We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Everson N
Basel, Switzerland

Charming address in Saintes

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 12, 2024via mobile
We stayed two nights at this charming hotel, very well located in the town half (Roman Amphithéâtre side). Our room was a bit small but nicely fitted and quiet. The hotel has a charming breakfast area, with good selection of fresh French food.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: The hotel has a small garage, it’s good to reserve ahead of your trip
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent Denis, Propriétaire at Citotel Hôtel Des Messageries, responded to this review
Responded May 24, 2024
Hello,
Thanks a lot for this nice comment and good mark of 5/5.
It is a real pleasure for all our team.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hôtel les Messageries.
We hope welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Decorative detail
C$56
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$56
  • Agoda.com
    C$56
1.0 km from Citotel Hôtel Des Messageries
Free Wifi
Free parking
chambre double bain
C$109
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$109
  • Hotels.com
    C$109
  • Agoda.com
    C$109
2.2 km from Citotel Hôtel Des Messageries
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$244
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$243
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$234
  • Hotels.com
    C$243
2.4 km from Citotel Hôtel Des Messageries
Free Wifi
Free parking
entrée de l'hotel
C$118
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$118
  • Vio.com
    C$118
  • eDreams
    C$118
0.7 km from Citotel Hôtel Des Messageries
Free Wifi
Room service
C$107
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$107
  • Destinia.com
    C$98
  • Hotels.com
    C$107
2.0 km from Citotel Hôtel Des Messageries
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$124
  • Hotels.com
    C$124
  • Priceline
    C$124
0.6 km from Citotel Hôtel Des Messageries
Free Wifi
Free parking
CHAMBRE SUPERIEURE
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$112
  • Hotels.com
    C$109
  • Priceline
    C$112
1.0 km from Citotel Hôtel Des Messageries
Free Wifi
Free parking
NewBrand FR saintes hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$68
  • Agoda.com
    C$64
  • Priceline
    C$68
2.1 km from Citotel Hôtel Des Messageries
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$98
  • Priceline
    C$98
  • Hotels.com
    C$103
2.9 km from Citotel Hôtel Des Messageries
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$54
  • hotelF1
    C$50
  • Priceline
    C$54
2.9 km from Citotel Hôtel Des Messageries
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Saintes
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
258
221
55
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
258
221
55
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very nice hotel hotel garage drinks fridge parking space middle of town breakfast was delicious the air conditioning comfortable room stayed one night centre cereal cheese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 556 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2024 via mobile

Used this hotel as a stop off enroute from Spain to Brittany, . The hotel is located in the heart of the city, close to the river and very easy to find and sign posted. Significant work has been undertaken to turn this venue into a hotel. The hotel is excellently maintained, stylishly decorated and the rooms were spacious, extremely clean, with very comfy beds. Staff were very friendly and professional. Breakfast was a slight disappointment, only a continental breakfast is offered. Secure parking was a real bonus. Pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the very pretty town of Saintes. Will certainly stay here again when travelling through France.

Room tip: Plenty of restaurants in town for evening meals.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SimonT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent Denis, Propriétaire at Citotel Hotel Des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2024

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comment and your good mark.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our localisation. All our rooms are different and very comfy beds.
We noted your remark regarding our breakfast as customer satisfaction is really important for us.
We hope welcoming you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2024

The hotel is located in the middle of the city in a pedestrian area, and the rooms are very calm and quiet. They offer private parking but there is also public parking within walking distance. The riverside and the city park are 2/7 minutes away, respectively. Saintes was a lovely find, and this hotal a gem within it.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wolfhuette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent Denis, Propriétaire at Citotel Hotel Des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2024

Hello,
Thanks a lot for this nice comment and good mark regarding your last stay with us.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with your family at our hotel.
Indeed, we are located in the city center of Saintes, shops and restaurants all around the hotel.
We hope welcoming you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2023 via mobile

Well run and conveniently located. We were in easy walking distance to the major sights of Saintes, as well as to some excellent restaurants— L’Insolite and La Table des dix Vins— and a fantastic breakfast bakery, La Boulangerie du Palais. Our room’s air conditioning was a blessing at the end of a hot day of sightseeing.

Room tip: It’s worth paying the 12 euro supplement for garage, though it’s tight maneuvering for a spot.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jamoss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent Denis, Propriétaire at Citotel Hotel Des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2023

Good morning,
Thanks a lot for this good review.
It is a pleasure for us to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
Indeed, we are located in the old city center of Saintes. Restaurants and shops are all around the hotel.
Yes, there are very good fresh and local restaurants near the hotel.
We hope welcoming you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2023 via mobile

This should be described as a Bed and breakfast rather than hotel, no lounge, only breakfast, no bar, and reception empty at one time when we needed access to garage. Convenient parking, but difficult to locate until found reception to ask.
Really didn’t appreciate disable room!

Room tip: Access garage from main road over bridge as other accesses blocked by bollards
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent Denis, Propriétaire at Citotel Hotel Des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2023

Hello,
Thanks for your review.
Our reception is open all day long from 07h to 21h.
Our team is always available and pleased to answer any question or request.
We do have a lounge, located right next to the reception, with a direct access to the pedestrian street where most bars and restaurants are.
For organiszation and security you have to come at the reception at your arrival regarding the garage.
All our rooms are different so dont'hesitate to ask another room if you come back one day.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2023 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the centre , so very convenient for restaurants, and the historical trail.
The room was excellent with tea and coffee and a drinks fridge. The bed was confortable and it was nice to have an extra armchair. We were grateful for the air conditioning as it was very warm during our stay.

Room tip: There is secure parking (€12 per night). We had breakfast at the boulangerie in the town.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Relax34771241405
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent Denis, Propriétaire at Citotel Hotel Des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2023

Hello,
Thanks a lot for this wondeful review and good score.
We enjoyed to hear that you are satisfy with our hotel.
Indeed, all our room are equiped with air conditioning !
We hope welcoming you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews