We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$117
eDreams
PricelineUS$117
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Hurb
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
17
20
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
20
11
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 53 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2019

Fantastic place. Suburb service and amazing food (very large portions!). Lovely quiet town on the banks of the Rhine (150 yards away). Staff/ owners provide top notch service and only pleased to help. Very highly recommended for a short break.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ratty225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

After a full day of traveling and sightseeing, it was so nice to drive up to this hotel and be greeted by the friendly owner and her son. They helped us with our luggage and showed us to our rooms .(loved the elevator) The rooms are pleasantly decorated and painted soft, soothing colors. The yellow towels were such a cheery sight after many stays in hotel rooms with white towels. One of our rooms had a little balcony overlooking a small stream. The very best part of our stay was our meal in their beautiful outdoor garden area. They had reserved a table for us and we were delighted to join the local patrons who obviously considered it a favorite eating place. We all agreed that the meal here was our favorite one of the trip. We had wiener schnitzel with roasted potatoes and a delicious side salad. The price was very reasonable and the service was excellent!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cgartley2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Goldener Pfropfenzieher—we were only here one night and wished we would have stayed a few days more. The location is great, very close to the riverboat pick-up points and the train station. The rooms were lovely, the food at the restaurant is amazing, and the breakfast they serve in the morning is the best hotel breakfast we had while in Germany. But the best part of this place is the owners and their son. They went out of their way to make our stay great. Our rooms were ready for an early check-in and when we ended up somewhere else with a horrible dinner experience, they opened their kitchen back up and let us eat, drink and hangout in their beer garden to enjoy our last night in Germany. The beer garden in back is gorgeous, and has a cute little babbling brook running right next to it. Stay here!

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

This small family run hotel is located in the old town of Oberwesen, and the ringwall is just outside the maindoor. Some rooms has a view of the Rhine river, but then also the railway, so it can be a little noisy in the night, if you have the windows open. So if you want a quiet night, maybe you should ask for a room facing the garden. Nice breakfast, and super friendly personal family, that are ready to help you in any way they can.

At the moment there is no wifi on the rooms on the 4th. floor. So if you need this, ask for a room with wifi, so you are sure to get it. They say it will work soon though.

The hotel has a biergarten. It can be fully ocupied, so reserving a table for dinner can be needed. They serve really well cooked homemade food. Large portions, and very reasonable prices. They have nice local wines, and we think it is a "must" to eat here.
We would definetly stay here sgain

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TorbenK546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2017

Upon arrival we met the owner of the Hotel/Restaurant. We asked for a not-to-dry, tasteful wine from the region and our taste buds were just delighted with what was brought.
Our dinner was excellent. I had the turkey steaks with vegetable patties underneath, and a salad. It was delicious and paired very nicely with the Weiss Burgunder wine (from Albert Lambrich).
The terrasse where we sat outside was quite beautifully decorated and provided a very relaxing atmosphere for wining and dining. It was hard to leave!
Just note : The kitchen stops serving warm food at 20:00... so be there in time if you want to enjoy the 'heavier delicacies'.

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank Lucienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews