We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$241
US$189
View deal
SAVE US$52
Free cancellation until 21-04-22
eDreams
Travelocity
Hotels.comUS$189
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.comUS$241
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
29
29
15
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
29
15
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 79 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We had our double room in the Annex Building 'Gästehaus'. The room is small, but ok for 1 or 2 nights stayover, nice sitting area outside. Room is in good shape, quite new and functional, clean in a silent area (did not hear the church clock).

Food was very good on half board service. We had the opportunity to substitute the main course with no extra charge we did not like either choice on the daily menu. Staff and management is friendly.

However, the WiFi is substandard. They are using the Oberstaufen Public service which is rather slow and unreliable.

The Gästekarte Plus is excellent to enjoy some amenities. We used the Golf course in Oberstaufen which is not super, but ok and offers a great panorama aound the area. The Steibis course is in much better shape, challenging and an real golf course with very nice and friendly staff.

I would definitely recommend Oberstaufen, Hotel Adler and the Steibis Golf course..

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 489andreask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2014

Unfortuneatly the hotel was under going renovation so some of the facilities were not availble i.e the resteraunt.
The room was clean and comfortable, the view from the window was an ally way.
The room was poorly heated and was cold to luke warm for my stay.
None of this was in the brochure so I was very dissapointed and would not stay again.

Room tip: Insist on a room at the front of the hotel otherwise you'll be facing a bick wall and an ally way when you look out of the window.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob2222187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddy139, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Adler, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter GAst,

schade daß Sie nicht ganz zufrieden waren. Natürlich muß auch in unserem Hotel einmal im Jahr renoviert werden. Jetzt strahlt alles wieder in neuem Glanz. Alles ist voll funktionsfähig und unser Hotel ist absolut auf 4-Sterne-Niveau. Gerne überzeugen wir Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt in unserem Hause von unserer Service-Qualität.

Ich wünsche Ihnen noch einen schönen Abend.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Armin Hollweck
Hotel Adler, Oberstaufen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Holidaying in Germany I've got very used to what the phrase "alles in ordnung" means - even at a 3 star hotel everything will be just right. Not showy, but just right.

The Adler was the opposite of this. The room was ok, but the furniture and wood were tired and scratched, the lampshades were covered in a thick layer of dust and the curtains weren't lined so we awoke at 5am with the sun. Given the bathroom had clearly recently been renovated, I was surprised they hadn't done something to the rest of the room.

The worst was the food. We ate one meal and compared to the other 4 star meals we had it was barely edible. Everything was over-salted and my Allgauer roast beef was tough and overcooked. Everything has clearly been reheated in the microwave. Breakfast was served on chipped crockery, and if you were lucky a waiter might clear the table of the remnants of the previous occupants. On the second day at breakfast we largely avoided the buffet as the cheese and meat - that could've just been bought from the local Norma - looked like they had been left out overnight. The butter patties floated around in a bowl of warm water rather than laying on ice cubes.

And they charge extra for EVERYTHING - WiFi, even use of the whirlpool. And having to book the sauna 15 minutes in advance?

A very poor experience.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMatthewsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2011

An historic hotel in the centre of the village only 5 minutes walk from the railway station.
A friendly welcome by english speaking staff.
I had a nice single room the only dissapointment was that the bathroom was rather small and cramped. The bed was comfortable, the minibar well stocked was welcomed after a long day of travel.
Breakfast was from 08.30 a little too late for me but there was no problem when I turned up earlier and I was not alone either.
I only had stayed one night as i was passing through I would have no hesitation in returning to the Adler and Oberstaufen.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mostlybytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Great Location, lovely people and excellent meals. The best: You have many benefits for free like using golf courses, free entrances to aqua park or using lift to the mountains. So, overall, a very good choice.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filmerzeuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews