We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mole Hill Farm

A traditional snug welcoming cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A traditional snug welcoming cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
A traditional snug welcoming cottage
Fabulous place to entertain or simply chill by the fire
King size bedroom which opens out to a private terrace
Relax in our exceptionally comfortable Super King size bed.
Enjoy the shower and roll top bath
Well equipped kitchen to wine and dine on a cosy evening in the cottage
Enjoy a bottle of wine by the fire
Enjoy stunning views of the Beamish Valley.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Beamish, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nick H
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house!”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Stayed 29th December to 1st January. What a great house, lovely cottage! The house has two very spacious bedrooms, large kitchen with a great table in front of a log burner. Didn’t put it because of the little one but imagine it would be great after a day out in the cold exploring. Kitchen was very well equipped with everything you could need. Two fridges and separate freezer. The living area is upstairs with comfortable suites and reading area in front of a great view. We requested a stair gate which arrived the second night and unfortunately didn’t fit either end of the stairs. We used a clothes horse as a temporary measure and kept a close eye. A few features in the house make it a tad unsuitable for small children (1 year old) with wooden floors throughout its slightly slippery, a low level glass table and a mirror propped up against the wall. All of the above are completely manageable. There are more than enough things that make up for this. Horse stables outside the house were excellent for our inquisitive daughter and loved saying hello every time we left or returned to the house. Perfect location and close to two great pubs, beamish museum and national trust place Gibside. Some nice touches by the owners, mince pies, prosecco, cakes, teas and coffee milk and other essentials were all very welcome. Each bedroom has en suite with great big baths and separate showers. Had a small problem with the thermo stat and heating, contacted the owner and they arrived within 10minutes who resolved it straight away. Would love to stay again and will definitely recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you for your kind review. so pleased you enjoyed it! We have noted the stair gate problem and have swapped for the other one that fits. Sorry for the oversight.Would be nice to see you back at Mole Hill one day.
Best Wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan311
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great cottage in a beautiful location. We spent four nights here and could not have asked for more. Lovely big bedrooms and a family kitchen. The location was great as it was so quiet, but a short drive from so many activities. Cottage was immaculate, well equipped and spacious. Thank you for a lovely stay !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for choosing Mole Hill Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation.Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark G
1 review
“A Jewel in the North Easts Crown”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fabulous little cottage. Great location not only for Beamish but for most attractions the area has to offer. The cottage is very well appointed with everything you need for your stay. We were treated to a warm welcome with a number of 'value added' touches - the cake was very well received .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you we appreciate your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn M
South Queensferry
1 review
“Family trip to Beamish museum”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a lovely 3 night stay at Mole Hill farm. Cottage is in great location for a visit to Beamish museum which was one of main reasons for our stay. The cottage was very comfortable & well equipped & my 10 year old enjoyed popping round to the stables to see the horses & dogs, kept him entertained when we were not out and about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you Lyn i'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at Mole Hill cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful Accommodation”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a great stay at Mole Hill Farm. The cottage was gorgeous, a real feeling of luxury. Comfortable beds, lovely shower and bath tubs and a great kitchen/diner for socialising... plus a beautiful view!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you Nicola for your kind review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and enjoyed your weekend stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oz_Leeds
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What an absolutely lovely place to stay!!
We were very impressed, with everything. From the booking, to the welcome, to the friendliness of the owners during our stay. There was a freshly baked cake and bottle of wine on the kitchen table as we arrived too....☺️.

The cottage is superbly decorated and very comfortable. Perfect for a small family (we were 2 adults and 2 children) and formed a great base to explore the delights of the Beamish museum and a little further afield up towards Warkworth Castle.

Many thanks to Amanda and her husband for hosting us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Your welcome and thank you for your kind review, i'm so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding area and hope you enjoyed the slides at the pool.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing