We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, shame about the weather! ”
Review of Family Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Family Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

I was so looking forward to our visit here as part of a cycling holiday through a company called saddle skedaddle with our 6&8 yr old children. Unfortunately we arrived on Sunday evening, loved the treehouse and the set up - although very few people around. Then it rained continuously & heavily for the next two days (part of the terrible floods France had in May 2016). The treehouse remained dry and snug (though we did have a power cut one night) - they offered to move us to another lodging, but the path to that was completely flooded. I would recommend a visit here but note that there is very little to do if it's not nice weather (in the area, there is at least a games room at the lodge). Showers were fab, treehouse lovely, just terrible weather. Ah well :-(

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at Family Ecolodge in "The Squirrel" treehouse in late May for a week with our 10 and 8 year old. We received a very warm welcome. The treehouse was super comfortable and well equipped for self catering. Loved the shower too which was hot with great pressure. Our children counted down to 8.30am when our breakfast basket would magically appear under the treehouse and then 9.30am when they could race off to feed all the farm animals with the other children. While they played table tennis or trampolined in the courtyard, my husband and I would prepare our picnic lunch made with all the gorgeous local goodies you can pick up in Bonny-Sur-Loire 8km away and then head off to start our circular cycling trip. Eric and his office team helped provide maps and tips every day. We would cycle approx. 30km along well made paths or very quiet roads (very flat! think we only encountered one hill in the entire week!) It was idyllic - we came across a fawn, picked bright red and yellow cherries, supplemented one of our lunches with delicious wild strawberries we found near a reservoir, patted the ENORMOUS farm dogs who would come out to greet us, kept our distance from the angry geese with their goslings and enjoyed the ruckus the frogs would make as we passed by ponds. Oh, and it was foalling time too. We were always pleased to have a packed lunch as everything was closed by the time we were ready to take a break. We did have a car with a bike rack so we could transport our bikes to different towns to commence our rides which meant we had a really nice variety of trips. When the sun came out it was quite hot on the paths which made us think summer time would be really hot in this part of France - but then you have the Loire running alongside you so it would be easy and wonderful to simply take a dip when it all gets too much. Most families would gather in the courtyard in the late afternoon with a local bottle of wine, sausage, cheese and bread which would be shared as the children played happily together. Super relaxing, rural retreat (ps. we did not choose this place for it's eco credentials - we simply loved the idea of a staying in a treehouse in the beautiful countryside). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FamilyBB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric7412, Propriétaire at Family Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thanks a lot for your review, we were delighted to welcome you with your childrens and help you to discover our beautiful region. See you soon. Blandine, Fanny, Sophie, Flora and Eric (and all our animals !).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank raf69960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NJE74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arnaud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Family Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Ecolodge

Address: 10 Chemin de la Borde, 45420 Batilly-en-Puisaye, Briare, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Briare > Batilly-en-Puisaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Batilly-en-Puisaye
Price Range: $149 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borde, Family Ecolodge offers comfortable accommodation and ecological tourism authentic closer to nature. The welcome is friendly and well-being that combines family, couple or friends. You can enjoy the relaxation area with sauna bio that we built a farmhouse in the 18th century. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing