We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Norman S
Edmonton, Canada

Good Location, clean and well appointed

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 28, 2024via mobile
While not necessarily imposing from the outside, it is scrupulously clean inside with surprisingly quiet rooms given it is directly opposite the train station. Easy 10-15 minute walk to the river and the town centre along the Main Street Rue de Gambetti. The husband and wife team running the hotel are warm, friendly and very helpful. Would stay there again next time I am in Saintes.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Decorative detail
0.0 km from Contact Hôtel De France
Free Wifi
Free parking
2.9 km from Contact Hôtel De France
Free Wifi
Free parking
le parc interieur du Haras
6.4 km from Contact Hôtel De France
Free parking
1.1 km from Contact Hôtel De France
entrée de l'hotel
0.3 km from Contact Hôtel De France
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior view
3.9 km from Contact Hôtel De France
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel restaurant de la gare
0.0 km from Contact Hôtel De France
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.3 km from Contact Hôtel De France
Free Wifi
0.6 km from Contact Hôtel De France
Free Wifi
Free parking
6.4 km from Contact Hôtel De France
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Saintes
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
9
16
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
16
3
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile

Stayed for one night en route to the UK. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean comfortable bedroom with powerful hot shower. Secure parking for our fully loaded car (8€charge) but ample free parking in the square in front of the hotel. Easy walk into the town centre to see the Roman sites and the cathedral.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mrslynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 9, 2019

Small and cozy hotel in a town dating back to Roman times! Clean rooms and good breakfast buffet. But what distinguishes this reasonably priced hotel from others we have visited is the friendly and very helpful staff. Our room was a bit warm and lacked AC but if you are more used to heat than, I as a Swede from the north, you can overlook it.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank roinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hdf17, Gérant at Contact Hotel De France, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2019

Hello,

We were delighted to receive you and we thank you for your comment which made us very happy.
I look forward to seeing you again.

Excllente visit in France
Sanaa and Fréderic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Although the room was very small, it was spotlessly clean and the bed was perfectly comfortable. It was so hot and we were very happy that there was a fan provided. Breakfast was very fresh and plentiful and the garage parking was important to us.
The owners were very friendly and helpful and we would certainly visit again when in Saintes.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mhols999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FREDERIC B, Gérant at Contact Hotel De France, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Hello,

We were delighted to receive you.
We thank you for your comment which has made us a lot of fun.

Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Sanaa and Frederic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2024 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 3, 2023
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews