We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theater Trip”
Review of Shakespeare Inn

Shakespeare Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shakespeare Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Shakespeare B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Recent stay at Shakespeare Inn was very pleasant. I am a group leader for Seniors from the Finger Lakes area in NY. The rooms are very clean and our hosts, Dr. Byer and Margaurite are very welcoming and personable. The breakfast is a continental, but the coffee is good and fresh baked muffins and coffee cake are delicious. The Inn is located 10 minutes from Stratford and provides a more economical alternative to the accommodations right in town. This is the second year we have stayed here and we will most likely stay again. One thing to keep in mind is there is no elevator and the inn has two stories.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 913Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

For the 4th. time, our expectancy of the warmth and hospitality of residing at the Shakespeare Inn was fully met starting with the greeting from our affable hosts, Margaretha and Mike Byers. There is not one thing detracting from experiencing the finest hotel stay available. Minutes from the world's finest theater company, the story- book city of Shakespeare Ontario and the Inn greets you with a picture perfect setting. From the spotless floors and carpeting to the personal needs of guests, it would be rare to find a flaw in our stay. My wife and I have always enjoyed our private visits.
Of course, the aroma of Margaretha's home made muffins and morning continental breakfast can be blamed for that as well. The Shakespeare Inn is contagious, so be careful!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlphaOmega1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

A well maintained property. Small, clean, basic room. Soft mattress. Complimentary self-serve breakfast included in price of room. Use this location to explore the area and to attend the Stratford Shakespeare Festival.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Will NEVER stay here again, and regretably, tainted our entire Stratford experience. Owners were rude and unprofessional. Over priced for what you get, but the owners act like it is a palace and we should be " grateful" for " allowing" us to stay there. Felt like I was staying in a semi-clean motel stuck in the 70's. Avoid this place, and continue closer to Stratford. No value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RippedOffInSWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I have stayed here every year for the last five years or so. I make a good share of my living on the road and have had my share of regrettable stays.
Staying at this hotel is a treat. The outside draws you in. The gazebo in the back is a great touch. The rooms are clean. The hotel is quiet. The guests are upscale people on a vacation. The price is right. The breakfast makes you feel that you never left home . How often do you get to have breakfast cooked for you by your friends when you are on the road. The owners could not be more accomodating. The breakfast is more than juice, coffee, and cereal. There is always a special home cooked portion of it.

The people writing bad reviews are life support systems for rectums. If you stay here, you will like it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBWESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We paid over $200 for a "suite". It technically was 2 rooms, but I would hardly call it a suite. The rooms were only separated by a wall, no door. Due to the laminate flooring it made the rooms very echoy. It was hard to put our baby to sleep and the rest of us stay quite for the entire evening. The beds were very uncomfortable. The bathroom was rediculously small, one person barely fit in it, let alone a parent and child. Getting kids ready for bed was treat. The breakfast was just "ok", nothing special. The couple running the inn need lessons in hospitality, they weren't really rude just not very friendly. This is the first place I stayed, where they made me pay in full before we even checked in, normally you pay after you stay, upon checking out. I guess they want to make sure they get there money before you figure out your being ripped off.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLJ033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Stayed in a suite in August while travelling to Stratford. The room was extremely basic - very tiny TV screen, flat little bars of soap, no artwork in the bedroom. The breakfast was a sorry affair - toast and cereal. (Signs suggested there had been muffins, but these were all gone). An indication of how sad this place is: in many locations, there are signs posted: "No work boots allowed in the rooms. You will be fined $10 if you wear boots in your room." And in the breakfast room, signs telling people that if they take their trays to their rooms, they absolutely must return them: "No Exceptions"! That is indicative of the level of customer service in this inn. And here's the clincher: We paid over $200 a night for our room! At half the price, it might have been reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellover2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shakespeare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Inn

Address: 8-2166 Shakespeare St, Shakespeare, Ontario N0B 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Shakespeare
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shakespeare
Price Range: $136 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shakespeare Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shakespeare Festival Country. We feature country-quiet 4-Star accommodation in the Hamlet of Shakespeare, gracious European hosting, wonderful continental breakfast in our delightful Breakfast Cafe. Stay in our 50 sparkling bright rooms and suites, shop and play in the antique capital of Shakespeare, and enjoy all that Southwest Ontario has to offer. Enjoy the Stratford Shakespeare Festival 5 minutes away, St Jacobs Farmers Markets, KW Oktoberfest, local Dinner Theatres and relax in the local Amish country ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Shakespeare Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Inn Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing