We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Susannah R
Ipswich, United Kingdom

Perfectly good place to stay, no street noise.

Review of Hotel Caravelle
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 10, 2016
As will most Logis de France hotels, this place is absolutely fine. Room was clean and fresh. The layout is a bit like a motel. Whilst there was no noise from the street (even from the punk band just outside for Fete de la Musique), soundproofing from the adjacent room was non-existent. The place felt nice and secure. Staff were very helpful and obliging. Breakfast buffet was very good.
Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christelle R, Propriétaire at Hotel Caravelle, responded to this review
Responded Jul 11, 2016
Hello,

Thank you to share your experience in our establishment, we wish to see you soon again!!

Greatfully,

Christelle R
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$141
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    C$111
  • Hotels.com
    C$141
0.4 km from Hotel Caravelle
Free Wifi
vue de la façade
C$122
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$122
  • Tripadvisor
    C$122
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Hotel Caravelle
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$196
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$203
  • Hotels.com
    C$187
  • Agoda.com
    C$196
0.7 km from Hotel Caravelle
Free Wifi
Les Apparts Bleu Soleil Rochefort vous accueillent au coeur de la Charente-Maritime dans des appartements de standing entièrement rénovés.
C$160
  • Agoda.com
    C$160
0.6 km from Hotel Caravelle
Free Wifi
Chambre familiale
C$132
C$110
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$113
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$113
0.2 km from Hotel Caravelle
Free Wifi
Hôtel des Remparts et sa terrasse
C$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$149
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Hotel Caravelle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$108
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$108
1.3 km from Hotel Caravelle
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$184
  • Agoda.com
    C$183
  • eDreams
    C$184
  • ZenHotels.com
0.7 km from Hotel Caravelle
Free Wifi
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ibis Budget
    C$98
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Hotel Caravelle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Notre chambre triple
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$101
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from Hotel Caravelle
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rochefort
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
48
47
16
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
47
16
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 124 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2014 via mobile

À Nice little hotel in the center of The lovely town of Rochefort. Although the room was not particularly to my taste, it was comfortable, clean, quiet. The service was great and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Great location.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank katinba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Staff attiitude extremely poor to rude.
Breakfast tables cramped and very small ( garden tea tables)
Breakfast items ran out at 8.45 and not replaced ( breakfast 8-10)
Rooms needed some/ a lot of TLC.
Cost of breakfast higher than that in the Booking.com website, staff not bothered - pay the hotel rate! No discussion.
Certainly would NOT return.

On the plus side- Private parking for 6 cars ( payable) spaces allocated( you cannot choose), if first in however, it could be difficult to get out with a larger car.
We will not return.

Room tip: While we were in what I would describe as a converted outhouse, our friends were in the main building near the top of a winding staircase - no lift. Choose another hotel.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2012today
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christelle R, Propriétaire at Hotel Caravelle, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016
Google Translation


Sir,

I am sorry that the service of our facility have disappointed you in particular on the reception point on which we usually have good returns.
However I have to reinstate certain information including the price of breakfast. Breakfast service is not included in your room reservation on booking or elsewhere but the price of € 9.50 remains the same regardless of the source of your booking. There is indeed a difference in price between the room for reservations made directly with the hotel and made through a reservation center.
The difference is explained by the commission take bookings by plants.

To supply the breakfast we go regularly to customers to see if everything goes well, however, it can sometimes happen not to see that there is a lack, what could be simpler than ask, we are at your disposal.

About the parking, it is also an extra service. it is actually very little that is why we will manage traffic so everyone can park.

I regret not having reported the inconvenience during your stay, because once gone I can not offer you a solution.

With my deepest regrets,
Regards,

Monsieur,

Je suis désolé que le service de notre établissement vous ai déçu notamment sur l'accueil, point sur lequel nous avons habituellement de bons retours.
Cependant je me dois de rétablir certaines informations notamment sur le prix du petit déjeuner. Le petit déjeuner n'est pas un service inclus dans votre réservation de chambre sur booking ou ailleurs mais le prix de 9,50€ reste le même quelque soit la source de votre réservation. Il y a effectivement une différence de prix sur la chambre entre une réservation faite directement à l'hôtelier et une faite par l’intermédiaire d'une centrale de réservation.
La différence s'explique par la commission prélever par les centrales de réservations.

Pour l'approvisionnement du petit déjeuner nous passons régulièrement auprès des clients pour voir si tout se passe bien cependant il peut arriver parfois de ne pas s’apercevoir qu'il y a un manque, quoi de plus simple que de nous le demander, nous sommes à votre disposition.

Concernant le parking, celui ci est également un service en supplément. il est effectivement très petit c'est la raison pour laquelle nous y gérons la circulation afin que chacun puisse se garer.

Je trouve dommage de ne pas avoir signalé ces désagréments lors de votre séjour, car une fois parti je ne peux plus vous proposer de solution.

Avec mes regrets les plus sincères,
Cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I love boutique hotels and the Caravelle in Rochefort richly deserves that attribute. Family run, the stuff is super friendly and helpful. My ground floor room with all amenities, coffee, tea and sweets, had a little terrace out front with a table and chair to sit and enjoy the fresh air. Great attention to detail, lovely decorations throughout and if you wish to book excursions to La Rochelle and the islands, they will bend over backwards to help. They even got me a taxi to catch my train at 5am, because normally the Rochefort taxi drivers don't start work before 9am.

Room tip: Ground floor to enjoy the little terrace.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lilypondistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 30, 2023
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 11, 2023 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews