We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely villa, excellent service, ideally placed for exploring Umbria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of True Umbria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collelungo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
True Umbria
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely villa, excellent service, ideally placed for exploring Umbria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The estate has apartments & luxury rooms in the small Castle and a number of excellent villas in the estate grounds. All are serviced by a very efficeient team of Housekeepers / Cleaners / Gardeners for whom nothing is too much trouble.

The locations and views are stunning and the area rural with small villages until you travel to the mediaeval town of Todi. The main roads (autoroutes) are excellent, the local tarmac roads are good, if you go onto the rural roads be aware that they can turn into something of a driving challenge ! If hiring a car then a 4WD is recommended.

Room Tip: All the Villas looked great. Villa Pianesante is lovely, huge, 5 large bedrooms and can be divided i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We spent an amazing week at todi castle with Mario and a fantastic staff. Our every need was met and then some. The property is like something out of a movie. It couldn't have been more perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We had a wonderful week with our family at Campo Rinaldo (Todi Castle). This great, centrally located Umbrian Villa is near Assisi, Orvieto, Spoleto, Perrugia among others.The pool and house were gorgeous and the the 360 degree view from atop the hill was fantastic.

Room Tip: The house was beautiful and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 718Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Great enchanting place.
We loved the rooms, locations, and the service.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGP_p1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We stayed at TodiCastle in the end of March 2011. It was our 10-yr wedding anniversary trip. We've selected the hotel based on the previous tripadvisor reviews. The reviews were all great and I am extremely happy to say that the reality was even greater than that!!!!
Out of the entire 11-day trip, the todiCastle was the greatest place and the highlight of our trip! The castle itself is absolutely amazing! Besides the exterior looks that you can check on-line, it was as magical inside. The rooms are clean, the staff (Sabrina and Katerina) are extremely helpful. A bottle of local Umbrian wine was waiting for us in the room when we arrived! Even before we left home for the trip, Sabrina has sent us very detailed driving directions from Orvieto to the castle, and it was extremely helpful!!!!
The location of the castle is great as well - you can get to any part of Umbria from there as an easy day trip. Make sure that you visit Todi, which is 15-min drive from the castle.
I will definitely come back to this place again and will advertise it to all my friends!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Just to emerge in the hills of umbira, live the Italian life, enjoy fabulous food, great company and stunning historical villages. For me the perfect stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sybilbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

I just returned from our weekend getaway at TodiCastle and I am not sure I could be happier. First, Umbria region of Italy is such a gem- I feel its way better than Tuscany with its green valleys, beautiful lakes and rolling hills. Next, you add being able to stay in a REAL medieval castle to that, its honestly a fairy tale come true. To top that, their service is incredible- they greet you with smiles while they take your bags to your room, give you a brief history of the property and escort you to your quarters leaving you with a sense of royalty importance. The castle sits atop a hill surrounded by acres of land including vineyards, garden, animal fields and overlooks the nearby town of Morre. We met the owner, Mario while we ventured to the archeological ruins on a nearby property he owns and he was lovely asking if everything was okay and if we had his number! What owners of a castle do you know that would willingly give out their numbers?! :) It was just this type of service that I could see being perfect for a wedding or other large event.
Now lets point out, we stayed in the apartment wing, with its warm heated blankets and almost royal cabin feel. Not everyone may like it's style but we loved it. I'm not sure if they have internet- I think they may not. They did have a TV with a few different Italian channels on it and also a regular telephone there. The apartment also had a small kitchen which was awesome. A big booth style dinner table and two bedrooms and full size bathtub and shower. So it may feel a bit more rustic than obviously a modern boutique hotel but hopefully the reason you are staying is because you want to experience what it feels like to be at a castle!
They also gave gave us a local bottle of wine as a gift.

All and all, I hope to be back again someday at the castle. I'd like to come in the late summer Aug-Sept when they have the truffle hunting!
Don't miss out on this spot, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meganwescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to True Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about True Umbria

Property: True Umbria
Address: Fraz. Localita Capecchio SNC | Baschi, 05010 Collelungo, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Collelungo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Collelungo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Umbria offers Villa Rentals and a Country Hotel. We organize all sort of activities such as wine tastings, cooking classes, sport and children activities. Our mission is to fulfill the needs of each guest searching for comfort and rest in an authentic Italian atmosphere and environment. We are a stable and trustworthy company, and we take our client's wishes very seriously. We know how important vacations are, for who works hard all year, but also for the little ones who will keep memories of their family trips for the rest of their life. It is our job, responsibility and pleasure to help you organizing your vacations finding the right accommodation, services and activities. For all this, you can count on us ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing