We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Our family has stayed at this resort before, but this trip was particularly terrific. We live in Kelowna but enjoy special weekends staying on the hill and Sundance is always our choice. Firstly, the underground parking is very convenient and weather protected. Unloading is straight forward with the aid of their luggage carts. Our room was great with a beautiful view overlooking the valley below. The kitchen is complete and we lack nothing in the room. We love the ski in and ski out of this location. The kids enjoy the bonuses of the games room, movie theatre, pool, pool slide and hot tub ..... I believe this is the only hotel/resort at Big White that offers these features other than a pool or hot tub. We typically stay on the hill a couple of times a year and Sundance is the only choice for us.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DreamBoatKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malarkey-Traveller, General Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear DreamBoatKelowna,

Thank you for selecting Sundance at Big White for your special family weekends on the hill and for taking the time to share your kind review. Sundance prides itself on offering unsurpassed amenities and exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming your family back to Big White next season and invite you to enjoy one more week of Spring skiing as Big White will be open until April 15th

Thank you again,
Claus Larsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

Well if it wasn't for the lousy sleep we all got, it would have been perfect. The pull out couch was so bad, even my kids wouldn't sleep on it a second night. We ended up one sleeping on the couch (as a couch, - still uncomfortable) and one on the carpet floor. The king bed was ok but a bit to firm. The resort itself is nice, very clean and the staff super friendly. The location isn't as great as they boast, its a good 7 minute walk to the village and some uphill. You have to walk on some of the runs near the bullet chair.

The room otherwise was nice, small but clean and efficient. It was a 1 bed suite.
The hotel itself has great ammenties, pool table (however it was too busy) playstation, free movie rentals for the room, a movie theatre, and a pool and hot tub. POOL was much too cold, and the hot tub was filled with too many kids who thought the pool was too cold.

Overall, it's a nice place but a bit pricy for the room size. Might stay again for the amenities but will bring a memorey foam for the pull out. We asked if they had any but no luck. At $300/n the bed should be comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpskelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malarkey-Traveller, General Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear kpskelowna,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sundance at Big White. It is terrific to hear of all the families enjoying our Club Sundance amenities, some even referring to Sundance as the Resort within the Resort. The pool is regularly kept at 80 degrees for everyone's enjoyment, however we did experience a brief geothermal malfunction that was rectified as soon as it was detected last season. We are hopeful for your family's return this season and are considering having memory foam available for the sofabeds.

Thank you for the feedback.

Sincerely,
Claus Larsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Stayed in room 325, which is a two bed, two bath condo on the third floor. Condo was nice, and had a great view.but quite cramped, and the funiture was uncomfortable. The condo is south facing so receives sun all day which is good and bad. As it was extremely hot inside, and we were forced to leave the door and window open all day. The bed in the master was VERY hard.

My children really enjoyed the pool, but it was very unpleasant for my husband and I because one of the hot tubs wasn't working and that meant 20 ppl in the only remaining tub. As such, we ended up sitting in the cold to watch them swim.

The sundance is ski in/out, but it's quite tricky to ski in, and you do end up taking off your skis and walking the last bit. If ski in/out is important to you, then there are better accomodations.

All saids, I found the Sundance to be an adequate accomodation, but I would probably stay somewhere else if we go to Big white again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Dear Funtravel63,

Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort.

We are pleased to announce that Big White Central Reservations will be taking over the day to day running of Sundance Resort for the 2015/2016 winter ski season. Central Reservations will now take care of all aspects of Sundance including the 24 hour front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and all your in-house needs while you are at Big White. With our professional and experienced staff, our team will ensure you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience while staying at Sundance. Reservations can be made through Big White Central Reservations as normal, taking advantage of our complete, one stop shop for accommodation, lift tickets, lessons, equipment rentals and airport transfers. Our knowledgeable and friendly agents are ready and waiting to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

This "resort" is not at all what it represents itself as, being luxury condos. My child and I stayed in a third floor mountainview condo at the Sundance, which was like a sweltering oven, all night long, during Spring Break. When I complained to the front desk that we couldn't sleep, because the condo was much too hot, even with the heat turned off, I was informed the mountainview units have that problem, because of the geothermal technology used to heat the condo buildings.
Opening the window in the condo, was no solution, as the constant noise from Big White Road, very loud traffic, and drunks wandering up the road, yelling and singing, until 3am every night, dashed any hope of getting any sleep, in the Sundance's extremely uncomfortable, worn out, cheap beds.
The housekeeping at the Sundance was horrendous, complete with urine on the toilet, and filthy linens wreaking of body odour, provided for one of the two beds.
Unless, this is your idea of a "luxury condo" I would recommend staying somewhere else.
Next time we will stay at Stonebridge. I heard repeatedly, that they are clean and have comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank we3lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malarkey-Traveller, General Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2011

Dear we3loveto travel,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review Sundance at Big White Ski Resort on Trip Advisor and regret that contrary to the majority of our guests, it seems that you did not enjoy your stay. Sundance prides itself on its' environmentally friendly geothermal technology usually providing a comfortable climate throughout the Resort, chiropractic pillow top matresses and down filled duvets. Each vacation rental condominium includes a full change of linen for each bed and a complete towel change as well. Daily housekeeping services of garbage removal and towel exchange is provided for our vacation rentals and a full clean may be scehduled at our guests convenience for those staying more than seven nights. We assure you that your Sundance experience was atypical and invite you and your child to contact me personally for your next Sundance ski vacation where we will exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We visited this resort recently and had the most amazing time. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of Sundance and the excellent skiing at Big white.We foud the staff at Sundance to be very helpful and happy to assist with any little requirement. It was most pleasing to hear some scottish voice at the resort especillly the ones from Oban!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTDAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Dear JTDAberdeen,

Thank you for your review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort.

We are pleased to announce that Big White Central Reservations will be taking over the day to day running of Sundance Resort for the 2015/2016 winter ski season. Central Reservations will now take care of all aspects of Sundance including the 24 hour front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and all your in-house needs while you are at Big White. With our professional and experienced staff, our team will ensure you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience while staying at Sundance. Reservations can be made through Big White Central Reservations as normal, taking advantage of our complete, one stop shop for accommodation, lift tickets, lessons, equipment rentals and airport transfers. Our knowledgeable and friendly agents are ready and waiting to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

This was the ideal place to stay in Big White. We (+ 2 year old) stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, my sister's family (+4 & 8 year olds) and inlaws were in an explorer cabin. We were in a corner room so slightly roomier than the other 2 bedrooms which are a 1 bedroom + a linked studio room. Our room was exactly as it is on the website, cozy, clean, warm and well appointed. The Cabin was huge, and because it is "owned" and rented out had a lot more personal touches. The only downside we found was the thin ceiling and so we had a bit of noise from the room above us. Ask for a top floor room. Also once a week the ski runs are groomed and if you are on that end of the building it can be noisy - but who can complain about that!

The Hotel is truly ski in, ski out, you step from the locker room onto a run that ends up at the main lift. It's a couple of hundred metres to the village centre, an easy walk, but there's also a shuttle bus that runs every half hour, although you're so close it takes longer than walking.

We loved Big White, and out of 9 days skiing had 3 clear days, 3 overcast days and 3 really foggy days. Big White is nicknamed Big Whiteout because it has many foggy days, but the huge number of runs, efficient lifts and lack of crowds made it perfect for us.

The daycare centre was fantastic, with great, caring staff and in the centre of the village, and for kids big enough to ski there is either ski school or you can put them in daycare with a lesson included.

The supermarket in town is pretty expensive, but our bus from Kelowna airport stopped at a supermarket in town before we came up. The food in the restaurants is pretty reasonably priced, and mostly the servings are huge so we only ate 2 meals a day and had a light lunch or snack. I can recommend Gigis for a great $10 lunch that is a good size and delicious.

We loved our time in big white and wish we were there now!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnutSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Dear travelnutSydney,

Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort.

We are pleased to announce that Big White Central Reservations will be taking over the day to day running of Sundance Resort for the 2015/2016 winter ski season. Central Reservations will now take care of all aspects of Sundance including the 24 hour front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and all your in-house needs while you are at Big White. With our professional and experienced staff, our team will ensure you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience while staying at Sundance. Reservations can be made through Big White Central Reservations as normal, taking advantage of our complete, one stop shop for accommodation, lift tickets, lessons, equipment rentals and airport transfers. Our knowledgeable and friendly agents are ready and waiting to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

WE stayed at Sundance Resort at Big White in Feb with a group of 15 persons (5 Rooms). We loved the ski – in/ out access. The kids could not get enough of the pool/waterslide and all the great amenities. The Suites were very nice and spacious with great views. All the staff and management were extremely friendly and helpful.

I would highly recommend this resort for groups, especially if you have kids. Lots to do when you’re not on the hill. We will defiantly be returning next season and will recommend Sundance to all that are considering visiting Big White.

Thanks so much Sundance for making our stay with you so enjoyable!! WE will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WORLDTREKER78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Dear WorldTreker78,

Thank you for your great review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort.

We are pleased to announce that Big White Central Reservations will be taking over the day to day running of Sundance Resort for the 2015/2016 winter ski season. Central Reservations will now take care of all aspects of Sundance including the 24 hour front desk, housekeeping, maintenance and all your in-house needs while you are at Big White. With our professional and experienced staff, our team will ensure you will have an enjoyable and memorable experience while staying at Sundance. Reservations can be made through Big White Central Reservations as normal, taking advantage of our complete, one stop shop for accommodation, lift tickets, lessons, equipment rentals and airport transfers. Our knowledgeable and friendly agents are ready and waiting to assist you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big White
White Crystal Inn
#2 of 3 in Big White
63 reviews
Inn at Big White
#3 of 3 in Big White
79 reviews
Chateau Big White
#1 of 2 in Big White
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stonebridge Lodge
#1 of 15 in Big White
49 reviews
Belgo - Black Mountain
Scenic Canyon Ranch Bed and Breakfast & Retreats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort

Address: 255 Feathertop Way | Big White Ski Resort, Big White, British Columbia V1P 1P3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Big White
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Price Range: $268 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it is a family Christmas ski holiday or a weekend get together with your best snowboard buddies, the Sundance Team know how precious your vacation time is. We take great pride in providing our guests with a level of professional friendly service you will not find anywhere else. We believe in the little things like finding a babysitter at the last minute or helping line up the best bottle of famous Okanagan wine for impromptu romantic evenings. And hey, if you ask the right person, a guided excursion into some of our secret champagne powder stashes might be in your future. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Resort At Big White Ski Hotel Big White

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing