We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is perfectly nice, just missing the WOW factor for me...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My partner took me here for my birthday, we stayed for two nights and had a very lovely time.

In terms of reviewing the hotel however I have to be honest and say it wasn't amazing, We had room service the first night and then ate at The Stables on the second. The food was (I think??!) from the same kitchen and it was average. Not awful but not great. I had a prawn salad which was literally lettuce and prawns and the second night I had fish pie which was very bland.

The atmosphere in The Stables was ace however and after our meals I had many a delicious cocktail :)

Room wise, the beds are TINY. I rang up to ask if we could move rooms and was told because all of the beds are antique, they are all pretty small. The room was clean and the bathroom was nice. I just felt it lacked the WOW factor. On our first full morning we went down for breakfast and then dawdled about waiting for the room to be spruced up (it is one of my favourite things about staying in a hotel, you get to return to a made bed, fresh cups and a clean bathroom!). We gave them until midday yet the room still hadnt been done. 1pm came and went, still nothing. Eventually I asked at reception and all was sorted but for me, the 'magical' room tidy is a touch that matters...

Breakfast was very nice, lots of choice, deliciously cooked. No complaints there.

I would rate this hotel as "Good" but unfortunately Trip Advisor scale jumps from "Average" to "Very Good" and this place sits right in-between the two.

It was nice, you will have a pleasant stay its just not as amazing as it could be if they looked into adding a few extra little touches here and there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Ideal for visiting Beamish Museum or a quiet, relaxing get-away from city life, alone, together or with the family. Service was attentive and keen to please and yet it was unobtrusive. Breakfast highly recommended particularly for the friendly and welcoming service. Hotel has been tastefully modernised and upgraded whilst retaining a period feel. Stables Restaurant very good but a bar, restaurant or leisure facilities in the hotel itself would raise this hotel to a standard of excellence. However couldn't fault the hotel and would certainly recommend it highly.

Room Tip: If you really want to spoil yourself, go for the extra of an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsguy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

What a beautiful place to have afternoon tea. Went today with friends for our birthday. The setting is idillic and inside it is sumptious. The "tea" is no ordinary tea its amazing, a wonderful selection of freshly made sandwiches and a triple decker plate of fresh cream scones and cakes, more than you can eat hence the little bags they provide you with to take any uneaten home for later.. Its like going back to a time when service was with a smile. Exceptional value too for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oschar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I recently visited here with my partner on a friday evening with a work function. We paid for the delux room which had a huge jacuzzi bath and the bedrom itself was enormous. Breakfast was nice a service quick. Had no noise problems ourselves although i could understand that there might be if it was busy as the rooms have adjoining doors in some instances, and are very close together. Tea and bisuits in the room along with bottled water, toilteries, bath robes and towels - perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Met a couple of friends here for dinner. Very impressed by the surroundings. Nice choice of food and impeccable service. Outside bar looked interesting for the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeJay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Had a lovely few days here, the hotel is set in very pretty countryside and is peaceful and quiet. We stayed in a deluxe double that was tastefully finished in classical country house style. The room had everything you would expect, was clean and big enough to fit in a large travel cot.

The staff was welcoming, approachable and were able to help us with any requests. When things were not right - the freeview box was broken (not in its own right a big issue but vital to our grumpy and tired toddler who wanted a little cbeebies before bedtime!) they dealt with it quickly and in a friendly manner.

Good breakfast with lots of choice and showcasing the best of local produce.

For us the highlight was the Stables restaurant, the beers from the microbrewery were excellent and the food was wholesome & tasty. The menu offered a good range of choices - think good quality pub grub rather than fine dining - I would recommend the beef and Beamish Ale pie which was excellent! They also offer a good children’s menu which has lots of options and offers freshly made foods rather than the predictable deep-fried ‘freezer food’ you normally see on the kids menu!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K8snr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Arrived in the morning for a friends wedding and was impressed from the outset by the building and the setting. Sat through a marvellous wedding celebration which from the ceremony to the early hours of the morning was handled by courteous and professional staff of various ages, highlights of which were the synchronised waitresses serving the wedding lunch and Brian the master of ceremonies to mention but a couple. Spent some time in The Stables bar/restaurant to sample some of their home brewed ales (nice by the way) and retired to a perfectly lovely room, not large but nicely done,immaculately presented and in keeping with the building. Yes, if your a whinger the tv is a little small ( but then i didnt book into a hotel to watch tv) and if you like a ton of fluffy pillows there arent, but what was there i found sufficient and you could whinge if your stupid, that you got into trouble for smoking in a hotel that has ample signage informing you that it is a non smoking hotel. Bear in mind that this hotel does hold a lot of functions (for obvious reasons) which can mean activity until thevearly hours, and that the building was never meant to be a hotel so the addition of bathrooms to the bedrooms means that they are a bit more invasive than that in a modern building. Take what you will from this review but my family and I do not begrudge a single penny we spent this weekend and will visit again. Thanks to all that made for a perfect stay.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Alby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
1.5 km away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
426 reviews
8.5 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
14.5 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
31.8 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,294 reviews
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#46 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Beamish, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range: $141 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing