We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
sll63
Sainte-Gemmes-le-Robert, France

Great location, great food

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 28, 2015
Great location, close to centre and river. Food was lovely even on our restricted deal. Small problem with the lights in the room was resolved quickly. Only downside was the hotel wifi didn't reach the room even though there was a free access code there.
Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$140
  • Priceline
    C$128
  • Lol.travel
    C$112
  • Expedia.com
    C$135
0.5 km from Les Saveurs de l'Abbaye
Free Wifi
C$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$124
  • Hotels.com
    C$124
  • Priceline
    C$124
0.1 km from Les Saveurs de l'Abbaye
Free Wifi
Free parking
CHAMBRE SUPERIEURE
C$112
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$112
  • Expedia.com
    C$109
  • Hotels.com
    C$109
0.6 km from Les Saveurs de l'Abbaye
Free Wifi
Free parking
Decorative detail
C$56
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$56
  • Agoda.com
    C$56
0.6 km from Les Saveurs de l'Abbaye
Free Wifi
Free parking
NewBrand FR saintes hotel
C$68
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$68
  • Agoda.com
    C$64
  • Expedia.com
    C$68
2.6 km from Les Saveurs de l'Abbaye
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$244
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$243
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$234
  • Hotels.com
    C$243
3.0 km from Les Saveurs de l'Abbaye
Free Wifi
Free parking
chambre double bain
C$109
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$109
  • Hotels.com
    C$109
  • Agoda.com
    C$109
2.7 km from Les Saveurs de l'Abbaye
Free Wifi
Free parking
entrée de l'hotel
C$118
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$118
  • Vio.com
    C$118
  • eDreams
    C$118
0.3 km from Les Saveurs de l'Abbaye
Free Wifi
Room service
C$107
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$107
  • Destinia.com
    C$98
  • Hotels.com
    C$107
2.5 km from Les Saveurs de l'Abbaye
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
C$54
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$54
  • hotelF1
    C$50
  • Expedia.com
    C$54
3.4 km from Les Saveurs de l'Abbaye
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Saintes
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
31
28
15
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
31
28
15
9
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 84 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2015

We had a very good meal , well presented and a good quantity on the more expensive lunchtime menu. The menu de Jour looked vey basic for the 17 euro price and certainly not worth it. The wine , as ever in France, was overpriced,

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janetm931
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

First evening in Saintes. On sunday practically all restaurants are closed. Even at the time of the Festival de Saintes. We had the menu of the day. A cold soup of courgette with little slices of chorrizo/ a cheese cake with tomato followed by a main course of fricassee de poulet with basmati rice resp. "Snacked" tuna.The dessert was a parfait. Accompanied by a bottle of chilled Saumur Champigny of Domaine Filliatreau 2014. Excellent value for money. Eur 74 for two, including water and coffee. Evian water for Eur 5 too expensive for a restaurant like this.

Date of stay: July 2015
Thank arnoldv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 11, 2015

A stopover travelling through France in the winter, looking for somewhere welcoming to stay. Staff were not bothered about our comfort, there was no public space to sit in, room was like a dungeon (dark brown with dingy lighting, low ceilings), pillows lumpy. Breakfast was good - I want to say something positive.

Room tip: If you end up staying here, be sure to avoid room number 10.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 19, 2014

How does 2.5 h for a lunch sounds to you? Not only did it took 30 min to get a glass of water, menus and actually been acknowledged after been ushered in, but the rest of the lunch was just agonizingly slow and painful - even for French standards! Don't go with kids unless you have some amazing plans to entertain them until their food arrives. At least once the food arrived it was good, not wow just good local products, professionally cooked, cleanly presented. After waiting that long, getting annoyed by a condescending joke of a flustered waiter trying to tell us how to eat the chefs food we were certainly deciding not to ever return to this restaurant regardless of the quality of the food. Really unfortunately as the restaurants occupies a great location, very nice interior and the chef certainly knows his stuff.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Marcovancouvercanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We arrived, having booked and were met by a very flustered waiter in a very understaffed restaurant. The waiter and a trainee were the only staff serving 40 covers. We were asked if we wanted an aperitif (very brusquely) and the 24 euros later were presented with 2 gins and 1 tiny tonic. We were then rushed to order and had some very half-hearted muse buche. Sara ordered a nice looking salmon dish and was presented with a huge pile of thick unattractive smoked salmon. I had a good foi gras. The main course was Duck and horrible and had a "panis" with it which was a horrible rancid potato bread. Pudding was ok, if you like badly made brightly coloured marshmallow. The cheese (which was 6.50 extra) was tiny - I mean 6 match sticks of 4 cheeses for a 150 euro meal. The lady next to us complained and got a decent portion, but we were too green. Very expensive, badly balanced and mean meal. Would not ever go back.

Room tip: Dont use the restuarant. There are some great restuarants in Saintes, this isnt one of them.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesB909
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews