We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
9
18
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
18
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grocery store great feature laundry facilities ski gear underground parking our entire stay location was perfect shuttle bus central reservations chairlift ends housekeeping village accommodation access slopes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I recently spent a week snowboarding at Big White and stayed at the Chateau Big White. The location of the hotel was excellent, with several restaurants and the supermarket and liquor store within metres of the hotel. I was a little concerned that the bars close by would be a bit noisy but we never really had any problems. It is also right next to the top of the Plaza Chair and a ski run that ends at the plaza where you can access chairlifts that go all the way up the mountain.
We stayed in a studio apartment which had all of the amenities we needed including a small kitchen, ensuite and space to dry out our ski gear. The gas fire was also much appreciated after a day on the slopes.
Hotel staff were very helpful and assisted us numerous times with various things throughout our stay. If anything, housekeeping were too helpful, as they left us care packages when we asked for our room not to be serviced which meant that we ended up with a lot of extra shampoo bottles etc. We did appreciate how thorough and generous they were though!
Packaging our lift passes, rentals and shuttle bus with our accommodation through Central Reservations meant that everything was ready for us in advance and went very smoothly

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TravellingAnne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigwhiteskiresort, Manager at Chateau Big White, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Dear TravellingAnne15,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Chateau Big White. We are pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Chateau Big White Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2017

-Perfectly situated. Literally ski right out the ski storage room or get off the chairlift and 10 steps to get inside.
-25 feet from the market/grocery store/pizza place. A great restaurant and bar on the premises.
-The staff is super friendly and wil go out of their way to satisfy your needs.
-Laundry facilities at a paltry 50 cents a cycle.
-Cozy, well appointed rooms.

-Place is a little dated.
-Room was too warm with the heat turned off and the windows open our entire stay!
-Horrible pillows.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Chateau Big White, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Dear Anthony B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort. We are pleased to hear that your stay at the well-appointed Chateau Big White property was so enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back for another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

I stayed here with my husband for 9 nights. We were upgraded to a larger room due to a booking error. We did not need the extra bedroom but found it ideal for storing our ski bags during our stay. The kitchen was well equipped and the grocery store was located opposite the building. The location is great and the staff are very friendly. The only negative I can say is that we were on the village side which was a little noisy at night and we could hear the noise coming from Snowshoe Sams every night until about 1:00 am even with the windows closed. I would definitely stay there again but would ask for a room on the other side.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Chateau Big White, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear deane63,

Thank you for providing such a thorough review of your recent visit to Big White Ski Resort. We appreciate your feedback about the Chateau Big White and we hope to welcome you and your husband back for another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2016

This place has a great position, and is very handy for everything - decent restaurants, the shops, the ski centre and the lifts. It's also efficiently run. But it's quite soulless and rather tatty around the edges, and I did not like the bedroom set-up where the beds folded up into the wall. A space saving feature and useful if you are staying in a large group in a room perhaps, but as far as comfort is concerned the beds left a great deal to be desired. The rooms are also rather dark, and not very well lit.

On the positive side, there was a good coffee-making machine in the room, and there was plenty of space to set up my computer etc. The kitchen area was also very well equipped, there was plenty of room to hang stuff and get wet things dry. The ski room was easy accessible too.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Chateau Big White, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Dear mark121,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort, we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back for another visit to the well-appointed Chateau Big White soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Perfect location in the heart of the village but not noisy at all. Very clean, ample sleeping areas, we counted 11 beds including sofa and fold ups. The kitchen was brilliantly equipped with oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge freezer, coffee maker.
It's worth taking the shuttle bus to the mall/supermarket to stock up on food (runs twice a week I think for about 15 dollars each), as the on site shop is fairly limited and quite expensive. Take an empty hold-all or suitcase as everything gets packed in the hold of the coach so can get flung around if not packed safely.

Very warm, sometimes it was a relief to get out of there! The bathrooms were well replenished with nutrogena travel bottles of shampoo conditioner soap and shower gel, daily.
Housekeeping were fine, a little inconsistent but no cause for complaint.

There are laundry facilities in the basement, dirt cheap a few coins and big machines so you only need to do one or two loads. Washing powder can be bought from reception.
The kids loved it, and it was nice having three living areas for a little bit of breathing space.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have patio areas in some cases.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CeCe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Chateau Big White, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Dear CeCe82,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the travel community. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the well-appointed Chateau Big White and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back for another visit in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews