We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Good atmosphere

Very nice place - easy to get a place to sit. Friendly staff. Easy to get to the souvenir shop... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
LarsCFr
,
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
via mobile
Excellent beer!

We had an early dinner and a couple beers after walking about 25 minutes from our hotel (some of... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
kmstl
,
Saint Louis, Missouri
via mobile
Read all 195 reviews
  
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
108
64
15
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
64
15
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest brewery in the world brewery tour great beer beer garden couple beers self serve gift shop traditional bavarian beer tasting pretzels bier garten munich airport pot roast train station well worth the trip pork college campus
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 195 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Stayed overnight in Freising so absolutely had to make a stop at this Biergarten.
The restaurant is attached to the University at the top of the hill and is roughly a 20 minute walk from the Main Square downtown.

The staff was friendly and most spoke excellent English. I had the pork roast special with potato dumpling as well as a couple of .5 L.

Don't miss the Vitus which was my favorite beer there.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank Wildcat1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Can't complete a trip around Germany without going to the oldest brewery in the world. We took a train from Munich central for about 23 Euros (group day pass) which was about only 40 min to Freising. From there it was a 30 minutes walk to get to the brewery. The tours were all booked for the day but we decided to go anyway. No regrets!! This is a must see if only to taste this great German wheat beer.... or maybe two or three ;-) Would recommend!!!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Businessdude101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile

You have to book the tour in advance, but it is worth the 11 euro! The place is a short train ride outside Munich and also had a nice restaurant and beer garden. The tour comes with a beer tasting and a small beer glass souvenir! The tour guides were friendly. We took the hour tour in English and really enjoyed it!

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank Madeleine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

I'd say worth a trip even if in Munich. Freising is nice quiet town just north of Munich and visiting the worlds oldest brewery was a must for me. Great beer with nice selection of wheat beers, bock and pils. Beer garden: order at the counter (20 euro minimum for credit card), some typical beer garden food options (cheese spread, pretzels, others). I would highly recommend eating in the restaurant after enjoying a beer outside. The services was great (especially since my German is terrible). Being in a university town, most staff speak very good English. See separate review for dinner. Braustuberl Weihenstephan

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank slosh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

TripAdvisor recommended this brewery, so I decided to take a day trip from Munich on a Friday to visit it. What TripAdvisor didn't state (as far as I can find), is that brewery tours are not run every day! As a result I wasted a morning (and money) on the train from Munich to Freising and back. BE SURE TO CHECK BEFORE YOU HEAD THERE.

Date of experience: June 2017
4  Thank JeffreyG1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews