We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Cristal de l'Alpe apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Le Cristal de l'Alpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

On arrival at Grenoble airport, we found our rep from Crystal Ski who directed us to a very new coach and off we set. Two and three quarter hours later, having run the gauntlet of road works in Grenoble, we arrived at the hotel. We stayed in an Emerald apartment (or Chalet Emeraude) which was the combined size of three lock up garages. The five of us rushed for storage spaces and unpacked our cases, reflecting that six adults would need to know each other really very well to spend a week together in such close proximity.

We ordered some tea, coffee, milk bread and preserves (via Crystal Ski) and our lift passes we delivered to our room before 8am as promised and off we set to Sport 2000 ski hire some 200 metres distant. Arriving late meant the 8am queues for ski hire had vanished and were we attended to without delay. The choice of gold & silver ski’s were limited and they could only furnish us with two out of three kids helmets. The joys of skiing in February half term !

Pleasingly the construction on the hotel was finished although clearly somewhat hurried, but clearly the apartment’s facilities were new (oven, dishwasher, crockery and cutlery). It is one of the quieter placed we have stayed in the Alps as far as late night apres ski type noise is concerned (I guess because there are to bars too close). Curiously there is no access between hotel reception and the apartment so whilst bread and the most buttery croissants this side of angioplasty, can be ordered from reception, it’s necessary to don one’s outdoor gear to walk outside and around the corner. Of course on a self catering holiday, the idea is that you are catering for yourself ! Supermarkets (Casino & Spa) are conveniently located before you get to the ice rink (take your own bags if shopping is a distant experience you seldom enjoy) or failing that there are a host of restaurants conveniently located between 1 and 10 mins walk depending on how far you feel the need to wonder.

The apartment has complementary wifi. It’s that infuriating brand of wifi i.e. the sort that doesn’t work however that’s alieviated if you sit closer to the reception which is spacious and has ample seating and a welcoming, open wood burning fire. Reception has a series of glass windows with chi-chi grey drapes which permit you to satisfy your voyeuristic needs by allowing a non chlorinated view of the pool. Tastefully designed in the seedy modern, oligarkesc style, the led mood lighting cycles whilst you do backstroke admiring yourself in the mirrored roof above the swimming area.

The lifts are about 200 metres distant with the choice of a bottom lift or 4 x 4 man cages which are quite a unique method of getting up to the central lift hub. Travel is free to that point after which lift passes can be purchase adjacent to the big DMC lift. Use of the bigger longer lifts is generally preferable as you get better height for you queue time compared to some of the smaller, short lifts.

Happy skiing.

Room Tip: Ask if the reception is accessible from your room without walking outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in Le Cristal de l'Alpe at the end of january 2012. Everything is still brand new, which has it's pro's and con's. On the one hand, everything is new and clean, on the other hand still some work had to be done (for example, the phone in our appartment was not yet working, so if you needed anything you had to walk to the reception). The appartment was spacious, well equiped and comfortable. Sauna/swimmingpool area are very nice. Lot's of parkingspace. As mentioned before, it a bit of search to find everything in the building. The ski lockers are not on the floor level, so you have to use the stairs everytime you go in and out (kind of a hassle with ski's and ski boots). The appartments are located in the centre of Alpe d'Huez, so shops, restaurants etc are nearby. We are used to appartments, which are situated on/near the slopes. Now we had to walk for a few minutes to a lift, which brings you to the slopes. For me that would be the only reason I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arjen_rosanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Negatives- no 24 hr reception for checking in, really hard to find room due to this. Electric went off one night(during). Spa was closed for 1 day. You have to clean your apartment before leaving and they do a full check before you leave room. After checking out, we had to pay extra 104 euros(between 8 people) as French tax/vat went up incl 25. For admin charge.
Positives- really nice chalets, 2 double beds 2 twins,2 showers, 2 toilets, really warm and cozy, ski hire 2 mins away, lift to slopes 5min walk and can walk it in boots. Also bottom of a green slope 5-8min walk away. Spa is lovely, gym also. Gets busier between 4.30-5.30 but nothing too much. The sphere bar closest for after ski drinks. Recommend looking for the following, smythys bar (fab service,fab food with specials) pinoccios restaurant(amazing food and service) cheaper places for eating out, rum bar good place to drink, dont recommend le sporting bar, service rubbish, girl miserable we didn't go back. Nice inside though. - all in all fab place for staying I would return, great for everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blueeyesNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here over New Year and overall were very happy. The residence had only been open a couple of weeks and to be fair there were a few niggles. But here is my view:

PROS
Close to both (basket) lift and piste (rif nel), takes about 5 mins max to walk to both
The apartments were really high quality, nicely furnished and fitted
The pool & spa area were amazing
Loads of underground parking
Fresh bread delivered to residence every morning (have to collect from reception but worth it)
Supermarket and all shops only 5 mins walk away

CONS
The residence was not quite finished, still some areas required painting (but they were doing this during the week we were there)
Navigating the building is a nightmare, they should have some orientation maps. It was hard to find the ski rooms and then back to the rooms
Couldn't access the room until 5pm, a difficulty with children when you arrive in resort at 11.30am
Have to get towels for the pool from reception and then walk outside to get to the pool/spa area (in snow & cold)
Only one washing machine/dryer for the whole residence

We had a great stay and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank 842patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fmilesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres à l'étage sont plus calmes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank perez s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
417 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
295 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#8 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
127 reviews
0.9 km away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
0.5 km away
Hotel le Caribou
Hotel le Caribou
#6 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Cristal de l'Alpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Cristal de l'Alpe

Address: rue du Poutat | Avenue de l'Etendard, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Speciality Lodging in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range: $284 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Le Cristal de l'Alpe 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Le Cristal de l'Alpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Cristal De L'Alpe France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing