We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Polzeath, Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed in the Golf hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting our son who is working in meribel for the season. The hotel was perfect.only a 30 min cable car ride up to meribel centre . Much quieter down there, for us older people.Cable car stopped at 5pm so you need to get back down by then or a taxi can cost you up to 60 euros! Chepaer to eat out in Brides les Bains too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    109
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
35
131
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Golf Hotel was a great base for ski-ing We had a good size double room with a view down the valley to the mountain beyond. Nice sized bathroom with fresh towels and gowns.
Wide bed, television mostly in French but showing all the sport from across Europe.
Plenty of storage and safe deposit box in the room.
Secure Ski locker in the basement. Own car park with lift down to the main street. Only about 400 metres to the ski lift but the free ski bus stops right outside.
There is a lovely snug bar in the basement with large open log fire. Great for apres ski or pre-dinner drinks. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast had everything you would expect with fresh and tinned fruit, yoghurts, cereals, fresh croissants, eggs, ham, cheeses etc.
The three course dinner was OK and beautifully presented. The only slight criticism is that there was no choice available unless you were prepared to pay over 20 Euros extra and some of the set menus were a little uninspiring.
However, we would have no hesitation in returning again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Colomb de Lauzun, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

Large, grand looking hotel. We were only there one night. We had a double room, good size, comfortable beds. Lovely view across to mountains. Bright, well – appointed bathroom.
We did not use the restaurant at all because the dinner menu was limited to one choice of a regular three course meal or the special calorie- counted type. Seemed expensive considering. Didn’t see the wine list. Did not have breakfast there either.
Best things were on site parking and the direct link by lift down to the town where there were quite a few restaurants still open despite being October.
Brides les Bains itself is an expensive, small place and totally geared towards “the cure“ and fitness activities.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

The Golf Hotel welcomed us efficently with our keys ready and rooms prepared. Our first dinner was delayed for our late arrival. The staff were helpful, polite and welcoming. Our rooms were well prepared daily and dinner each evening was a work of art. A nice little bar in the basement with a log fire but I wonder would we have used the bar facilities if they had been one floor up in the big bright foyer. All sorts of Spa things available but I was not really sure where it all happened and for the first few days did not realise that our hotel had a sauna and jacussi, also in the basement. We booked this hotel as a large group and I would return.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank codown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
167 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

The Golf hotel is an excellent hotel, taking into account its price and the fact that it is a 3 star property. My wife and have stayed in 4 star hotels that have far less amenities than the Golf hotel.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was very big and silent. The complementary breakfast was far above average and the restaurant is very nicely decorated and has great views. Bride-les-Bains is a quiet resort not far from several ski stations and not far form the Vanoise national Park, which offers great hiking.

The Golf hotel is a great hotel for the budget-concious traveller (nowadays, who isn't?) and offers great amenities at a very reasonable price.

I would definitively recommend it. The only minor flaw of the hotel is that the parking lot tends to get pretty packed, as the parking spaces are not clearly marked. If there is no room in the parking lot, there uses to be parking spaces in the street adjacent to the hotel, but then the hotel staff places a piece of paper in your windshield reminding you to park in the parkind lot...

  • Liked — The size of our room.
  • Disliked — The parking lot.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Daniel025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

We stayed at the Exclusive Golf Hotel in Brides-les-Bains for 3 nights in late January 08 for a ski trip to Meribel.

This hotel is a big old building at the bottom of the valley, stuck on the side of a hill. From the outside it looks like a nice pretty building, the lobby inside looks like your average 3* hotel, and in keeping with many French hotels the public areas look a lot more grand than the bedrooms.

Our room (304 I think) was a standard double - it seems that most rooms there have 2 x twin beds pushed together, which was perfect for us as I was travelling with my brother and we needed a twin room. We had a balcony which had patio chairs on, a generous sized room with TV and desk, and a big bathroom with powerful shower over bath (but no shower curtain so we kept flooding the bathroom)

Room decor was a bit 1980s - nothing fancy or posh by any means, but things were basically clean and in working order.

Staff were friendly and accomodating. Breakfast (not included in our rate but available for €9 a day) was great - a good buffet of quality cold meats, cheeses, bread, pastries, fruit etc, and was worth the extra. Free parking in a small car park, and there was a hotel bar which we didn't sample.

There was ski locker room somewhere but we didn't use it as the excellent ski hire shop in the village let us leave all our stuff in their shop every day and overnight - great service. This shop was 'Marine Sports', as part of Sport2000 franchise. Excellent service here.

Brides is a great little town - not a lot there (a handful of bars and restaurants, pharmacy, village shops, SPAR supermarket, newsagents etc).

The hotel is about 5 minutes downhill then back uphill walk from the ski lift which takes you up to Meribel central in 25-30 minutes in a 4-person Poma gondola. It's a bit tedious, but you rise from 600m to 2000m through the woods, and the trip goes quite quickly. Make sure you buy the whole 3 valleys ski pass and not the cheaper Meribel only ski pass, as the Meribel area is quite limiting - worth paying a bit extra for 5 times more ski area!!

So overall, the Golf hotel was great - it was increadibly cheap, well placed, friendly staff, perfectly acceptable facilities (especially for the small amount we paid), and really was hard to fault. It was not grand and luxurious, but it was acceptably clean and had everything we needed. I could easily have paid 2x or 3x the price in other hotels, but really I can't see what elese I could have wanted for my money.

I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Liked — Accomodation
  • Disliked — Stupid name - GOLF? It's on a mountain in a ski resort!!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brian_lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

My wife and I stayed here in January this year, about 15 of us were dotted around the resort and up in Meribel. The Golf hotel is lovely, very clean and and well situated within the town. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the main Gondala from the Hotel. Take trainers or walking boots when you head off to the Gondala because the shop there has boot and ski lockers which are secure and pretty cheap, the friendly rotund guy in the rental shop has a workshop where you can store snowboards, he sorts everything out. You can also buy your ski pass from the ticket office at the Gondola.

The town is less developed in terms of bars and restaurants than further up the mountain but things are reasonably priced and good enough for the job. Our friends hooked up in Meribel for dinner a couple of times, taxi takes about 15 minutes to get back down to Brides Les Bains... that is if you're unfortunate enough to book francois who thinks he's Prost mark II, othewise it takes about 25 minutes.

Overall, I'm very happy to recommend the Golf Hotel and I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — Very pretty location, the Hotel's 'look' is very nice inside and out, compared with other Ski Lodges/Alpes Hotels
  • Disliked — quite far down the mountain, still wasn't bad though.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bbonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brides-les-Bains hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand Hotel des Thermes
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand H...
#7 of 19 in Brides-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 km away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#2 of 19 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 19 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Altis Val Vert Hotel
Altis Val Vert Hotel
#3 of 19 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Le Verseau
Hotel Le Verseau
#8 of 19 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 km away
Residence Villa Eureca
Residence Villa Eureca
#9 of 19 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel

Property: Golf Hotel
Address: av Comte Greyfie de Bellecombe, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing