing - just excellent French cuisine, beautifully coked and presented. Amazingly good wine list too.The owner speaks good English which was helpful for us. The staff have no English at all but are so lovely and as helpful as possible. The wifi is very slow and almost useless really - so don't take your iPad, OK ! We had a cycle ride along the disused railway well rail at the back of the hotel. It's normally shut in December, but the hotel got him to open up just for us! It's that dirt of town. It feels a bit Swiss or Austrian? Like a French style Harrogate. We walked round the pretty lake in the town centre and thought the magnificent park with nice views and wooded forests. We would have liked tea and coffee in the room, but lots of French hotels font do this. This was a perfect hotel for a break. We would love to go back again, perhaps for a summer trip next time.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lindsays669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Stayed here for one night with eight others. Nothing was too much trouble from the staff. The bar area was arranged ready for us to be able to sit altogether. The food is excellent and the waiting staff were impeccable ! Clearly well trained
We had a room at the front of the hotel. A little noisy with the traffic if you're not used to it. However room nice, clean and fresh

Room tip: If your not used to a little road noise, maybe a room at the back
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Farr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2017

Lucked upon this little gem thanks to a "50% off flash sale" by Logis de France, the chain of independent small hotels. It was slightly off our route, but well worth it. Bagnoles de l'Orne is a charming "Belle Epoque" spa town built around a lake. Bois Joli is well-named, and we had a lovely (if too short) stay. Excellent restaurant, really welcoming management and staff. Top score.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvuncularAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2017

We recently spent three nights at this hotel, and it is indeed a little gem. We got a great welcome, the owners and the staff were so friendly and service was tip top! We have visited Bagnoles many times but this is only the second time we have stayed, the first time we were in a different hotel, how we wished we had booked Bois Joli for our first trip. We will certainly go back - we had a very happy stay, the room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The food was really good with different priced menus to choose from. It was perfect.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2017

Comfortable rooms and bed in a nice quiet area in a beautiful town. Friendly staff and good breakfast. Plenty to see and great walks around the lake. Very pleased with the deal we had with Brittany Ferries.

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews