We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
clubmed.us
US$432
View deal
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,669)
Filter reviews
1,669 results
Traveller rating
1,146
311
118
48
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,146
311
118
48
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skyline restaurant ski room grand massif ski instructor chef de village guest relations buffet restaurant interconnecting rooms ski school ski shop public areas swimming pool main buffet wonderful family family vacation foie gras ski rental
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 1,669 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2018

The resort is in beautiful location. Skiing is very good. The teaching in ski club for kids is average. Majority staff is lovely but felt dissapointed that my little son and his friend got punched by another child in the mini club. We raised it to the staff and there was 0 follow up from them. On another day they allowed my 7 year old to ski half day without gloves. The accomodation is otherwise excellent. Not enough lifts inside the property.
Excellent ski in and out. Food very good, but not enough simple vegetable on offer.
Good skis and ski boots available.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
Thank maryS4042LQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Grand Massif Samoens Morillon, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Dear maryS4042LQ
Thank you for your feedback after your Grand Massif stay.
I'm sorry to hear your son was injured while in the kids club, and I can assure you this is the antethesis of what we strive to be. The kids clubs should be a time of laughter and new friends, along with improving their ski level under the safety of friendly instruction.
And my apologies for the lack of vegetable that you wanted, which no doubt would have improved your experience in the restaurant.
I do hope we get the chance to show you in true Club Med spirit a perfect holiday should you choose to come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2018

Having read some of the previous reviews on here we were a little sceptical about this brand new Club Med. However, I am pleased to say that we had a wonderful experience and would have no hesitation in recommending it to other people.

From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. I had pre-warned them that we would be arriving early and our rooms were ready and waiting for us. We had requested rooms on a level where we only had to take 1 lift to everything - we were on level H which was perfect (reception is on this floor, and the boot room is 2 floors up so easy to take the lift or to walk).

Bedrooms were clean and spacious - we have 2 interconnecting rooms, with plenty of cupboard space. Bathrooms were large, with baths (not quite full size, but after a day skiing they were very welcoming).
Staff in the kids club were very friendly, and it was lovely to see Emma again who had looked after my kids a few years ago in Peisey Vallandry.

Food in the buffet restaurant was of a high standard, and freshly prepared in front of you - so not like a typical buffet where everything is dried out.

Pros:
Great location, ski in, ski out on the slopes so no need to wait in the queues for the lift in the morning
Ski hire on site, and very easy to collect skis on arrival
Rooms were large and clean with plenty of storage space
Food was good quality and varied
Nicola, the Chef de Village, and all the GOs were very warm and friendly and couldn't do enough to help
The reception area and lounge were very large and modern

Cons
While the Village is ski in, ski out there is a slight uphill walk on skis to the lift - a magic carpet or rope lift would be a welcome addition
The toilet and bathroom are separate to each other (no bad thing), but it would be great to have a sink in the toilet to save tripping over in the dark if you need to use the toilet in the night
Towards the weekend the dining room was very busy and many tables had been pre-booked for groups of 10+
The speciality restaurant was not open every night, and despite trying to book a table there on our first day we were told that it was fully booked for the week - however, when other friends dined there they said that there were plenty of spare tables
The hotel is located on the slopes, in the middle of nowhere, so there is no village to go for a walk around at the end of the day, or if there had been a bad weather no-snow day you would have been stranded at the hotel with nowhere to go to
Outdoor pools were closed when we were there, although the outdoor jacuzzi was open. The indoor pool and the jacuzzi were both quite cold and would have benefitted from being several degrees warmer

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank CallieG240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Grand Massif Samoens Morillon, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Dear Callie G
Thanks for taking the time to write to us.
While in general it appears you enjoyed your time with us, and thank you for your kind feedback I was disappointed to read that there a few things you were unhappy with and I hope it did not taint your stay with us too often.
The Jacuzzi was shut during your stay for urgent maintenance work, so I apologise you were not able to use it, but for safety reasons we shut it for repair.
I'm sorry you were not able to get into the specialty restaurant. With the Resort operating at almost full capacity, the speciality restaurant is booked in to 2 sittings to stagger the arrivals, and not overwhelm the staff, and jeopardise the dining experience for the customers. I can assure you the restaurant maximum numbers of heads was booked each seating, even if there are other tables vacant which are for private parties for large groups)
I do hope you enjoyed the food options in the main restaurant, and staff were able to assist you in finding a table.
I do hope we get the chance to welcome you to another Club Med Resort in the near future, and thank you once again for you comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

This was our 4th club Med vacation in the French Alps and the third in March. We were very excited to try the new resort at Samoens. I have to say I was a bit nervous after the mixed reviews but we had a great time. The two biggest complaints we read about (the airport transfers and the ski room) we avoided by getting private transfers with Action Transfers (much cheaper than club Med) and ski hire from the local ski shop (Mountain ski hire) just nearby which was half the price of club Med. The thing we noticed most was the large size of the resort which we felt made it seem a bit impersonal compared with Peisey Vallandry and Tignes. I will summarise the pros and cons:
Pros- usual great atmosphere and fun for all ages
- great ski instructor and ski area
- great selection of food including a la carte restaurant
- beautiful pool area with tee pees and beds to relax
- good layout of pool change area with unisex area
- great value for money (with early bird discount)
- lovely communal areas and bed rooms

Cons- sat in lounge on arrival for ages waiting to be checked in
- no welcome information night on Sunday
- no turn down service each night
- no Nutella or lemon with afternoon crepes
- shows not quite as good as usual
- no one to offer to carry skis out of ski room on first day!
- no balcony in our room (just a small window)
- food not quite as delicious as other resorts
- don’t get rooms in section A or B as they require 2 lift changes to get to ski room and restaurant

These are not deal breaker things but all things we have experienced and loved at other club meds. We still had a great time and have two other club Med holidays booked this year so we love club Med but would try a different club Med to ski next time.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ozetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018

We went to Club Med Grand Massif in mid March. It was an unforgettable experience. We have 3 kids and they all enjoyed themselves a lot during the stay. The evening events (not the skiing!) were the highlight of the day, the 'freaky circus show' was fantastic ! There was an issue on our way to the resort which left us without return transport back to UK, but the front desk and G.O.'s (Yaelle in particular) gave us great help and got us home. Although there were hot water problems in our connecting rooms that could not be fixed during our stay, the follow-up and care from the front desk staff showed us they tried their best to rectify things.
Thanks to front desk Christine, Abby and especially to Pauline.
In addition, the ski-in and ski-out locker rooms design really nicely done, hassle-free for all age skiers.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clottie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

What an amazing time we had as a family with 2 other families at Grand Massif. Hotel totally geared for children. Brand new with very good room lay out. Hotel is very big and you might have to walk far though. Ski in ski out very easily. Beautiful slopes with trees and kids play park next to hotel. Town is easily accessed with gondola ride down.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 828lizellev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews