We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of La Langouste

La Langouste
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

La Langouste may have been our favorite this trip. It all started when we asked if we could pay to use their lounge chairs before having lunch there. There was no charge! What a pleasant surprise after being asked to pay €100 per chair at a restaurant in Gustavia. We enjoyed Flammands beach before lunch overlooking the pool. The service was impeccable with food to match. Our drink of choice was Lacoste rose which went very well with the trio of spring rolls consisting of lobster, mahi mahi and tuna. Awesome! Also very good tuna tataki followed by a shared main course of filets from whole snapper in a Creole sauce. We would rate out experience here a '12'! Will definitely return on a future visit.

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank 18degreesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 212 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

Really can’t beat the food — amazing lobster, perfect some meunière. Fab service from Jay. Going back again this trip. And one of the few nice places serving lunch now on Saint Barthélemy ... wish more would open back up for lunch please?

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2017

We were staying at the the Baie des Anges Hotel and it was incredible to have this gem within a few steps of our hotel room door. We had many options off of the menu, the lobster and scampi pasta was delicious, desserts of course amazing, but you have to have the french onion soup.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2017

With just a few hours off the ship in St Barths, we asked our taxi driver to take us to St Jean beach and to recommend a restaurant there for lunch. He said that beach was hard hit by the recent hurricane, and none of the restaurants were open yet. He recommended the Flamands Beach, and said there was a good restaurant there. We were skeptical at first, especially when we went over to the other side of the island from where our ship was.

He dropped us at the Hotel Baie Des Angel & Suites, a small hotel right on the beach. The Hotel has mostly recovered from the hurricane, although the beach needs cleaning and the damage to adjacent houses is terrible. We chose to sit at the restaurant by the pool. Promptly at noon, the restaurant began filling up with families and others staying at the hotel and nearby villas. Live Caribbean lobsters are in a tank on the premises, and we got to watch as several were taken out to be cooked. If we had had more time (and were hungrier), it would have been fun to have one.

We ordered the calamari, gazpacho and a lobster salad. The calamari came with a sweet Asian sauce (similar to the sauce that comes with egg rolls) and was nice and crunchy. The gazpacho came with each of the ingredients (finely chopped cucumber, tomatoes, croutons and pesto) in small dishes, so you could add your own. Very nice. The lobster salad was very good as well. Many tables were enjoying wine with their lunches, but we had the local beer, Caribe. We waited quite a while for our dishes to come - there was only one waitress, all the tables were occupied, and the kitchen looked very small.

The restaurant is very cute, but small, and would be fantastic for dinner when you could take your time and enjoy. If you are on St Barths, make a point of going to La Langouste!

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank betsyco2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

On Day 1 in St Barths our friends took us to La Langouste for a lobster lunch prepared French style. La Langouste is located inside the Baie des Anges Hotel on Flamands Beach. A beautiful setting and the restaurant is open air next to a small pool.

Service was excellent and we ordered some Sancerre to start. The lobsters were shown to us before cooking them, which added to the anticipation of the tasty meal.
Upon their arrival, we were served small accompanying portions of potato and vegetables. It was so well done. Minimalist and delicious. A perfect first lunch in St Barths.

Afterwards we walked out to Flamands Beach which is right off the steps of the hotel and had a swim and played some paddle tennis. Couldn't ask for a better St Barths day. Highly recommend La Langouste for lunch!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank cbrislin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Langouste also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Grande Saline, St. Barthelemy
Lurin, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to La Langouste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing