We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly nice day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Arrived in the morning for a friends wedding and was impressed from the outset by the building and the setting. Sat through a marvellous wedding celebration which from the ceremony to the early hours of the morning was handled by courteous and professional staff of various ages, highlights of which were the synchronised waitresses serving the wedding lunch and Brian the master of ceremonies to mention but a couple. Spent some time in The Stables bar/restaurant to sample some of their home brewed ales (nice by the way) and retired to a perfectly lovely room, not large but nicely done,immaculately presented and in keeping with the building. Yes, if your a whinger the tv is a little small ( but then i didnt book into a hotel to watch tv) and if you like a ton of fluffy pillows there arent, but what was there i found sufficient and you could whinge if your stupid, that you got into trouble for smoking in a hotel that has ample signage informing you that it is a non smoking hotel. Bear in mind that this hotel does hold a lot of functions (for obvious reasons) which can mean activity until thevearly hours, and that the building was never meant to be a hotel so the addition of bathrooms to the bedrooms means that they are a bit more invasive than that in a modern building. Take what you will from this review but my family and I do not begrudge a single penny we spent this weekend and will visit again. Thanks to all that made for a perfect stay.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Alby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have just celebrated our daughters wedding at Beamish Hall Hotel,Stanley. We all wish we could re-live the whole experience all over again. Superb venue, service, and overall a totally wonderfull experience. Especially the wedding co-ordinator,and the master of ceremonies and all his wonderfull staff, who were on call all weekendfor anything we needed from arriving on the Saturday to leaving on the Monday.We would recommend this amazing place for anyone looking for a perfect day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a wonderful old house next to Beamish. It is always a joy to see these houses being put to good use and not left to go to ruin! Unfortunately, the house is in great need of decoration. We stayed for a couple of nights and were very disappointed with our 'premier room'. My wife complained to the front desk staff and the woman arranged to have us moved to another room, they didn't have another 'premier' room but showed us a deluxe room which we happily accepted. Every member of staff from the minute we arrived to the minute we left was FANTASTIC. It would be nice if the hotel had a residents bar as the stables doesn't have enough seating if you don't want to eat - that is a suggestion that would have further improved our stay. Our meal at the Stables was very good as was our breakfast, we were very impressed to see a "full-english" vegetarian being offered, my wife really enjoyed this. The bed was comfy but a it would have been better if bigger

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fcmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Myself and a colleague stayed for two nights at this hotel. I cannot speak highly enough of the value and high standards of the accomodation. The rooms were individual and extremely clean. Breakfast was great and no one rushed us ( even when we were the last to leave ) The Stables restaurant offered a varied menu which was low in cost but high in quality. The staff were very friendly and professional. It is a hotel with real character and a relaxing ambiance. I would definately recommend a stay for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 4 has some wow features!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The rooms reflect the age and history of this former stately home; with a very modern bathroom. It is like stepping back in time. If you want a piece of history (built 1268) in beautiful grounds look no further. All the staff were professional and friendly. Being a real ale fan I loved the Stables bar and restaurant that sells approx 10 beers brewed on site at the hotel's microbrewery. A must for any real ale fan. We ate in the Stables restaurant - and were very impressed with the high quality of food and value for money. Breakfast in the Eden room was an experience, again great food in a beautiful period ballroom. I thoroughly recommend this hotel (and we didn't see any of its many ghosts!). My wife and I will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunderland73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Myself and a colleague stayed here for 4 days while we were working in the area. I had an excellent week but my colleague was not so impressed. This was not the hotels fault in any way, it was just the fact that he was terrified at the idea of possibly seeing a ghost lol. The staff were very friendly and helpful as were the bar staff in the stables bar which is part of the hotel. The hotel is a bit out of the way but excellent location for the birds of prey center, going wild adventure park and Beamish living history museum. If you like real ale I would recommend silver buckles bitter served in the stables bar.
Would I stay again, yes I would. But I am not sure my colleague would.
Perhaps I told him to many ghost stories :)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaosbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is the third time I've stayed at beamish, but the first time I've reviewed. Previously we have attended wedding receptions and enjoyed the experience. This time we came on a valentines package and enjoyed a five course meal which was delicious. The service was great and the room clean comfortable and well presented.
Excellent value for money, lovely setting - fab breakfast !! Thanks again beamish , we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twirly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
1.5 km away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
444 reviews
8.5 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
13.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.1 km away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
14 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Beamish, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range: $91 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing